Power inside the Camper Tent unit ..

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:23
ThreadID: 65145 Views:3403 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I am really new to C/T life and I couldn't find the answer in search so --

What's the best way of getting power inside the tent part of a Camper ? Mine is not wired at all .

Mine is completely sealed ( my old tent had a small panel and rainflap on one wall where you could run a lead through ) The camper doesn't .. Is this the way to go ? Cut a hole stitch it and then sew a rainflap over it ? Let in all the creepies ?

At the moment I have a small box with 3 X 7AH batteries in it which comes into the tent and lights are then hooked up with cig lighter plugs and wiring - I have an 85aH AGM in the back of the Jeep which can be used IF I can get a cable into the Camper Tent ...

Any suggestions or brief descriptions of your setup would help

Cheers

Steve ..
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: DesF - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:35

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:35
Hi, I had a Campermatic trailer, 10" wheel model about 89 , with out any thing in it except the bed etc.. and I fitted a c/van power inlet on the r/h side and then put a triple power plug ( with switches) inside ( under the material skirts ) and ran the cable across under the floor and put a power outlet on the l/h side to be used under the annex. worked a treat.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 344465

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 17:09

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 17:09
Steve, why not fit a deep cycle battery to the drawbar of the c/t wired to charge thru the coupling plug on the tug, from the batt., you can then run a fused line thru to the inside of the c/t to a multi plug in a handy spot,eg., near the bed, then you can run as many 12v outlets as you need from there,where the line goes thru the c/t use a grommet or silocone to keep the bugs out. Hope this helps,
Keith C.
AnswerID: 344470