Gadget 12 volt electric wiring upgraded.........................................
Submitted: Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 15:56
Willem
My thanks to Autosparky here on EO for his invalauble assistance over 2500km in upgrading my crows nest electrics
My thanks to Michael J (SA) for help in procuring new cables for the winch job
The power control box is now inside the engine bay just behind the left headlight.
And all of it works!!!
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:57
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:57
G'day Willem,
Real easy for this stuff to get out of hand hey! Just add some lights, winch and few more12 volt items and there you have it. Looks so much better now and probably less likely to give you trouble in the long run.
Theo
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:52
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:52
G'day Theo
The crows nest wiring had not given me trouble before, but it did need some reorgansing, thanks to advice and help from some caring people on this
Forum.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:35
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:35
"And all of it works!!! "
As if there was ever any doubt.......:))))))
You've done very
well uncle, now for a wash n polish??
Michael.....soon to be retired and OFF..
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:36
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:36
PS, no news on MRF.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:54
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:54
OK on the MRF
Wash? Waiting for rain....it's gunna be a looooong wait!...lol
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:50
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:50
Looks good Willem, make sure the wiring is away from/not touching the a/c piping as the return side gets very hot, enough to melt the insulation off wiring and makes a nasty mess when the shorted out wire "welds" on the aluminium pipe, burns all the way through and the resultant bang as the a/c releases all its internal pressure frightens the bejesus out of you.
I've had to fix a few HF installs over the years as the installer has cable tied the HF wiring to the a/c piping.
The "welding" and resultant bang happened to my BIL on his hilux while crawling along in low range years ago, still laugh remembering how quickly they abandoned a still moving vehicle!
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:49
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:49
Thanks Peter. Yes all wiring protected from heater/aircon pipes.
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:35
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:35
Very easy for the wiring to get out of control when fitted over a period of time & I doubt you're on your own when it comes to having a dozen wires coming off the positive :-) (I know my early attempts were pretty ordinary) I'm a big fan of fitting the black slotted tubing over all accessory wires keeping it all neat while avoiding any points where it can rub through, particually unfused bits.
You may concider a cover for the solinoids in case you drop a spanner.
Cheers Craig...............
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:21
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:21
Yerr Craig, still dropping spanners.....lol
Reply By: autosparky - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:37
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:37
im seriously impressed what a difference. and now you know which circuit is what . good work
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:19
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:19
Thanks to you mate, I now seem to have an acceptable EO wiring system :-)......LOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Respectfully- Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 18:22
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 18:22
Autosparky, are you able to actually correlate Willems story and photo's above? I seriously doubt that they are the same engine compartment!
Follow Up By: autosparky - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 18:44
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 18:44
it looks like the same engine bay, but since you replied i realised that willem had only photos of the passenger side and one battery. my question now is what does the drivers side look like?because there is another battery over there!!!on that side too
my only other suggestion would be to put convoluted tubing over the main battery feed to the fusebox(sorry i forgot to supply it)
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 19:39
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 19:39
hahahahaha...I had wondered what would come up next
Hey Bonz...Oh ye of little faith...........................LOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Respectfully- Saturday, Jan 17, 2009 at 08:18
Saturday, Jan 17, 2009 at 08:18
hahaha Willem, until I see it with my own four eyes, theres still an inkling of thought that you scoured the breadth and depth of
Peterborough lugging those two batteries, looking for a patrol same colour as your with which to implant the batteries and take a couple of photo's............
Nah not really, you and Lucy should go into business rewiring vehicles
Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:54
Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:54
Hi Willem,
Sure looks a much neater job. That new fuse block installed, is that just made up of the appropriate sized spade fuses ?
I have been looking at our caravan which has a similar set up with fuses, 1 block of 9 and another block of 4. Problem is that every time I blow a fuse, as happens when you fiddle around with electrics, i never know which fuse is blown and i remove them one at a time till i find the blown fuse. Just thought, have you ever seen or heard of a bank of 12V circuit breakers, similar to house circuit breakers. It would then be a simple matter of flicking the C breaker back on. Maybe we may get some suggestions from others. looks like the Truck is getting ready for another trip.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:17
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:17
Hi George
Yes I need blade fuses with clear tops to I can see if a fuse is blown. The ones I have are not too bad if I concentrate when looking at them or light up with a pencil torch.
Yes the truck is being prepped for a 3 month sojourn in the Northwest of the continent coming up at the end of May.
Reply By: x - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 00:00
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 00:00
Willem
Electrically it looks vastly better - only two wires coming off the positive post!
You haven't quite achieved the visual schmickness that one would associate with perhaps a new BMW X5, but if you keep the bonnet (hood) closed who is going to know?
I'd like some black plastic ribbed wire protector over the main positive line going to the fuse holder, and I'd re-route the daggy red wire hanging over the air inlet.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:25
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:25
x (what a funny name)
Yep am going to put the main red wire into pvc black poly pipe.
Daggy wire is a sender unit I am testing for someone and whilst I can tidy it up, it really has nowhere else to go as under the air intake it is too close to the exhaust manifold. You will have to live with this.....lol
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 07:41
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 07:41
bugga...
i just bought some red cable ties that i was going to send up to you....(anonymously of course...so you wouldnt know who to yell at for rubbishing your messy wiring....
it looks as though a pro has been at it now....
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:20
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:20
Coming from you mate, that is a compliment.
BTW, the main power wire for the winch is Black. Does it matter?...LOL
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:36
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:36
Black?!!! you slacko.....
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:39
Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 08:39
you sure you Micheal didnt swipe most of your goodies ...a lot ...a humungous amount of wires are missing