Camping in 48° heat!

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 20:58
ThreadID: 65529 Views:4418 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
When yer hot, yer HOT!!!

Every year we take a little break in summer and go to the coast for a few days to a week of doing nothing but beachcombing enjoying the sea. I had checked the weather and saw that 40°C was advised for Wednesday. Yeah, we could handle that for a day, no worries. Hmmmm……. big mistake…lol

Left home early on Tuesday morning early. Slowed down going into the speed limits of the next town and luckily I had my window open as I heard a clunking noise following. I must remember, I must remember, I must remember…….to tighten the wheel-nuts! When I painted the wheels on the trailer I must have forgotten to nip them up…..anyway….no damage.

Down the mountain (Horrocks Pass) and into the Gutta. So while I was there (and SWMBO was in Woolies) I popped down to my friendly tyre dealer to see if he still had some 16 ply tyres left and he said, Yessssss….. buuuutttttt...... the price has gone up. From $155 to $235…..Cheeeezus!!!!! Anyway got him down to $200ea as is, takeaway including tubes and took the last two.

Tailwind all the way to Whyalla, Cowell and Point Gibbon. Hot as hell. My new digital engine temp gauge showed 104.6°C along the way. Found a campsite right on the beach. Oysters and red wine came soon after. Lesson…never drink red wine before putting the tent up!!!

Very quiet spot. An occasional fisherman drove past for access to the beach. Another couple were camped up on the top of the dune in the parking area with their Winnebago. Just us, and the seagulls. No mozzies, no sandflies (too plurry hot for them!).

Wednesday. Haven’t been that hot and uncomfortable ever! Temp hit 48°C. What was amazing is that even the side of the truck that was on the offside of the sun was extremely hot to touch. We spent most of the day in the water in shallow pools. The poor dog tried running on one paw at a time across the 30 metres of sand to the waters edge…lol. She soon learned to run the short distance.

The fridge struggled all day to keep our bottled water cool.

Decided that we would stay one more day. Late at night we had a very short storm with heavy lightning, thunder and rain. This morning a hot north wind was blowing at 6am and we changed our minds and decided to pack up and head for home. T’was a long, hot drive. Had to wait ½ hour and the bottom of Horrocks Pass for the ole engine to cool down. Still managed 106.7°C over the top in 2nd gear. The un-turboed engine is every forgiving and reliable but doesn’t like hills. A trailer on the end of the tug makes matters worse.

Got home at 2pm to find the whole town shut down due a transformer failure somewhere in the ETSA electricity grid(Where is Bonz when you need him?..lol). Luckily our house was still cool enough to have a lie down after all that stress. Power came back on at 5.

Better go and unpack the truck now!

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:06

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:06
Willem,

You pick the best times to go away LOL

We have been enjoying a cool change with top temps of only 32-33 degrees but humidity of 80+%

Bring on the drier winter season.

AnswerID: 346640

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:22

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:22
Hi Willem

While you poor people in SA and those in Victoria have been sweltering, it got almost cold yesterday - drizzle, cold south wind; i even put a jumper on this morning to feed the sheep - me, who doesn't often wear a jumper in winter! So cool weather will make its way across to you soon.

Our power is no better - off for much of the morning yesterday. At least it was cool and it came back on before i needed to run the genny again. Now they tell us cost of power will almost double! WA grid usually breaks down in times of peak supply too. Might need to invest in a bigger genny!

I read a town in northern SA has had storm damage and floods. I think anyone who lives in SA deserves a medal.

AnswerID: 346641

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:26

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:26
Motherhen,

I hope you're right about the cool change coming soon. We are really sweltering and according to forecast no relief before Thursday next week, if then.

The thought of a jumper and a cool breeze is unbelievably enviable!

Viv
FollowupID: 614667

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:11

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:11
Hi Viv - it might melt on the way through SA - their weather follows us by a few days or so, but i don't know if it affects Victoria. I must be so bad there for you; i really hate the heat.

I lit the fire yesterday afternoon (in part to heat the water after the drizzly dull day) and it was so nice to sit by the fire. I have kept it just ticking over to keep the water warm today. Tomorrow is expected to warm up again.

Mh

FollowupID: 614675

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 08:12

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 08:12
talking to a bloke in WA yesterday who said he hadn't seen the sun in 2 days......

we had a cool change come through the other afternoon, temp dropped back to 37........

Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 614726

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 16:32

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 16:32
Hi Mad Cowz

I have kept the fire alight - it is still cool, and too overcast to heat the water. Strange, when just two weeks ago we were sweltering and preparing to defend ourselves should the bushfire reach us. Cool does come eventually. Sure hope you get some relief from the heat wave soon.

How do the cows cope? I imagine milk production would be down.

Mh

FollowupID: 614780

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:25

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:25
Willem

It only got up 45c today in latta town. What are you grizzling about?

Kim
AnswerID: 346643

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:27

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:27
Willem,

Hopefully you can take another sea side break when the weather gets more agreeable.

Viv
AnswerID: 346644

Reply By: autosparky - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:57

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 21:57
i might have another 16 ply tyre at work with 80% tread and i will keep it aside check tommorrow stay cool in the mean time
AnswerID: 346651

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:07

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:07
Spent the day paddling down the Thomson River... nice.... cool.... hot when we got out. Straight to friend's pool....nice cool.... but mid 40s away from the wet.

Just got home... 38 degrees 10.00pm!

A couple more days to come.
AnswerID: 346653

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:38

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 22:38
Hi Willem,

The lads out here at Edinburgh were working in 48º yesterday, and near that again today! Bloody good troopers they are.........

Could be worse though our "trips" to the Middle East we saw 56º in the shade, 66º in the sun, and after that we didn't even bother measuring tarmac temperature!

But you're right, it's boomin' hot.

Oh, and for anyone who dont know how add a "degree" symbol, try this: hold down the ALT Key while typing 0186 !

Matt
AnswerID: 346660

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 04:36

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 04:36
45.7º...hey it worked...but just old 45.7 is quicker
FollowupID: 614717

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 17:59

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 17:59
Too hard to remember, just use the windows character map for fancy stuff >7kŒ¾?.....too easy

FollowupID: 614802

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 23:40

Thursday, Jan 29, 2009 at 23:40
Last year we were in Venus Bay for the first 7 days of the fifteen over 40degrees record. Made a dash for home and still had 8 to go.
Reckon it was hotter in Adelaide than over there as the good old sea breaze would come of the Bight every day about 2 in the afternoon.
Still it's a great spot hot or cold.
Must be something about funerals and the summer, got back last week from one at Wudinna. Third summer funeral in 3 years. Still got some whiting each time!
M.
AnswerID: 346677

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 04:38

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 04:38
whats a funeral got to with catching whiting...hahaha
FollowupID: 614718

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 06:25

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 06:25
nothing wrong with camping in hot weather
- just need the right spots!
AnswerID: 346684

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 08:00

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 08:00
No matter where you go there is always a smart arse just around the corner
FollowupID: 614724

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 09:17

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 09:17
Gday Willem
Gee it must be hard to be retired......

AnswerID: 346701

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 17:53

Friday, Jan 30, 2009 at 17:53
Nice story Willie, very hard camping in those temps and enjoying it, a couple of days at 44 was enough for me a few years ago and we headed for home.

AnswerID: 346767