Plastic taste of water

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:33
ThreadID: 65914 Views:3195 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Hadn't used the CT for a few months so before going out the other weekend I flushed out the water tank with fresh water before refilling it. Used a food grade hose, the tank itself is plastic. Great weekend but the water had that horrible plastic taste. We were away for 3 months last year and we didn't notice it after the first couple of fill ups - did we just get used to it?

Any ideas on how to get rid of the taint?

Thommo

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:47

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:47
I use Bi Card Soda in mine.

Fill the tank about haf full. Mix up about 500 grams Bicard in a bucket of water and add that to the tank. Then fill it chockers.

Leave it soak overnight then drain and flush it a couple of times.

There are other suggestions on the site here somewhere. Others have used Chlorine Bleach etc.
AnswerID: 348743

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:48

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:48
Meant Bi-Carb. Must be the spell checker
FollowupID: 616981

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:07

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:07
GHThommo
Food Grade hose is not the correct hose it does not stop the chlorine burning the plastic it has to be potable water hose Blue in colour
Terry
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 348747

Follow Up By: GHThommo - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:02

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:02
Thanks Terry,

Did use a blue hose - thought they were food grade. Is it the chlorine that reacts with the plastic that gives it the taint? Launceston water, although chlorinated, does not taste or smell of chlorine.

Thommo
FollowupID: 617014

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 22:29

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 22:29
Not all blue drinkingwater hose is the same either.
The Pope brand hose taints the water badly. The Nylex brand braided blue hose is excellent.
FollowupID: 617319

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:51

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:51
buy some Tankkleena from a camping or Caravan store and follow instructions.
Works in mine after being empty for 8 months
AnswerID: 348756

Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:22

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 18:22
we had the same issue with the camper when the tanks were new. we used tankclean in them 3 times and then had to leave it in longer than overnight .. then kept the tanks full for 1 week periods and did that 3 times.... finally all the plastic taste is gone.....

Bryan
AnswerID: 348762

Follow Up By: GHThommo - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:03

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 19:03
Thanks Graham and Bryan.

Will try tankclean.

Thommo
FollowupID: 617015

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 20:21

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 20:21
Gday Thommo
All I did with my tank was to put a few drops of lemon concentrate in the water. We have never had a plastic taste
Murray

AnswerID: 348778

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:13

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:13
One thing I would check is the plastic pipes used from the water tank to taps as they are sometimes el cheapo's. I had a van once that I couldn't get rid of the tast of plastic until I changed those pipes...no probs after that

AnswerID: 348834

Reply By: unko - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:54

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:54
a cheap way is to mix vinagar with water (Fill the mixture to the top of the tanks) leave overnight drain. Repeat if Req. A friend told me thats what the army does.
AnswerID: 348842

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:59

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:59
In what concentration?
FollowupID: 617094

Follow Up By: unko - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 15:59

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 15:59
for a 2L camelback i used about 200ml left overnight.
FollowupID: 617933

Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 12:02

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 12:02
I had this problem with a brand-new tank and appropriate blue hoses.

It nearly drove me nuts until after a process of elimination and wasting quite a bit of water, the culprit was a cheap Bunnings click-on connector joining the supply tap to the fill hose.

Yep, one small component managed to taint all 57L of water in the tank as it was being filled - not once, but several times.

The remedy: a connector costing about $2 more than the cheapie.
AnswerID: 348844

Follow Up By: GHThommo - Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 15:48

Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 15:48
Thanks Nic,

I checked the hose and connection and no plastic taint, so what is going into the tank is OK. Now need to start looking at the tank and its connections.

Thommo
FollowupID: 617431

Reply By: GHThommo - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 19:42

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 19:42
Thank you for all your input.

I'll start by checking the connections and if necessary look at your suggestions for adding things to water.

I'll let you know how we get on.

Thommo
AnswerID: 348918

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 18:24

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 18:24
I don't know about others but I find all this buggering about with bi-carb/bleach/tankclean and rinsing out 3 times too much, well, buggering about. In recent times I've taken one or two 15L flagons of water from the supermarket for drinking/cooking, depending on how long away from "civilization" and we use all the van tankwater for washing up and showering. Bloke down the road has a Motorhome and does the same.

(Oh alright- it was his idea).

AnswerID: 349697

Follow Up By: GHThommo - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:29

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:29
Steve,

Did the same thing on our travels last year when we got into bore water country. But I have this thing about having to pay for water especially when at one place it was $13 for 10L. If I have tank problems again I'll make sure I only buy at major towns.

Thommo
FollowupID: 617997

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:04

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:04
Hi Tommo,

We've never had to take a lot of drinking water as a long term thing cos we're still working and don't have a long term thing. But we've taken at most, 2 x 15L flagons @ $7.50 which last us (2adults+2 kids) either the duration or until we get to another supermarket

Going to the high country for the first time after Easter and hoping we can get by on fresh water from the river/creek, but we'll take some just in case.

I suppose when you're running a business and running around after kids, time is at a bit of a premium. If I had the time, I'd clean the tank. I suppose it comes down to what suits.
AnswerID: 349722