How to tie a simple Truckie Knot

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:09
ThreadID: 65075 Views:22305 Replies:20 FollowUps:18
Does anyone have a link or a sketch of how to tie a simple truckie knot.
Thanks in advance
Wato35

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:12

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:12
This Link shows a few other useful knots

How to tie Knots

AnswerID: 344048

Follow Up By: donks1 - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:37

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:37
Geez Kev

Did a 2 yr old draw them... lol

Good info though

Donks1
FollowupID: 611959

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:41

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:41
Donks,

It was the 1st one I found via google LOL

FollowupID: 611961

Reply By: Lotzi - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:17

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:17
G'day Wato35
Best way is to google, how to tie a truckers knot, plenty of videos there.
Remember, a truckies knot can also be doubled creating a winch type effect.
Have fun with this one
Lotzi
AnswerID: 344049

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:21

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:21
It is not a good knot to use if there is any chance of the load 'settling'.
AnswerID: 344050

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:57

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:57
Shaker
That's why a Truckie will always stop after a few Ks and re-tighten the rope, Tarp ropes, chains, or Straps,
As for your comment NO knot will keep tightening itself, you got to get out and do it,

Ex Truckie
Doug

FollowupID: 611972

Follow Up By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:07

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:07
i dont know anyone that dose not stop after a few kays to stop and tighten a load, i always do it same as when i change a tyre ill drive for afew kays and then check all the wheel nuts, you would be suprised how many time you get lose ones
FollowupID: 612194

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:32

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:32
Truckies Hitch Link

Just scroll down until you come to it.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 344052

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:51

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:51
Yep,
Just the same as Jack's link.
With regards to the load 'settling load', stop and tighten it down again, simple as !!
Been doing the same for 40 odd years, single or double, never lost a load yet.
Only advice is, if using a slippery/synthetic rope slip another loop up top.

Dennis

FollowupID: 611933

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:20

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:20
It's too late to stop & retighten if your load is lying on the side of the road!
FollowupID: 611940

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:23

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:23
I always use a second loop to lock the first
FollowupID: 611943

Follow Up By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:05

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:05
same always do a 2nd loop and put 2 twists and make sure you have enough rope out of the lope or when you go to tighten it you will punch your self in the head, just like me out the front of bunnings
FollowupID: 612193

Reply By: Warstar - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:35

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:35
It is not a knot but a hitch. It is just the bottom half of a sheepshank, at least thats the way i have been doing it for forty years. As has been said it is only good to tie down springy material, a load of prunings to the tip for eg. If the pressure goes off the line it "undoes".
AnswerID: 344053

Reply By: Warstar - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:47

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:47
The true truckies knot is shown here. (last knot shown. Best to do as suggested in step 5, i have found from experience!

http://www.pnc.com.au/~wells/Knots.html
AnswerID: 344056

Reply By: BoldJack ( Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:58

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:58
G'Day wato35.
Try here

Cheers Boldjack

http://www.animatedknots.com/index.php?LogoImage=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=www.animatedknots.com
AnswerID: 344061

Follow Up By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:30

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:30
that is a really good website, saving it to my favorites. will come in hand one day
FollowupID: 612198

Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:12

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:12
After years of being "riddled" by my "tie anything down" farmer father-in-law who I figure uses a truckie knot (I don't really know... I never managed to learn it), I invented my own version that works for me.

I tie one end on to the trailer using a half hitch (like in the links above) then pass the rope over the load and about 0.5-1m from the point I'm going to secure it to I make a loop by making a knot. Double the rope over and loop it into a knot leaving some loose bit to form the loop. Hard to describe without pictures! Feed the rope around the anchor point then back up thru the loop and pull back towards the anchor point to tighten. I then tie it off using a half hitch or 3 at the loop. Doesn't come undone as easy as the truckies knot but as long as the rope is not too small (eg. hay-band) it's ok to undo. No doubt someone will pick a hole in my method but I've never had one loosen on me, which makes it a lot better than my old way of tieing things down... with lots of simple knots!!!

Cheers, Nige
AnswerID: 344063

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:20

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:20
there is PDF on members swap files
AnswerID: 344064

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:04

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:04
The best way to learn this knot is the old fashion way..monkey see monkey do.

Find someone thnat knows how to tie one and get them to show you and practice.

Most truckies don't know how to do one anymore as they use tiedown straps and curtainside trailers or pantecs.
AnswerID: 344088

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:09

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:09
The best way to learn this knot is the old fashion way..monkey see monkey do.

Yep i agree,But thats why they invented the ratchet,For monkeys that are retarded like myself !

FollowupID: 611963

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:06

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:06
I gave up on truckies knots and bought a pair of pretty orange metal gizmos from Bunnings that do the same job and self lock....

AnswerID: 344089

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:10
you just beat me too it roachie lol

FollowupID: 611964

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 16:46

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 16:46
wimps

FollowupID: 612006

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:25

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:25
I can't hold my tongue in the right position to execute a knot (or even a "hitch") like that..... hahaha
FollowupID: 612046

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 23:37

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 23:37
I can't hold my tongue in the right position to execute a knot (or even a "hitch") like that....

Roachie i tried it on the missus's tongue this afternoon,bloody music to my ears,she's said not a peep all evening only took to number 4 on the diagram too.. !

FollowupID: 612091

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:04

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:04
As others have said .....

The ratchet tiedowns are a great way to go. Only let down with them is the need to have suitable tie down points for the hook styles on the straps. The webbing "should" also be flat to maintain its strength. Twisted/kinked straps can lead to problems which means dont throw the strap around something and hook it back onto itself - friction / pressure and all that jazz. I have a dozen in different sizes and use them regularly - but still keep ropes handy for a lot of applications.

The truckies hitch is a great knot to use when mastered ... I use up to three locking loops depending on trip and load considerations. As I check my load every now and then - as one does when travelling ???? ... I've never had a problem.

Put any number of the hitches in series on a single piece of rope and using a snatchblock you have a winch - which will be surprisingly effective.

One of the reasons the hitch has fallen out of favour for general use is because of the rope / string quality today ... causing too many people using the wrong thing for the wrong job.

I only use that "silva" rope which I think is polyethelene and similiar in feel to the old natural fibre rope. Has more purchase/grip than the cheap, crappy slippery stuff sold everywhere, touted as tiedown rope. The slippery stuff is polypropylene and only good for a campsite clothesline at best in my book. Might have that back the front but google can sort that for anybody actually interested.

A bowline is another good knot to know - like the truckies hitch it does rely on pressure to a degree to maintain its integrity as a knot but it NEVER gets so tight you cant undo it. Has lots of uses.
AnswerID: 344097

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:19

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:19
The only knot I rely on is a Bosun Chair Knot,or Scaffold Hitch,
when you are hanging off the side of a building, several floors up
your life depends on it, haven't hung around of buildings for a while,
getting to old, but you never forget how to tie them.

Daza

AnswerID: 344100

Reply By: TassieD - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:33

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:33
Truckie's hitch Youtube
AnswerID: 344106

Reply By: Angler - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:54

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:54
One I have trouble with is the one used by truckies to tie down car wheels. It goes round the wheel and tyre then tightened. usually with one of hose ratchet type webbing systems. I have been shown often and still get it wrong.

Pooley
AnswerID: 344137

Reply By: taswegian - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 18:55

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 18:55
Hi,wato35,

Try google ANIMATED KNOTS BY GROG great site.

TASSIE..
AnswerID: 344149

Reply By: Member - swagman(VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:24

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:24
have a look at this site ,it may be of help

http://www.tite-tie.com.au
AnswerID: 344171

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:28

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:28
Yeh, that's the gadget I was meaning in my reponse above. Very easy to use....no jiggery-pokery....

FollowupID: 612048

Reply By: nutwood - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:37

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:37
The point of a truckies hitch is that you don't need the end of the rope. This means that you can just have one long length of rope and tie multiple knots over, under, round until you run out of rope.
Very versatile, providing the operator has the skill. Ratchet straps are fine but they are very limited. They are also causing good tie down skills to be slowly, but surely, lost.
I agree about using good quality silver rope, no more than 10mm, possibly 8mm. The relatively thin rope has low friction and the hitch can pull some spring into the rope to help with settling.
There's also cheap imitation silver rope. I've found Kinnears to be good.
Drawing above is correct way to go. Note, no end. Forget to half hitch the top loop at your peril. Despite what they say, it's not optional. Without it, the knot will wait until you've got both feet up on the edge of the tray and you're leaning back, giving it everything. Suddenly.... no more knot!
AnswerID: 344190

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:04

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:04
Kinnnears is the only rope
FollowupID: 612102

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:42
Animated Knots by Grog
AnswerID: 344193

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 23:08

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 23:08
Does one have to be wearing a pair of rubber thongs and a blue singlet to be successful at said not ??

Pezza
AnswerID: 344218

Follow Up By: nutwood - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 11:44

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 11:44
No but it helps!
FollowupID: 612167

Follow Up By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:46

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:46
i think your on the right track
FollowupID: 612205