Hi can anyone tell me if the ic-40 Uhf would suit our needs.

Hi guys I probably sound a bit blonde but I'm new to this stuff. We are heading to the Cape next year and my concern is no mobile coverage and limited cb coverage. I have a medical condition called lympyodemia in my arm so have to be extremely careful of not getting infection and if I do I need medical treatment quickly. This probably wont happen and I will take all precautions to ensure it doesn't but if it does would I be able to reach say the flying Dr service with an ic-40 UHF CB or not???
Thanks for your advice
Di
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:09

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:09
Di,

You will have to get a HF radio or a Sat Phone UHF will only work for line of sight and depending on where you are and the environmental factors around you might get 20km more if you use repeaters but it's not something you should rely on especially with a medical condition.
AnswerID: 347815

Follow Up By: brent and Di - Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:15

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:15
Thanks for that info thought that might be the case. I think we might hire a Sat phone, I think you can do that. Better be safe than sorry.
Once again thanks for that
FollowupID: 616025

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:16

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:16
. . . and make sure it's an Iridium/Motorola Satphone.

The Globalstar network is currently useless.
FollowupID: 616028

Follow Up By: brent and Di - Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:22

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 12:22
I've just been reading up on the HF Radio that sounds like it might be the go. I like the idea that you can get the air school on that one as well. As we will have 4 rug rats with us.
Di
FollowupID: 616029

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 17:56

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 17:56
Di