4c off fuel price with a Woolies docket!, is it worth the drive to the neare

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:11
ThreadID: 65097 Views:3142 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Symbo would drive a 100ks to save a few dollars!!. ...lol.

If the price looks like its in a reasonable range i just pull in and

get what i want. Still like to support the independants if possible, causes some arguments though..lol.

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:15

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:15
Nearest site!, have no idea whats going on there??.

Axle.
AnswerID: 344167

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:18

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:18
'scuse me while I pop out for a few minutes, an' pop some corn in the corn poppin' thingy...........................................

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 344168

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:31
LOL!..
FollowupID: 612050

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:41
Hmmm.... Axle and its not even the middle of the week yet

Old English saying "Penny wise, Pound foolish"

We have locals who drive 220km there and back to get cheaper food at Woolies. NOt much sense in that, eh?

Prices are pretty static in the bush. Local businesses are feeling the financial pinch and some fuel resellers are giving discounts.

Diesel is down to $1.23 today...WOW!...lol

I fuel up when I have to. Couple of cents here or there in the scheme of things doesn't make much impact on life.

Please tell your SWMBO to un-stress her life and buy on impulse!....LOL

Yeah ..... and go slow on the refreshments mate...hahahahaha

HNY

AnswerID: 344173

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:31

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:31
I love tuesday arvos on the way home from work. Two servos on different sides of the road. Easy to turn into either one

woolies at say 96.9 with docket and the 7/11 at 98.9.

A line up 20 cars long to get into woolies with small Hyundais ect in the line. Say a max fuel load of 50lt in these small cars so max saving is $1.00. They would spend $3.00 sitting there in line with the air-con going I reckon. Pull into 7/11 fill up and be on my way in 5 mins. Ok I may be $2 worse off but I will live with that :)
FollowupID: 612065

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:36
I just enjoy filling up at the ONLY diesel bowser with the 2 empty petrol bowsers in front of me at the local shell outlet and watching the upset Hyundai drivers behind me go off their rockers. Why should I make room for them at the only pump I can use?
FollowupID: 612299

Reply By: nutwood - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:16

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:16
Woolies have found a way to hook me.
They give another 4c off if you purchase $5 worth of products. I put in at least 150 litres each time. This means that they pay me $1 to take away $5 worth of products. Sounds petty but it gives me a chuckle every time!
Of course it helps that they are one of the few places selling LPG and I have to drive past them regardless.
AnswerID: 344187

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:00

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:00
Hi Nutwood

Do much the same thing ourselves , we went into the store and checked out the things we would buy anyway and prices just so we don't pay to much and Like you its a real laugh to actually have someone give you a dollar to take away $5 of goods.

Back on Axles point we use a figure of around 5km per dollar and I always try and keep it in peoples minds that if they are going to shop to buy loaf of bread then its cost is its cost plus that 5km per dollar.

We have an independant fuel and also supermarket 2km closer to us than coles , so the loaf of bread is 80c more then its really the same price.

FollowupID: 612073

Follow Up By: Muddie - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:04

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:04
I too love that offer, I grab 2 big cherry Ripes $6, extra 4 cents off on the 150+ litres they are free. But then there are not many motorist who can hold that volume.
FollowupID: 612074

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:34

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:34
Hi Muddie

My wife loves the cherry ripes to and they are often on special here at $5.

We also have several jerry cans and intelligent use of these means we can get 100 plus liters any time which helps.

FollowupID: 612079

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:28

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:28
Only prob I see with that is that most things at the servo are dearer than in a supermarket so it can be false economics. Plus I am trying to give up the Cherry Ripes :-)
Not sure about now (as I rarely use them) but a few years ago I was finding that the Woollies diesel was costing me more with extra fuel consumption.
FollowupID: 612095

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:58

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:58
I got an e-mail from the Woolies Rewards people inviting me to have 17cpl discount if I spend $250 in one of their supermarkets in the next four days. I think we would have to shop for two or three families at once (single transaction only permitted). Not impossible but a bit tricky for the wife and myself.

Kingo
AnswerID: 344196

Follow Up By: nutwood - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:58

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:58
Wish they'd send me one of those. Probably never will as we shop there anyway and frequently go over the $250. Our cards probably tagged: Buys 200 litres at a time-NO SPECIAL FUEL OFFERS!!
FollowupID: 612157

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:47

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:47
Cost of time and cost of travelling - there's got to be another reason. Better girl things shops near the servo?

AnswerID: 344212

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:49

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:49
Around our way, other servos are about 2c cheaper than woolies without discount so the 4c is not very real.

I am very concerned that the obsession most people have with woolies servos is making them into the monopoly they want to become.

The saving on fuel is for some reason as most think it is real bargain but don't drive all over town to chase a few cents with other items. As stated it is $4 for 100litres and most (except us 4wd types) don't get 100 litres.

Convenience of the nearest servo whatever the brand and the breaking of woolies monopoly is worth something to me. I do use woolies but they have to be nearby when I want them. I certainly never chase them.

AnswerID: 344235

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:20

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:20
One of the things I do like about moving from the petrol Paj to the diesel Jack is not having to wait in lines at the servo on Tuesday's for the cheap fuel.

There is no discount cycle on diesel in Adelaide so I just pull in when I need it.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 344243

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:56

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:56
Don't you realise that it is the supermarkets that are keeping fuel prices high???

If everybody stopped buying from supermarket controlled outlets the prices would drop almost overnight!
AnswerID: 344247

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:49

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:49
not around here... Safeway is the 1st to drop and the last to go up... their Tuesday 'low cycle' is now Mon thru Wed. Guess what local BP does... last to drop, never manages to match Safeway/Shell and is the 1st to go up. Haven't bought fuel from them for years! I try to use my local independant guy who's usually within a cent or so of the others (with an IGA discount ticket which is fine as we shop there anyway) Happy to fling a dollar or 2 extra his way as he's the closest and a friendly chap to boot!
FollowupID: 612154

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:19

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:19
I have one of these discount fuel stations near my place. Every day without fail , every after noon - they are , lined up out the driveway - a quick look shows at least 5 cars waiting at each pump ( about 12 in total ) now average fill up is 5-7 min inc paying in store

now the average car is the standard ford - holden 4 cyl - or 6 cyl - so on average they are saving maybe $1.20 of the price of the fuel. dont know about you fellas - but for $1.20 i am not going to sit in a petrol station for up to 25 min - i just continue on my way to the local independent - i pay a few dollars more , but i dont have to wait in line and no Pump rage

Boc
AnswerID: 344307