Trip/Gathering WA - 2010 National Gathering

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 13:10
ThreadID: 66045 Views:3961 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Dates: 28/06/2010 to 02/07/2010
Name: WA - 2010 National Gathering
Description:
The 2010 National Gathering is being held in Western Australia and we are thrilled to advise the venue will be the Gunbarrel Laager Travelers Rest (just outside of Wiluna township). Information about the host venue can be found in our Directory.

Wiluna is adequately serviced to enable a full restock of supplies from the Gunbarrel Groceries store/servo and the Gunbarrel Laager is a suitable quiet spot to rest and recouperate ready for the next leg of your journey.

This Gathering has the interest and support of the Wiluna Shire Council who are keen to organise a number of local activities for us such as traditional damper making by Aboriginal people from the town and a display of their art from the Tjukurba Gallery, both to be held out at the Laager. The Shire has just appointed a Tourism Officer who is lending a hand to ensuring we have a really great visit so these dates have been suggested to tie in with the the council, the host venue, the peak travel season for the region and falls either within/or week before most states July school holidays. We may not have official activities through the full 5 days but this is the week in which we aim to hold the gathering - the official activities will probably be held on 3 days and the days either side give leeway for people arriving/departing so with a more casual theme.

Some other ideas for activities/games during the gathering we've talked about are:
* The EO Amazing Race - vehicle based Wiluna version with questions, clues, roadblocks, and riddles to solve in and around the Wiluna shire region.
* A special takehome gift/activity for every participant (1 per vehicle) curtesy of ExplorOz (this is a secret project so sorry no more clues).

Due to the remoteness of this location it is anticipated that attendees with school age children would need to consider taking a much longer break than school holidays would allow so having the gathering start near end of term was considered the best compromise. See our Holiday Dates page for details of when holidays fall in your state.

This location may be for some the turn-around and rest point after a big trip - and it is anticipated that a number of ExplorOz convoys may be co-ordinated across the major routes if people are interested in joining up with others en-route to Wiluna.
There are many routes that can be designed depending on where you're coming from and your time available. These could be: Plenty Highway,Simpson Desert, Gunbarrel Highway, or Corner Country, Oodnadatta Track, or Anne Beadell Highway, and maybe even part of the Connie Sue Highway.

After the Gathering, it is also anticipated that some travellers will want to continue touring, say the Canning Stock Route. We can use this page, the Forum, and Member Messaging to discuss this further as we get closer to the date.

Sir Kev (Qld), Gone Bush (WA) and ourselves (WA) are your "organising committee!" so we've got a great team putting together a fun-filled gathering. There will be more updates throughout the year but as it's a big/long trip to reach Wiluna no matter where you're coming from we hope you'll start planning now and come and join in the fun!

View or register for this Trip/Gathering
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 13:59

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 13:59
We've intentionally kept the Trips/Gatherings auto-posts (like this one) open for the purpose of asking questions if you are not quite ready to put your name on the Attendees List yet. If you do want to attend, still please take the link to the gathering page and use the attendee section to put your name down.
Thanks Michelle (MM)

AnswerID: 349478

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 14:08

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 14:08
I'll get some dates together and organise a couple more trips to and from.

I will probably do the Plenty Highway then the Gunbarrel Highway to head west.

I am also thinking about returning back along the Gunbarrel Highway and then do a West - East Crossing of the Simpson.

I'll have the trailer in tow as well.

AnswerID: 349479

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 16:00

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 16:00
Hey Kev
What would be the best Caravan Friendly route to get there from
the Gold Coast?

Daza
FollowupID: 617774

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:35

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:35
Do you want all black top or some dirt road??

FollowupID: 617782

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:27

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:27
Hi Kev

The Cook is keen to go, so we are thinking about going to
Kangaroo Island to see the outlaws, and then heading over to the west for a couple of months or so, it's amazing how you can make a plan up at short notice if you have a good excuse, we have been to WA before in the late Eighties so looking forward to see the
change that has taken place,

So thanks for the follow up,
FollowupID: 617824

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 14:43

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 14:43
Yay hopefully I won't have anything planned for me next year at this time.

AnswerID: 349485

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 15:13

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 15:13
Make sure your divorce is finalised on the 27-6-2010.

Cant see any problem then....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 617767

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:55

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:55
Ha ha just because she won't let me do the Nannup Easter WA Gathering trip, because of her Birthday.

Already sussed out timing with the one of my staff who frequents this site every lunchtime and he said he's not looking at leave at this time. So looks like just a case of convincing SWMBO that we MUST go to Wiluna in June 2010!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 617829

Reply By: toyotabits.com - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:19

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:19
G'day all, does anyone have the co ordinates for this venue? thanks, aussiedingo
AnswerID: 349511

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:45

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 17:45
Look Here

FollowupID: 617785

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 12:59

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 12:59
I have just updated the Directory information to include a GPS position that is right at the gate of the property. I have also changed the directory system to show the position in text on the screen and also the map you can change the layers to show satellite etc open up the little blue widget in the map.

See Gunbarrel Laager - for the update. Enjoy.
DM

FollowupID: 617901

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:37

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:37
goodday guys
is there a caravan friendly way in ??????

AnswerID: 349548

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:57

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:57
Steve would suggest a relatively easy run into Wiluna if you stick to the Gt Central Rd or the black top via the Southern route.

FollowupID: 617830

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:08

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:08
Caravan or Missan friendly Steve hahahaha

It would be good to see if the Gunbarrel would be suitable for the trip across.

Will you be back from Tassie by then??

FollowupID: 618547

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:56

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:56
Can we take a DOG?
AnswerID: 349561

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:59

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:59
Of there web site "Well behaved touring dogs on leash accepted by prior arrangement"

So to you all be prepared I ? we may be there >>> LOL

Richard, Robyn and Benny
FollowupID: 617841

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:59

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 21:59
Good question Richard - We will have to check that one out, we may want to take ours. We will let you know when we have checked.
DM

FollowupID: 617842

Follow Up By: Member - John L (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:08

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:08
Love Wiluna & the old timers stories. Beware the frost & the ice on the dogs water overnight! Maybe my friend Gail - Yamatgi nurse, magistrate & just about everything else can give us a tour of cemetery that she helped restore. The last of the desert nomads are buried there. Heather
FollowupID: 617873

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:10

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:10
Richard,

Our mutt will stay at the babysitters for this trip..........it will be long enough with the 2 kids without having to keep an eye on the dog as well.

FollowupID: 618548

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:40

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:40
Kev, our mutt is our child she 14 years old and has been on evey trip so far.

FollowupID: 618578

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:46

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:46
Ours is still in training mode, 5 months old and still a bit disobedient, still Wiluna is over 12 months away so she should be fully trained by then.

FollowupID: 618580

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:55

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:55
this may have just set the scene for next years major trip.
am thinking a trip across via Ann Beadell Highway to get to the gathering then a post gathering trip up the CSR .
anyone else from se australia interested?
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 349839

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:17

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:17
I'm in Mildura,
Cheers ,Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 618606

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:35

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:35
Michelle,

Seeing as the locals are going to display their art etc, can we approach them to run a small class for the kids, so they can be shown how they create their art work??

AnswerID: 350615

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:33

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:33
That's an excellent suggestion - I am going up for a famil in April and will raise it with them.

Please - any similar suggestions or questions you'd like me to ask let me know asap.

MM

FollowupID: 619070