Camp Sites on the Plenty Hwy

G'day All,

Planning a trip over the Simpson (4th time)up to Alice and over the Plenty Hwy to Boulia.The plan was to overnite camp at Tobmorey Station, However I read some weeks ago on this site that fuel and camping was nolonger available there. So I need some advise on some decent or not so decent campsites about half to threequarters the way over the Plenty.....Any suggestions??

Regards Trouper

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:05

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:05
Trouper,
You can get fuel at Jervois Station, about 6 kilometres further on after going through the Plenty River. Also a good little stop well before for fuel and supplies and a great little camp spot is Gem Tree.

AnswerID: 344152

Reply By: marq - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:06

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:06
There is a few about half way between stuart hwy and boulia - around the river crossings (just drive off the road abit).

About 4pm start looking for a place to pull up of the road a bit. Just watch the direction of the dust so you aren't eating it.
AnswerID: 344153

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:12

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:12
No fuel at Tobmorey Station any more either.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 344156

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:22

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:22
Trouper

I camp anywhere there is no fence line on the side of the road. Drive up a creek bed and camp on the embankment. Last time (2007) that way camped a few kms east of the Queensland Border in a roadworks area. There are plenty of places to camp(no pun intended...lol)

AnswerID: 344157

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:04
Any water down that way at the moment? Just thinking of what is happening in the Gulf and at Birdsville, know a few people that took the Barkly from Darwin to the east cost at xmas. Not sure how they are getting back? Plenty? Some supplies are getting short in Darwin NO milk at Woolies today.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 344164

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:36

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:36
http://www.racq.com.au/benefits__and__discounts/road_conditions
FollowupID: 612052

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:51
Plenty of water there at the moment-flooding at Roxborough Downs, Georgina River etc etc
FollowupID: 612056

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:19

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:19
All roads closed in that area Plenty, Donohue, Birdsville-Boulia and more

My mate, George(NT) and his wife, flew out of Boulia today back to Darwin via Brisbane leaving their Nissan parked behind the pub to wait for rebuilt roads and drier weather. They had been in Boulia for the past 8 days, marooned. They said that the people of Bouia looked after them very well.

FollowupID: 612064

Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:31

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:31
Bedourie is getting ready for the water comming down.
they reckon their going to be isolated for up to 2 months.
know one in town is old enough to remember if the water has got that high before.
there is places up there that have never been flooded before.

FollowupID: 612106

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:53

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:53
Bedourie would have flooded significantly in 2000 and the late 70's, however they are saying there was also record rainfall in the area. Flood history of Georgina and Eyre Creek is here http://www.bom.gov.au/hydro/flood/qld/brochures/georgina/georgina.shtml

FollowupID: 612117

Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 08:15

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 08:15
well the mayor reckons its a big one and they are suprised where it has flooded as the is no record of it flooding where it has or will.
FollowupID: 612118

Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:38
This may be of interest, I took a pic of the Jevios camp ground area after fuelling. Taken Dec 2007.

AnswerID: 344191

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:11
It hadn't been upgraded in 2008 either!!
FollowupID: 612283

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:52

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:52
Trouper,

I haven't stayed there but there is a campground called "Spotted Tiger" near Harts Range. Someone from EO wrote about it last year and if you google Spotted Tiger it will bring up information.

It sounded very interesting

Viv
AnswerID: 344194

Reply By: outback epicurean - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:00

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:00

Spotted Tiger campground is about 5 km behind Harts Range police station. Its an excellent spot but is not signposted or at all obvious. Head down the road past the race course and you will come to it. The was noone else there when we camped 2 years ago. No idea about charges as no signs, fees or caretaker!!!

Good loo's, water and camp sites and not far to gem mines in the ranges

good luck
AnswerID: 344197

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:22

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:22
Plenty of informal camp sites as Willem says above. Just drive along a creek bed as long as there has been no rain upstream you would be right. The creek has brought the firewood for you too when it has flowed last :-))
AnswerID: 344204

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:08

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:08
As a companion camper with John and Heather we found (Plenty) no pun intended of campsites when travelling east to west.

Both happened to be on the left and behind some "hills".

As previous said check wind direction so you don't eat dust. Only one vehicle went past but at 9pm at night dust still about.

On the west to east trip stopped across the road from the entrance to Tobermory. Drove round the back to the "quarry" and found a nice spot.

Got some amazing photo's of the sunset that day.

Garth
FollowupID: 612282

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:18
Garth, g'day mate, here is one of the camp sites. Circle up, circle up. Was a fantastic trip with the company we had, you, Jim and Sandy and Debra and Mike. I remember hearing the "I don't want this trip to end" coming over the UHF, the poetry and singing too.
FollowupID: 612297

Reply By: Member - Derek D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 16:15

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 16:15
Last year 2008 we went across the Plenty from Boulia and camped this side of the Arthur River, track in and plenty of places along the river to camp away from the road. The land is privately owned by you are allowed to camp overnight. Great spot.

Regards Derek
AnswerID: 344288

Follow Up By: Member - Derek D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 16:22

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 16:22
The Arthur River is about 150klms after Tobermorey Station going West. Forgot to add that to my reply.

Regards Derek
FollowupID: 612226

Reply By: Sawtybt - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 09:47

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 09:47
I've just added a PDF file into the file swap area showing the "Spotted Tiger" campground and the mine sites surrounding this area of the Harts Range.
AnswerID: 344388

Follow Up By: trouper - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 15:25

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 15:25
Thanks all for your imput. Looks like Harts Range may be the go or as some mentioned "just drive up the creek"

FollowupID: 612400