Hilux 08 sales - prices?

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:24
ThreadID: 65146 Views:2295 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

A mate is buying his first 4x4 after many hard years studying to get a good job.

He is looking at the 08 sales at the moment and is only interested in the hilux. I have pointed out the savings with a Triton etc but he is one eyed....dream car I think.

Has anyone purchased recently (since the meltdown) and care to share a ball park good deal on an SR5 TD? I know they are desperate to sell some makes and models but the dealer hasn't been too forthcoming yet.

I was thinking mid 40's driveaway in current climate with the usual extras of bullbar, towbar etc thrown into the mix.

Advice appreciated.

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:36

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 16:36
where are you mate,

boss bought one last week and threw me the keys. went from a 130 DC Defender to an SR5 TD Hilux.

can find out a price for you if you like but i am in nsw.
AnswerID: 344466

Follow Up By: tdv - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:11

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:11
In North Qld. Only after a ball park really. List price with accessories over mid 50's.
FollowupID: 612422

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:05

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:05
Hi Bushfix

Just curious as to why your boss wan'ted to go backwards!?

LOL!!...... only joking, the hilux looks prettier anyway.

FollowupID: 612444

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:27

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:27
G'day Axle,

130 has only done 240k but i think they were hard ones, and on tar, people try to drive the stick like a sports car but i prefer to shift to neutral then shift to next gear.

the 130 has been assigned to other duties out down Picton way, the hilux will be heading to the central west nsw where tojo dealers are at hand to help with warranty issues.

don't really care or feel comfortable with the "pretty" factor, let alone driving a brand new car. I prefer a knocked up old ute. but she drives beautifully and it's a new experience (to me) driving a brand new car.
FollowupID: 612631

Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:04

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:04
Gidday

FWIW

Just been through this exercise and ended up with a Ford Ranger for about $8000 off list ... I know it is a different car but that sort of discount might be a starting point. There are no deals on stamp duty (which in WA is the highest in the country) and dealer wouldn't budge on accessories and dealer delivery charges. I think that is where their margin is. I think an SR5 TD Hilux lists at somewhere north of $52K (before ORC) so if he can drive one away with accessories for the mid 40s he is stealing it ...
Ross
AnswerID: 344479

Follow Up By: tdv - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:13

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:13
As of tis arvo 48k driveaway. He needs it a bit cheaper to please the missus...
FollowupID: 612423

Reply By: Off-track - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:15

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 18:15
Get a price from Carney's in Townsville then start ringing around the regional dealerships and you may be surprised at the savings to be found.
AnswerID: 344483

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:11

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 20:11
If he's paying cash and no trade, I'd normally expect to to get at least $4k off the price.

But Holden dropped the Colorado (Rodeo) dual cab price by over $9,000 a few weeks back, so maybe the Hilux will come down sometime soon?
AnswerID: 344499

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:28

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:28
G'day Phil,

we also bought a Colorado and parked behind the Hilux it looks half the size!
FollowupID: 612632

Reply By: Wherehegon - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:42

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:42
mate bought his from intersate, was worth the airfair with the savings. ring around as mentioned above, you can always have it freighted to you then register in your own state, I think also you can get a pass from the RTA drive it from one state to the other somthing like a 3 day pass, not sure if they still do it or not. WHG
AnswerID: 344522