Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:04
Member - Lance S (VIC)
G'day guys and gals,
I have finally made a decision and done it.
Booked the Navara in for Friday week for a chip and 2.75" mandrel bend exhaust, dump pipe and high flow cat for $2760.
I was originally quoted by a different installer $2950 and thinking that was a good price, but a bit of ringing around and haggling, i think i have now got a great price.
From my first quote of $3650 to $2760 and lots of others in between, someone was making a hell of a profit.
Can't wait!!!!
cheers,
Lance
Reply By: Skippype - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:25
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:25
Lance
You will be
well pleased with it. I put a DP & 3" into my 79LC ute. What a difference...unbelievable.
Skip
Follow Up By: Gorgeous Gus - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:37
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:37
Skip
I'm just about to buy a DPChip for my 79 Series Trayback, can't afford any exhaust mods at the moment. You seem happy with your result, do I go ahead with the deal?
Gus
Follow Up By: Skippype - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 21:33
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 21:33
Gus
I put the exhaust and the DP chip in at the same time so I am not sure which one gave me the biggest boost. But what ever it did it sure put some extra power under the bonnet. The fuel economy was better as will but not as good as I thought it would be. I find that if I travel at 80km on the dirt the economy is great but once you start going a bit faster it drops off quite quickly.
Skip
Reply By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:59
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:59
Great to hear, iam stil making up my mind on chips, so much confusion only one chance to get it right, i think i have settled on the steinbauer chip, but stil not sure if its the right one for my prado D4D fingers crossed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:18
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:18
Brenton.
I have thought of doing the same to my D4D, or wait for the new model prado & hopefully better engine, due here later this year .
if u do go ahead, keep us informed.
cheers Tom
Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:43
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:43
Sure will Tom, didn't know there was a new model coming out the end of this year do you know what the difference between them is?
Only having the prado for a few months would be reluctant to trade up so early unless they gave me a good insentive. quite happy with the prado power but the extra few GG'S would be great on the big hills, there is no substitute for horse power!!!
Regards Brenton
Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:21
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:21
Brenton
from what i understand, new model will look like a cross between the kluger & L/C 200. there is a photo somewhere on pradopoint.
initially will have the same D4D engine, but ramped up, probably similar to what they have done to the NT Paj. some time later a new engine.
@ this stage, probably oct or nov 09.
cheers Tom
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 07:13
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 07:13
Nice one Lance. Have you considered putting the savings towards the EGT gauge? Another valuable addition especially now you have put the chip in.
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:01
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:01
G'day Mick,
I am getting 2 from the states, an EGT and Boost, both digital thru Auber Instruments, i did speak to Ian from Thermoguard, but unfortunately his egt is to big.
cheers,
Lance
Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 07:55
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 07:55
Just as a matter of interest Lance do you have an intercooler on you motor? Adding more fuel to the mix (how you get the increase in power) will make it run hotter so an intercooler and a EGT gauge (to keep an eye on the temp) are a must.
I went thru the full exercise with my MU, old style diesel no electronics (no chip), first I put a 3 inch exhaust system on it, an air to water intercooler then increased the fuel and boost. I was very impressed with the decrease in normal (OME gauge) temp.
Cheers Bruce.
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:04
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:04
G'day Isuzumu,
No i don't have a intercooler, its a 2004 D22, 3.0lt
I am ordering an EGT and Boost as we speak or type, so to speak or type!!!!!
cheers,
Lance
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:09
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:09
There is another member here who has a 3.0lt D22 and has done an up grade like what you are doing, he must be away as he would have given you good advise on this matter his name is
Ross H Qld might be a good idea to send him an MM very help chap.
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:21
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:21
Bruce,
Thanks for that mate, but yes i have been in contact with
Ross thru MM for the last couple of years, changing stories about our Navara's.
cheers,
Lance
Reply By: wrexed03 - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:44
Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:44
Hi Lance i hope it works out for you. We did my mates Navara over a year ago we didnt use DPCHip in his application he noticed a small gain but nothing major. Exhaust wasnt touched. In the end he wasnt happy with it we removed it and left it standard the supplier tells us that they are tuned pretty much at the optimum.
Hopefully you get a good result.
Its a fair bit of cash your pouring there i hope its worth it.
Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 05:52
Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 05:52
Lance
Good one !
When I put a 2 1/2 " exhaust on the Navara, the difference was incredible. It allows the whole system to breath easier, especially when we put a straight thru "hot dog"muffler. But I remember telling you that when we last caught up.
When you do the upgrade, go get it out on a "Dyno", it will be
well worth the extra $$$. Then again with the boost and egt gauges, why dyno it, as all the info will be there in front of you.
From memory, the Navara rattled up 95kw, at the rear wheels, and no "turbo lag", what so ever. What a difference, my only regret was not installing a chip, as a mate in Leongetha, chipped his Navara, and it had great power, right across the rev range. Whilst "on the foxes" one night, in his Navara, he took that vehicle into some incredible steep
places, and used the extra power and torque, to climb back out, with ease. Actually scared the "be-jesus" out of me.
What $$$ did the EGT cost you ?
Cheers Mate