Buying a Used Patrol - LPG or Diesel ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 14:35
ThreadID: 65490 Views:2163 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
I am sure this has been asked 1000+ times, but I am new to this.

I am looking to buy a GU Patrol (year 2000 onwards) and am wondering what I should look for? ( I am thinking around 220,000 Km I should be OK??). What are the pitfalls with buying used, diesel or lpg or petrol, auto or manual, etc.

Any help would be beneficial.

One of my biggest worries is cost of fuel and diesel. I am seriously considering a petrol/LPG converted model to save $$ on fuel as the price of diesel is still high and not moving. Will be mainly city driving with the odd weekend away and 4x4 trips - what are the pro's and con's of this VS a 3.0 or 4.2L Diesel?

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:06

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:06
Before you compare a 3lt to a 4.2 Patrols do a search on 3lt's.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 346351

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:21

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:21
Personally I wouldn't go a 3lt as I would worry too much. I think the 4.2's are starting to become more expensive as they are more reliable in general.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 346358

Reply By: Chambo - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:31

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 15:31
It all depends what you want to use it for. If you plan on going remote then the deisel 4.2TD is the way to go. If only black top trips then the duel fuel 4.5 is for you.
As far as the cost difference goes between petrol and gas it's not too much. 20-25lt/100 on gas compared to around 13-15l/100 on diesel.
More oil changes on the oiler more fuel in the petrol.
220k is no worries if maintained correctly in either the 4.2 or 4.5. Can't comment on the 3.0 but read, read and read some more.
Hard choice but as said, it all boils down to what you want it for.

Chambo
AnswerID: 346360

Follow Up By: VYT - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 13:37

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 13:37
Thanks Chambo / Robin / NickB.
Your advice is much appreciated. Looks like Diesel is not the one for me and a petrol version, manual, on gas, is the way to go... just have to find a decent one now and off-load the missus' BA Falcon !!
Will be buying the Trading Post and the 4x4 Trader this afternoon to check out the available Patrols.
Cheers. VYT.

FollowupID: 614558

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 16:18

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 16:18
Hi Vyt

You'd be a brave person to buy a 3lt patrol of early 2000 vintage.

Your useage pattern would suggest that there is little reason for getting the 4.2 diesel as its main advantage is as a long distance slow going tourer.

For city driving the petrols have a lot less (around 10db) NVH.

The life cycle cost of the petrol/diesels are similar anyway.

The petrol of that area the, 4500 was a stop gap until the 4800 came along with its bigger brakes and massive power boost.

If you can look at the petrols 4800's which came out in late 2001 and the same car is built today with cosmetic changes.
Get one while the getting is good.

The manual is significantly better on fuel around town just ensure the clutch is ok when looking at models with > 150,000kms.

Gas is up to you - Clearly the lowest running cost option of all for melbourne based cars but I have never put my 4800 on gas as it limits its outback range and also gas needs to be done well as their have been many bad experiences with its use.

AnswerID: 346374

Reply By: nickb - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 17:37
I am on my 2nd 4.5 GU (1st one written off). 1st one was a auto, new one is a manual. New one has a steel roof rack and rear _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and is carrying a bit more weight. Has 240,000km on the clock. It runs fantastic and goes well if its not too loaded unless you have a heavy right foot.

Manuals seem much more responsive than the autos, much more economical as mentioned before. I have a 85L usuable gas tank and 75L sub tank and I can get 700km range if I take it easy and don't go over 100kph. Last tank of gas cost me $34 and I got just over 350km. Just under $10/100km. I get about 23L/100km which seems to be just above average.

In saying that, I went for a play along the beach and up lots of big dunes and I only got 150km out of about 50L of petrol (33L/100km!).

They aren't very powerful considering the size of the motor and aren't the best at towing heavy loads from my experience. They are very reliable and easy to maintain. As someone said, if you can afford it go for the 4.8. More power but the same (if not less) fuel usage.

LPG has its quirks like not being able to fill up at some pumps in the hot weather, can't carry jerries of gas, availability of gas in the bush etc. You also need to find a good gas mechanic to tune it.

I don't have any experience with the diesels, but I know not to touch an early 3.0L diesel. Do some research before you invest in a 3.0L. The 4.5 is the petrol equivalent of the 4.2 diesel regarding reliability.

For everyday driving and weekend trips, I reckon the petrol/gas option is a good one. If you plan on any heavy towing or longer trips I would suggest a diesel.
AnswerID: 346388

Reply By:- Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 19:30

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 19:30
G'day,

You haven't mentioned how much you are willing to spend which will make a difference to your choices. For example I have seen about $10k difference between petrol and diesel variants of the Patrols you are talking about.

I have a 2000 petrol Patrol with 95,000km on the clock and in great nick; I was offered stuff all as a trade when looking at an 05 4.2 diesel for $45k with 125000km.

I am hoping at some point to sell mine as I want to do more remote travel well off the black top for which I really would prefer the diesel.

Got to love the Patrol for its reliability and comfort - good luck

Ev
AnswerID: 346412

Follow Up By: VYT - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 13:30

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 13:30
Thanks for your info. Prob dont want to spend any more than $20K so should b able to get an OK one for that. Cheers !
FollowupID: 614556