stolen caravan Southern Cross 22ft

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 18:47
ThreadID: 65338 Views:6240 Replies:13 FollowUps:14
Hi there about 6 weeks ago we had a 22ft Southern Cross Caravan stolen from our factory in Meadowbrook in S.E. Q.L.D. It was spotted over Christmas 2008 at The Karrinyup Waters Caravan Park Gwelup Perth. This was confirmed by other Southern Cross caravan owners and also the W.A. Police. The tow vehicle is either a white Toyota/Nissan dual cab ute with a hard top lift up lid on the rear tub. The car is Registered in Victoria starting with the letters WEA... Another user on this site William told me to put these details on this wonderful website and we may have some luck? The van is only of about 12 on the road but only 4 with the charcoal and silver decals done the side. These are a fully custom built van over $100,000. The new "owner " of the van has been checking in under his original name (not sure if I can name him on here?) so I wont. The Victorian Police have run a search on his name and rego and it all checks out ok. The police know where he lives but cant do anything until he is in possession of the van. I know Perth is a big and wonderful state , but I am sure with all you great nomads out there, we can find the van. If anyone has any information please call me on 0418 778 001 ask for Morty. I can send picures also of the van just email me at morty@jr-easytraveller.com . The van has now walls on the aroll out awning and the middle aged owner keeps to himself. The only information I have on him, is that he wears a Geelong cap and does not speak to many people and hides away. There have also been reports that there is drill and saw noises coming out of the van.

Thanking you,

Morty.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 18:58

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 18:58
Hi Morty,
Hopefully there will be some boys in blue reading this forum that will be able to help you out. When they find the person, I hope he gets some bush justice.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 345546

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:09

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:09
Hi Stephen,

Yes the boys in blue were great in W.A. I could only contact them via email over Christmas . With my info they sent 2 officers out to the caravan park, the van had already gone but from the visit they could get the guys name and rego of his car, which is starting with the letters WEA - - - Victorian Rego. The guys name and rego check out at an address in Victoria, and the ute is not listed as stolen. The Police can not do anything until he is foud in posession of the van,

Morty.
FollowupID: 613573

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:37

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:37
Hi Morty,

It would help a lot if you posted a picture of the van & told us the rego number of the license plate it had on it when stolen.

I'll put the photos up if you email them to me (i'll send you an email).

AnswerID: 345552

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:49

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:49
The current owner may have paid good money for the van, not knowing it was stolen.
AnswerID: 345554

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:48

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:48
Unlikely Mike i reckon, few people these days pay out around $100K for a used van - without some kinda financing, and most financiers insist on a revs check, where likely a stolen / missing caravan would still have the original financiers or insurers encumberance registered against it - alerting to the fact it was stolen.

Sadly - even in this day and age of computers our state police forces don't communicate with each other on stolen goods data bases - so it is quite possible to re - birth a vehicle van boat etc in another state and re - license it, making it easier to sell!

The Vin number and REVS situation is possbly the only way anyone whould know it to be stolen property.

It would be very EASY to link up the various states and territorys police stolen goods registers - however I suspect there are probably organised crime links with politicians that stop this ever happeneing - the trade east west and vice versa in "big boys toys" is huge!

Lots of kickbacks ensure it stays that way!

FollowupID: 613525

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:13

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:13
Hi Mike,

Thanks for your post,

We have talked about this, and wondered if he knows it was stolen. Just the way he acts when he is in the Caravan parks is a bit suss. He apparently does not talk to people and hides away in the annexe or van. He even parks car away from the van.

Morty.
FollowupID: 613574

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 19:59
I wonder if its the same guy that was stealing vans and camper trailers last year in WA - he had a prosthetic leg remember.....
AnswerID: 345558

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:09

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:09
I wont forget - he got about 130 liters of diesel off me in one nights theft - we still have a little "score" to settle!

I hope it is - this is one guy I'd like to catch!

FollowupID: 613517

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:15

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 10:15
Hi Saharaman,

When or if he is caught he wont have any legs to stand on, lock him up and throw away the keys.

Cheers Morty.
FollowupID: 613575

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:25

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:25
How come the sighting was confirmed by WA Police and others, but nothing done? sounds a bit weird...
AnswerID: 345560

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:37

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 20:37
Thats easy to answer.

Recently we were victims of a burglary theft, and chased the perp - who got away!

Dropped his bolt cutters with finger prints and dna etc - which i collected carefully so as NOTto contaminate an evidence.

Took it to the police 2 days later after the weekend because they never bothered to attend when we called during the burglary & the local station was closed for the weekend - only open office hours!

The young sen constable who took the call explained that, theres nothing he can do- Police in WA just don't have the resources to investigate property crime! (i.e. theft).

All their time is raken up with higher priorities, like assualts etc i.e. crimes against the person!

If you weren't assualted or hit over the head and killed with a cricket bat, they don;t wanna know!

There is ONLY one exception!

IF - your property is fitted with atracking device and they are assured of a convition / catching the theif red handed THEN they will actively investigate becaise it makes their stats look good at the end of the month with the commissioner!

If it is a simple stolen good burglary etc - they just don't want to know - all too much trouble.

All the same IF you report it - THEN it goes on a computer data base & IF they come across a hoard of stolen gods while pursuing other enquiries (drugs et al) THEN they will make arrests and return your stolen goods but the point is -= they don't actively go out and LOOK for anything that might be reported stolen.

That's the world we live in today!

Like it or not - thats how it works!

Police don;t like it any more than we do but thats what the budget alows and those are the priorities today!

Ohh bye the way - if you DO kill some innocent by hitting them over the head with a cricket bat - expect to get less than 5 years with time off for good behaviour and bail, parole etc etc.

Any way you look at it our system is screwed!

FollowupID: 613520

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:58

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:58
The cop didn’t fill in all the details as to why he didn’t investigate further, and a fair analysis of the situation would have given the answers anyway

The crim (perp is an American expression used in US cop shows…crim in Oz) stole some goods. As you chased the crim, you must have been able to give a reasonable description of the person.

Remember to prove a case before a Court, the Crown has to prove beyond reasonable doubt that an offence has been committed and the correct person charged with this.

Without those two elements proven, any case would be doomed to failure and it would be a waste of police time and money to investigate further.

Without a reasonable description of the offender, the cops would be limited in being able to take the next step. Where should they start looking for the goods? Investigate every backyard shed in a 20 KM radius?

Finger prints on the bolt cutter? Any self respecting crim would be wearing gloves anyway. Without a reasonable description of the crim going through the cost of testing the finger prints (probably at least a few hundred dollars and a few hours wages) would have been a waste of time

All the fingerprints prove (assuming they were even on record) is that the owner of the fingerprints handled the bolt cutters in the past: “Yeah Officer, they look like my bolt cutters, they used to be in the back of the ute, but some low life stole them”

The cop has to prove in a Court that the owner of the fingerprints used the cutters in the burg…unless you can identify the person beyond reasonable doubt, how is that going to be proved?

DNA testing? How much does this cost? How long does it take? What evidence was available to prove a case before a Court that the person is a suspect so that a DNA sample could be taken from them? Again, all any DNA available would prove is that a person had handled the cutters in the past.

Given the cost and the pressures of the police labs, the case would have to be serious to justify the expense and the time to justify such action being taken. Consider the conflicting priorities of offences, DNA testing to identify a serial rapist versus a burglar.

It is good practice to identify any items owned, engraving, photos, identifying marks, recording serial numbers etc.

However, should the cops find an Aladdin’s cave full of possibly stole goods, they still have to prove that these were stolen. If they have a record of goods with specific identifying marks they have recorded, that is the first step. But, without reasonable basis to identify the crim and that a crime had been committed, they wouldn’t be able to even get a search warrant to enter the place.

As many of the contents of my shed have been inherited or bought a markets I’d be going to prove ownership of most of the items if a cop looked in my shed

Can I ask in relation to your last comment in relation to killing someone with a block of wood, what case was this and what was the person convicted of? Murder, manslaughter, negligently causing death. What evidence did the prosecution present before the Court to result in that sentence?
FollowupID: 613586

Reply By: Pat Malone - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 21:04

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 21:04
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 345563

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 21:19

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 21:19
Good afternoon Morty.

Great to see you have got the info on the stolen caravan, on the ExplorOz site,and im sure a lot of the members who visit caravan parks ,will walk around them and have a look to see if it is their, or it could be parked in a road side stop over, or in a servo while he is filling the twin cab ute????, Also would you put the picks up on the site showing us what it look's like, as their is only 10 of thease made, .....so lets get together and do our best to help find this van if it's in WA...........Their could be a Carton in this for the person who spot's it.

Cheers for now.......William.......from Bunbury
AnswerID: 345566

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 23:02

Thursday, Jan 22, 2009 at 23:02
So, can you organize a picture here so we know what we are looking for? It could end up back here in Vic.
FollowupID: 613537

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 09:53

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 09:53
Hi William I have sent some pics for you to look at.
Since posting the stolen van on this site I have had a great response from a wide range of people. I have also sent some pictures of the van to people who have asked for them. I would upload some pics but not sure how to to that (sorry) maybe someone could help with that? It was great to talk to you William you have a great wealth of knowledge, for which I am greatful for. For the first time in March I am going to the Perth Caravan and Camping show so it will be great to see W.A. and meet some great people on the exploroz site,

Cheers Morty.
FollowupID: 613570

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 00:14

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 00:14
I emailed Mort offering to put up a pic for him and go search van parks for his van - but the email bounced back...as undeliverable.

I did get a email from his caravan sales business saying someone will reply in business hours tho.

I reckon with enough Forum Oz members in WA country towns and Perth we could easily cover all the parks etc in a day or two!

Most likely the guys headed to the southwest, the comming long weekend will make it harder to spot due to all van parks being full!

Many eyes is the answer and for that we need a pic and license plate number.

AnswerID: 345584

Reply By: Rolly - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 00:43

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 00:43
It might serve to also post on the caravaners forum.
There are several sandgropers on there too.
AnswerID: 345587

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 01:11

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 01:11
Pics would be great, we are headed down to Molloy Island tomorrow for a few days and will keep an eye out.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 345591

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:02

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:02
Ok Mortys Van Pics - these are of a sister ship - but basically identical with only a few small cosmetic differences.

So - I hope everyone prints a copy and keep it in their vehicle van and are on the lookout!

Obviously if you see it you ring the local police!

AnswerID: 345622

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:21

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 11:21
Good morning Flywest.
Thank you for up loading the photo's of the stolen van,(as i havent worked out how to up load photo's yet) this van is one of ten made, and has a unique air bag suspension, as you can see from the photo's, no one else makes a suspension on a c/van like this, let's hope we find it this long weekend.

Cheers for now.........william h.......Bunbury....WA.
FollowupID: 613583

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:27

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:27
Thanks for posting the pictures, if anyone does spot the van, our contact details are as follows.

www.southerncrosscaravans.com.au
0418 778 001 (morty)
(07) 3200 6924 office.
morty@jr-easytraveller.com
tony1966auhotmail.com
or the local boys in blue.

Tony Mort (Morty).
FollowupID: 613588

Reply By: Angler - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:32

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:32
May be worth putting something on the following stolen van site.

http://www.goseeaustralia.com.au/stolen.asp

Great van incidentally.

Pooley
AnswerID: 345637

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:37

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 12:37
Hi Angler,

Thanks for the post, I have already listed the van on www.goseeaustralia.com.au (about 2 weeks ago) on the stolen register. I am just blown out of the water how many people are willing to help or offer some great advise,

Cheers Morty.
FollowupID: 613593

Reply By: dale147 - Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 22:33

Friday, Jan 23, 2009 at 22:33
Hi, I'm down in Busselton and most people traveling south will come through here, so I'll have a good look around over the weekend and report it to the police if I see it.

Dale
AnswerID: 345690