Which vehicle question for $16K ? Circa 2000 Prado, Pajero etc

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 10:40
ThreadID: 65396 Views:2924 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
Been looking but cannot seem to get a Turbo Diesel, want a Wagon either Prado or similar. Price will only get me Petrol & I want Auto. Been looking at 98-2000 Prado GXL - Grande etc 3.4 petrol but believe they are thirsty - will have to eventually go LPG. My question is Pajero how thirty is the 6 cylinder circa 2000.
What would be a better buy circa 2000 ? Believe Prado has a longer fuel range ? I even looking at the Terracan ? Even looked at Surfs but scared by parts issues (owned one before - great vehicle though). Looked at 80 Series diesel auto but too many miles & no get up & go.
Cheers Beddo

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 11:18

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 11:18
I just sold a 2001 petrol Jackaroo for a lot less than 16G. You could have fully decked that out with change in your 16G. Seems to be a few of these around for the 10G mark if you look hard privately. Fuel is usual at about 15lt/100km same as most in this vehicle bracket. Power to weight is fan bloody tastic in the Jacks.

If you have your heart set on a diesel the Terracan would make good buying, you would most certainly get a late model one for 16G. Friend of mine sold one last year, 2005 model auto and traded it for about 20G if I remember right.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 345834

Follow Up By: Beddo - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:38

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:38
Jackaroo hey, I know it is an Isuzu but it has a Holden badge, I am a Ford Fan & couldn't do it. My mates would pay me out too much. I have looked for a Terracan but cannot find one in my price range. Thanks Trevor
FollowupID: 613881

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 20:22

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 20:22
Hi Beddo, GM no longer has any stakes in Isuzu so you will be off the hook there. And quest who came in 1st diesel ute in the 2009 Dakar an Isuzu D-Max, out right 11th place. I would sell you one of my MUs but there to good LOL. Hope you find what you want mate cheers.
FollowupID: 613903

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 14:40

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 14:40
Must agree with Trevor, You can get into a good post 2000
Jack for around $12k. Big, strong motor. My 2000 Auto gives
15L/100 towing a C/t, must be driven sedately though. You
leadfoot it & it uses heaps. Have a look on Ebay, plenty there.
cheers........oldbaz.
AnswerID: 345858

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:50

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:50
Yes Baz they are that grunty they are a bit hard to drive economical. Went away on a recent trip, me towing a 4.2 boat loaded to the gunwhales with camping gear for 10 days, and my mate driving a na 3lt hilux loaded up but not towing.He wanted me to go first as he though I would be slow. After 20ks rings me up and asks me to slow down as I am getting away on the hills. lol
I get the best economy using cruise, but do not use it when towing, asking for trouble IMHO.
FollowupID: 613864

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 16:01

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 16:01
G'day Pete, yep must keep under 100 kph for any sort of economy, but it handles it effortlessly at that pace. Mines only the common garden variety so no cruise available & I dont use the
"power button", only makes it change down anyway. That bloke
who got the Jack in your post below got a gift. Mines just turned
over 110 K but is not a daily driver. Wouldnt part with it.
cheers....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 613868

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:42

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:42
If you manage to find a turbo diesel in this price range it will have covered 300000ks plus, ready to have $10000.00 spent on it. New Turbo, new pump new motor soon. Brad that gets on this site sometimes just brought an 03 3.5 Jackwith 26000ks for $17500
The turbo 3lt prado is a great vehicle but avereges 11 to 12/100 while my manual Jack3.5 does 12 to 13/100 on the open road. Auto Jacks are a lot more thirsty by 2l/100 on average.
I am half debating whether to get rid of Sals 93 paj which has 93000ks on it for a late model Jack. But finding one with really low ks is a bit challanging.
AnswerID: 345868

Follow Up By: Beddo - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:46

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:46
Yep the prices are up there for a diesel. I just sold my 05 Hilux D4D dual cab maybe I shouldn't have - wanted a wagon though. The earlier diesel I had in a 95 Surf & 97 Surf which had the intercooler - went to Cape York & Kimberley but parts are hard to chase & electrics an issue if something goes wrong. The head on my 97 Surf went - a typical issue with these & the Prados'. So I'm a little scared of diesels aswell & with fuel prices - gov't won't support an environmentally friendly fuel.
Cheers Beddo
FollowupID: 613885

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:24

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:24
Didnot want to say to much last night in case we got gazumped. lol
Just brought an immaculate 9/03 Jack with 76000ks with roof racks bar, cargo barrier, wool seat covers, side steps and towbar for $14000.00. The vehicle has not got a single scratch, 3 small paint chips and ful;l service history.
FollowupID: 614014

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:26

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:26
Only downside is it is an auto and does not have the get up and go of my manual 98,
FollowupID: 614015

Reply By: MartyB - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:51

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 15:51
Beddo,
What about a TD5 Discovery. I picked up a 2000 Deisel Auto with 136000K for heaps less than your $16k. Fuel econ is around 10l per 100K. Plenty of go and better offroad vehicle than the other vehicles listed.

Marty.
AnswerID: 345870

Follow Up By: Beddo - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:53

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 17:53
Landrover, I've looked but luggage space is an issue with these & parts I believe are a little hard to get in remote areas compared to Tojos. TD5 is the go except there is an issue with a wire from the gearbox back to the computer I believe (my brothers the expert) - oil makes its way up the way to the computer & then *%#@. I will try one though, my brothers is a Series 1 & the Series II has a little more room I believe, so it might be enough.
Cheers Beddo
FollowupID: 613887

Follow Up By: MartyB - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 19:35

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 19:35
Hi Beddo,
I had a petrol Series 1 and now have the diesel Series 2. The series 2 is longer in the boot area but most of the luggage space is still in the height so a set of shelves would give more room. I was not intersted in the Series 1 diesel because I have heard they are gutless. I have not driven one though. I drive the Disco plus a brand new CRD 3 litre patrol for work. The Disco has more go than the Patrol, the Partol has more room than the Disco. The Dsco gets better fuel economy. In my opinion the Disco is nicer to drive. Value for money the Disco wins hands down, a similar vintage Partol would have cost twice what I paid for the Disco.

from Marty
FollowupID: 613897

Follow Up By: Beddo - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:25

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:25
Marty, your right about gutless, my brothers Disco S1 is, I would love the Series 3 diesel disco, they seem like they fly. Patrol & Cruiser bit big I think & I'm not one that believes in towing going bush. From living at Tibooburra for a bit, you take notice of troubles tourists get into. Told my brother not to get a trailer as you will have issues before he went around Oz. He got one with tent on top so he would sleep up away from the Crocs, anyway near Broome after coming up the Tanami a horse ran out in front of him - trailer rolled & no tent anymore - ended up with a dome tent. I'll test drive a Disco, economy looks great.
Cheers Beddo
FollowupID: 613907

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 19:52

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 19:52
Beddo,

You'll be able to pick up a 2004 Terracan V6 for 16 easily with 100KM or less with a bit of factory warranty left. Heaps of power, don't worry about diesel, the premium you will pay isn't warranted given the cost of diesel fuel.

Get it to a good mechanic, check if anything needs fixing, and you've got yourself a great vehicle.

Any other advice you need on them, give me a call BH 03 9706 6527.

AnswerID: 345894

Follow Up By: Beddo - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:28

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:28
Jim, what's the economy like on the Terracan ? What about room for LPG, the Prado with 2 tanks is good in that respect.

Has the Terracan got good seats ?
Cheers Beddo
FollowupID: 613908

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:45

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009 at 21:45
B,

Economy, if you drive like me (drive as it it suits me) expect 16L/100km around town. 15 towing a camper on the highway at any old speed. Once saw 13.8 following a mate who drove for economy, that was twing a 600 kg camper.

LPG? Doughnut Tank where the spare lives is the go. Put the spare on the existing roofrack.

Seats are fine. Very comfy, even more so in the base model than the "Highlander" which had leather.

FollowupID: 613912