crossing the simpson desert for the first time

planing to cross late may .as it is my first time accross any sugestions as to the best route for a first timer .been 4wd for 15years but mostly mud and high country in eastern victoria.have a 2008 d40 turbo deisil auto 2inch lift rear diff lock warn winch. any sugestions on what spars to carry in relation to a d40 [exept the obvious,hoses,belts,patrol,landcruiser,
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 21:25

Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 21:25
Hi Warren
Any trip across the Simpson is rewarding, but the first will get you in, and like other Simpson devotees, will not be your last if you love the red and open country. For a first timer, the most important thing that you must do is drop your tyre pressures. Start around the 18psi mark as a general rule and take it from there. Do a mixture of all tracks, that way you can decide what is your cup of tea. Do not rush the trip, allow a good 4-5 days for the first time, longer if you have the time and want to explore most places and tracks. For a first timer, you would want to take in the Lone Gum and the Knolls.
Take extra fuel and water, and a good height sand flag and sit on channel 10 on the UHF.
Read as much as you can to get a feel of the area before you get there.

Enjoy your first trip and we all look forward to hearing of your fun when you get back.

Cheers

Stephen
Smile like a Crocodile

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 348054

Follow Up By: Member - warren G (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 21:25

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 21:25
thanks for input will take time crossing chees warren
FollowupID: 616450

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 23:11

Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 23:11
Any route is good. QAA, French Line, Knolls, WAA & the Rig Rd makes an interesting diversion.