caravan power leads

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:34
ThreadID: 65885 Views:2687 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Can anyone tell me, with confidence, why a 15m x 15amp power lead has wrinkles (or wriggles) in it about every 15cm? It's about 12 years old , has been used annually and doesn't appear to have any obvious problems. I have had several possible explanations but they have been countered by just as many opposite opiniions.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:46

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:46
As an electrician I can tell you that those "wrinkles" are the wires (inside the outer sheath) that are twisting. Depending on the manufacturer, and how the outer sheath was formed, how often the cable is rolled up etc. will determine how soon, and how and when those wrinkles are formed. Like everything else, including us, nothing lasts forever.
Fred
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 348572

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:56

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:56
How it is rolled up can cause this problem. It should not be rolled up around the hand and elbow. It should be looped on one hand and the twist taken out as it is coiled.
FollowupID: 616767

Follow Up By: discovery099 - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:17

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:17
Absolutely correct Rod.

It is the quickest way to destroy any cable. Eventually the wires will break out of the plug and render the cable useless and even dangerous if high voltage is required.

Any cable will last years if the correct coiling procedure is used.
FollowupID: 616776

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:35

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:35
Hi