Who does the cooking when you go camping?

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:32
ThreadID: 65591 Views:3105 Replies:14 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I'm just curious if others also find a wee bit of role reversal going-on when they're camping and if you have views on why this is.

For the record. At home I am the cook most of the time. The Missus is the brains, loves gardening & since I am not good at much but still fair minded, I do most of the chef's duties. This includes breakfast, lunch & dinner and morning & afternoon tea.

When I was a kid I noticed that my Dad would take over at BBQ time and I often wondered about this acceptance that his 'burnt offerings' were in some strange way considered normal practice. After all, he was a lousy cook and never ever seemed to improve.

But I digress, when the Lady in Waiting and her Cook go camping, she suddenly becomes my Dad. Er in the cooking department that is.

Mind you, she's a fine cook. But I have sat there at camp wondering why this is happening. Still and all......if it's happening......why question it eh?

But howz about others? Do you suddenly find your partner cooking AND is he (or she in my case) really up to the task?

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:39

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:39
I will generally cook at home, if I am back from work in time as to all here at home, my cooking is far better than hers :)

Having said that though, she does the most amazing stews and curries, so I generally leave those to her.

When we are camping it is still pretty much the same. I do most of the cooking and will let her do the stews and curries, so not too much changes for us.

Cheers

Richard

My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 347024

Follow Up By: Wayne David - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:54

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:54
RFLundgren (WA) - Mmm interesting.

By the way, that sunset.......amazing!
FollowupID: 615149