Road Condition Speak ??

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 13:12
ThreadID: 65454 Views:3061 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Being a complete novice at 4WDing around our land - I am confused at the following comments in our Road Conditions listing ..

What does HIGH CLEARANCE only mean exactly ??

More particularly does a Jeep Cherokee class as a high clearance vehicle ?

Cheers

Steve
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 13:50

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 13:50
High clearance often refers to a high ridge in the middle of the road between the two wheel tracks. In places these are high enough to prevent non-4WD vehicles travelling or does considerable damage to underbody. If made by large trucks they can stop 4WD also.

Older jeeps would handle high clearance but not sure about the latest models. Clearance is one of the reasons a lot of owners raise the vehicle as well as getting tougher suspension upgrades.

Smooth wheel tracks can have rather large rocks in the centre of the road. If towing, dangling chains can dislodge and throw these rocks everywhere.

Road conditions are very short lived - be prepared to read them yourself and drive appropriately. A high clearance road which has just been graded can have the rocks distributed over the entire width. Rain can completely alter road surface as of course does traffic volume.

Alan
AnswerID: 346162

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 14:02

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 14:02
Thanks Alan ,

Never even considered the ridge between the tracks !!

As I am out on my own most of the time I avoid water jumps , bogs and deep ruts !!

And although the upcoming 7000 Kms is mostly on tar - I need to know about track conditions and terminology as we will be venturing a short way off road for Photos and camps ...

Thanks for the info

Steve
FollowupID: 614133

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 13:53