Holden Colorado opinions sought.

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:01
ThreadID: 65153 Views:7696 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Considering a Colorardo in 4x4 Daul cab.
Thinking about the petrol 3.6 V6 version in manual.
Like to hear any thoughts good or bad please...diesel opinions too thanks.
Will be used as runaround and occasionally tow a 5.8 m poptop caravan.
Thanks AL.

Reply By: shaneo86 - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:55

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 22:55
g'day,

Colorado awsome...iv just got my self one dule cab 3L tray back the only bad thing is that the tray is abit wider then the body alot wider im finding it hard to yea get into those small spaces or see behind me cant see in the side mirrors all i can see is the tray not the sides.. at first it seemed to chew the fuel but now seems to be getting betta using BP good fuel ...not the crap woolies stuff use the ultimate im getting 8.35L / 100 iv changed the tred on mine and the wheels as i found it looked wrong so i got scorpions ATR'S 265/70/r16 they are from 4wd monthly best 4wd tyer yes yes i know...they are passager rated not like the LT Bf's but they are soo quite on the road iv used them on the gravel, sand, mud and seemed fine.

just i had to rush out asap to get good seat covers auto barn longreach ones... the seats are hard but with good seat covers they are awsome also the turning is a real..biach 13m around that back seats seem to sit up high bit like the nissan navaras thank god i didnt buy the D22 was loud on the road and to bulky i found the izuzu is the same truck but "style" they havent thought of yet plastic flars rough ride newer motor compared to the colorado but colorado is nicer ride way nicer all the front bars look good TJM with there summer speical till end of this month only snorkle and bar 2,145 not to bad aye... fitted

overall nice to drive im goin to the cape june july august cant wait
AnswerID: 344525

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:36

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:36
also i got vinal floors and then asked for floor matts..yeah wen you get the paint and vinal protection what happens with oil and rubber floor matts on vinal yeah slip and slide funny in the contract they say fitted then after going back in to get them fixed as they arnt road worthy nope...cant do anything guess thats holden for you...

and i had to put spacers under my tray as it comes down way low and for lift kits...45mm is as high as you can go im thinking about old man emu front mudflaps are well pointless... they are those tiny pretend mudflaps iv had to bolt longer ones onto mine
FollowupID: 612484

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:48

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 23:48
If you can afford the diesel option..( have a test drive of both ) I think it is a must !!
For towing and economy you can't beat it ..
AnswerID: 344534

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 07:55

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 07:55
Are you going to have smaller people in the back seat?
I have looked at Colorado,Ranger and Triton.Sat the kids in the back (11 and 13) and asked their opinion on the comfort of the seating. Triton won hands down.Also is very nicely appointed in GLX/R trim.
All these vehicles drive pretty much the same, so having happy backseat drivers became the yardstick for me.Nothing worse on a long trip than a whine coming from the rear that isn't the diff. :)

Going to pick one up next week.
AnswerID: 344554

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 09:20

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 09:20
Good to hear the Triton has room in the back !!
Had an old 92 model and thats why I sold it years ago.....no room in the back for the growing kids ..

All the dual cabs are a pretty good thing nowadays ( hope the Triton isn't as noisy as the Pajero...engine noise? ) but I'm not sure why you would buy the petrol motor?? All the diesels are so much better ( even allowing for the rip off price of diesel fuel )
FollowupID: 612521

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 17:06

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 17:06
I'm going diesel.

Noticed a few posts about the D-Max further down. Drove one of them and was horrified by the sloppy gear shift. My Datsun 180B from 20 odd years ago was a tighter shift.
Dont know about being cheaper than the rest either. The top of the range was still up there with the rest.
The 10 year warranty on Triton's drivetrain was a decider as well.
FollowupID: 612596

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 09:45

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 09:45
HI Westozal,

Cant help with personal experience but did you know the Isuzu D-Max is identical mechanically to the Colorado but marketed by Isuzu at a cheaper price. I think Isuzu has just recently set up some dealers across Australia or in some cases the Isuzu truck dealerships may sell them as well.
Refer to Post 63407.
It certainly would be worth a look at a D max as well.
GPM
AnswerID: 344574

Follow Up By: Dion - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 13:40

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 13:40
The D-Max's are only being sold through Isuzu Ute Australia, not through Isuzu truck dealerships.

have a look at:

www.izusuute.com.au

And if you end up then having your heart set on a D-Max, then the petrol V6 debate doesn't even come into it. The D-Max is only available with the 3.0L TDI engine.

Dion.
FollowupID: 612544

Follow Up By: Dion - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 13:42

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 13:42
My spelling is woeful today,
try:

www.isuzuute.com.au

You would think with owning two Rodeo's, I ought to know how to spell Isuzu.

Dion.
FollowupID: 612547

Reply By: westozal - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 10:25

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 10:25
hi,
Thankyou for replying to my question everyone.
The diesel gets a good wrap it seems. I only have one son going with us these day's he will be 15 in May.
I do like the Triton as well...wonder if the motor will be upgraded to same as the Pajero?
thanks Alan.
AnswerID: 344581

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 10:43

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 10:43
Bruce Garland (Aus) currently running 11th out right in the 2009 Dakar in his Isuzu D-Max.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 612527

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 14:35

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 14:35
For what it's worth, I don't know much about them, I was told by one who works for the importers that the Isuzu has a different (stronger) transmission. Apart from that virtually identical.

Mark T

AnswerID: 344625

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:01

Friday, Jan 16, 2009 at 20:01
Ive got the Model Before the Rodeo with the diesel 120kw motor. Owned a couple of years and has not missed a beat. Performs great off road after a few mods. Was a bit low to the ground without a lift. You should have not trouble with it. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 344686