New 4WD, your opinions

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 10:26
ThreadID: 6525 Views:2191 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Giday all,
Just got of the turps after spending some time down the local 4WD dealers. Some of these blokes treat youse like bloody drongos, they think youse came down in the last shower and that usually get's me lookin for a donnybrook. I do'nt mind thses blokes floggin their wares but their bloody opinions vary so much on the same makes and models that youse don't know if youse comin or goin. Same goes for those 4WD magazines.
Sorry to be so long winded, but I'd like to ask youse opinions, the blokes and shellas that drive them .......... me old FJ ute has passed away and I'm lookin to replace it. I've saved up me pennies and I've got about 45 thousand quid, oops dollars, to part with .........What does youse reckon? What's the best buy goin at the moment? I don't need somthing too flash, just a fair dinkum, no bull bleep set of wheels, for me Mum and Bluey.
So how about youse all muck in and send me youse thoughts.

Keep youse arse pointin down.
Bazza.

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 10:54

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 10:54
Gday bazza
with 45 000 quid your options are fairly open as that much gg's will get you into a good range of secondhand 4wds or even into a new one in the cheeper bracket
my advice would be to look at 1 of the following 3 ,
4.2lt diesel nissan patrol ute or wagon depending on your needs
4.2 deisel landcruiser 100 wagon
hj 75 or what ever then new model is deisel personel carrier or ute
But remember buying a car is a personal thing you need to work out just what your needs are & match the vehicle to your requirements
imho the gap between the makes & models is getting less & less with every year that goes by.
regards Bruce
AnswerID: 27561

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:51

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:51
Well having read a few of the responses ,am i gullable today? & been played for a sucker? or is baz genuine but laying on a bit thick?
If Im a sucker then i guess my head is in the sand & my ass will never piont down!!!!! HeHeHeHeHe Groan :(o=
FollowupID: 18991

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 14:04

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 14:04
don't be too hard on yourself Bruce,

there's heaps of times I'd rather be head down and ass up...

Bazza is a jokester whether he is genuine or not [and I very much doubt he's genuine]..I think he is taking the Micheal....

Lyn1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

Corrugations...what are they?
FollowupID: 18993

Reply By: Member - Wombat (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:44

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:44
Crikey Bazz, where are your digs? Struth mate goin from an FJ to an new 4B is a big step. What do you plan doing with it and where do you plan on taking it?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
AnswerID: 27568

Follow Up By: Bazza - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:35

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:35
Giday all,
Gees youse blokes and shellas are beaut for getting back so fast, youse certainly do'nt bleep -flart about. I'm a fair dinkum dill, I should have givin youse more info. My digs are in the Southern Highlands of NSW, a top spot in our great land. Every time I get a chance, I'm in like Flynn, and off bush, usually via fire trails close to me local patch. Luv camping and I'll shack up anyware the mood takes me and I'ts usually with Mum, bluey and the one tin lid. I do'nt plan to go mountain climbing or fording any major rivers west of whoop-whoop. Been there, done that. Struth, do'nt wanna get that close to water anyway, I only tub once a month and that's because I have to, so the old girl says.
So I do'nt need some big-arsed 4WD, probably something mid-sized that I could shell out for new. If I can pick up something capable along these lines, everything will be tickety-boo.

Keep youse arse pointing down.
Bazza
P.S. My surname's not McKenzie and I do'nt have an Aunty named Edna, but I do have a son named Smiley. Fair go.
FollowupID: 18987

Follow Up By: Col - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:12

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:12
Fair suck of the sav Baz! Plonk ya dosh down on a Holden. Like mine. Might risk spoilin the missus and Smiley though! It's got carpet and a wireless. You would have trouble winding the windows down, being that they are electric gizmo's. Oh, and you don't need a crank handle to start them up these days either. Might have trouble finding enough of Dad & Dave on CD to fill all six slots in the stacker.
These blo*dy modern contraptions.

Col
FollowupID: 19047

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:53

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:53
troll
AnswerID: 27569

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:56

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 11:56
Bazza,

once you get off the turps, do you start taking the p$ss?

surname's not McKenzie is it? aunty called Edna?1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

Corrugations...what are they?
AnswerID: 27570

Reply By: Mixo - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 12:10

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 12:10
Bazza....your street theatre is wasted here ....try your act at the local pub .... don't forget your swag, a hat with the corks 'a swinging' and maybe a dog.Gotta have red sand on those boots !
AnswerID: 27574

Reply By: CirclingVulture - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:03

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 13:03
Noya Baz how's it hangin ? I thiks youse beter tone it down a bit for som of us dosnt get ya, youse uny guys gets a coleg degres and ya thiks ya can mak us fels stopid with youse coleg talk !
AnswerID: 27580

Reply By: Mick - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 17:02

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 17:02
Live in Queensland Bazza?
AnswerID: 27597

Follow Up By: Dan (Brizvegas) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 20:18

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 20:18
And what's wrong with Queenslanders?

Bazza said it...he's NSWelshman!

D :)
FollowupID: 19030

Reply By: Willywags- Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 18:33

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 18:33
Looking at what you have said, old boy, I think that you would be better off buying a V8 Ute. One of those very expensive ones. Alternatively, may be two second hand RAV's or a TATA with a gold plated foxtail on the aerial. Something that Blue can nip at whilst hanging out the side. But best of British luck anyway, old boy !

Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 27601