Help! Mould on car upholstery!

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 12:00
ThreadID: 65970 Views:5136 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hi everyone

I had my landcruiser in the garage for some 3 weeks with all the rains/floods here and was flat out at work with the work ute. Today I jumped in the cruiser to go for a drive and - YUK - mould on nearly everything: cloth seats, console, seatbelts, even plastic door linings! (poverty pack 105 series)

I plan to use the vacuum and some "sanatize" disinfectant - any better ideas please?

Ted

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 12:35

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 12:35
Maybe a weak bleach solution? (don't use on seat belts, warm soapy water only)

AnswerID: 349020

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:36

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:36
Scared my upholstery will look like designer furniture ... or that black and white breed of cows...
FollowupID: 617284

Reply By: Rolly - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 13:38

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 13:38
If you can stand the smell, a quarter of a teaspoon of oil of cloves in a litre of water (*Absolutely* NO stronger as it becomes ineffective at higher concentrations - just smells more) used in a spray bottle will kill of any mould, spores and all.
The smell will decrease slowly but there will always be a hint of it remaining.
I am allergic to moulds and this has been a lifesaver for me.
I miss my gorgonzola still :-(
AnswerID: 349022

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:37

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:37
Thanks! I heard that from a few people round the place, seems to work. Never smelled the stuff though, may be a good idea before applying!
FollowupID: 617285

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 13:39

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 13:39
Try a vinegar/water solution - apparently vinegar will kill the mould spores - whereas if you just vaccuum the spores are left behind and will grow again - quite strong on the vinegar I reckon. There is a product you can get from camping stores - but I would think the vinegar is cheaper for such a large area, and work as effectively. Will need to dry it out thoroughly, apply vinegar solution, rubbing in quite well, then will need to use water and cloth to go over it.
jules
AnswerID: 349023

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:35

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:35
The big problem is drying at this time of the year :-( I bought one of those damp-rid packs and will leave it in the car...
FollowupID: 617283

Reply By: a convict - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 16:58

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 16:58
..works for me,

..50 / 50 mix, Solyptol + tap water, safe, smells good too.

AnswerID: 349045

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:33

Saturday, Feb 14, 2009 at 18:33
Thanks for that, may well work: Solyptol soap contains Triclosan, which is a biocide which also leaves some residue following usual application. I might give it a try, thanks!
FollowupID: 617282

Reply By: nomadoz - Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 07:46

Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 07:46
Mould needs food to grow, its food is dirt and water, = humidity, yes, even from a sweaty finger is enough to feed mould in the tropic

AnswerID: 349112

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 22:21

Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 22:21
He he, I figured that out: most mould was on centre console (sweaty arms, drinkholders?) and where my 6yo son sits in the back!
FollowupID: 617527

Reply By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 09:05

Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 09:05
Coming from NQ (the land of mould) I have found a product from Woolies called Mc Clintocks vanilla fresh. Works a treat if you don't mind the vanilla smell.

Craig
AnswerID: 349130