Plenty Highway

What is the general consensus for taking Off road caravans across the Plenty Highway??

As part of my trip across to Wiluna next year I will probably go via the Plenty and want to list it as an EO Trip/Gathering for those East Coasters who want to tag along.

Thoughts please.................... I haven't done the Plenty as yet and I'll be towing my HD off road trailer across as well.

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:15

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:15
The Plenty is a good outback highway and you will have no problems. May get a bit rough in places but nothing driving at the right speed will not fix. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 349531

Reply By: philip t jones - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:16

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:16
Sir kev

I have towed a Jayco outback and a Supreme getaway across the plenty with with no Problems, the Jayco was after rain and the road was crook but no real problems in fact it was good fun, ive also done the sandover with the supreme.

Philo
AnswerID: 349532

Reply By: Gramps - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:17

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:17
Kev,

Suggest you use one of this site's features. The Plenty Hwy is the subject of more posts than you can poke a stick at.

AnswerID: 349534

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:26

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:26
Gramps,

Been there, and read the trek notes etc.

I know my trailer will make it, just want to be able to confidently answer some enquiries from others who may wish to tag along that have off road caravans and not campers :)

FollowupID: 617804

Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:30

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:30
Careful Kev. Don't set yourself up for recriminations later on.

FollowupID: 617808

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:34

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 19:34
A simple referral to this post will all I be suggesting. The owners/attendee's will be required to make the decision that best suits them, and not me ;)

FollowupID: 617811

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:25

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 20:25
Gday Kev,
Like others have said...the Plenty is just a typical dirt road around here.
Some times worse than others but generally not a bad road. Check the conditions before you go obviously but its just another dirt road.
If Im still here around then let me know and Ill give you an up to date opinion...youll have to call in too..

AnswerID: 349547

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 22:10

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2009 at 22:10
Better make sure the fridge is stocked up then hahahaha

cheers Kev

FollowupID: 617844

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:26

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:26
It usually is!!!!
FollowupID: 617940

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 05:03

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 05:03
Kev
Its a fairly easy run, just the odd rough spot.
Just let ALL your tyres down a little to smooth out a few things.
Some of the corrugations, will drive you nuts, but that depends where the graders are or have been.

AnswerID: 349583

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:31

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:31
Bucky,

I have probably travelled the equilalent of the Plenty around here in the work ute LOL

I think it will be easier than the Gunbarrel. I was tempted to do an East - West crossing of the Simpson Desert but don't like what I have read about the East - West being harder than the reverse especially with the trailer in tow.

FollowupID: 617863

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 18:43

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 18:43
Kev

Did it from Birdsville to Dalhouisie, in 2005, (I think) and it as as easy as..
But in saying that the Simpson was just opened, after rain.

Went back to Big Red, and Birdsville in 2006, and took SWMBO, just to show her just how good the Simpson was, (or at least the start of it)..
It was ridiculously dry, but got up Big Red first try...
Much to Laura's disgust.... hehehehe just rubbing it in, in case she reads this post.
Have heard that there are "drop off's", mainly because of the high winds, and that can be dangerous.. May pay to keep up the dialogue with all on the forum, for latest updates..

FollowupID: 617989

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:05

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:05
No drama if you drive at an appropriate speed.

However, even if you slow to 20 kph, an idiot approaching at 100 kph plus will shower you with crushed terrain and break any forward facing glass.

AnswerID: 349602

Reply By: ozhank53 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 18:58

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 18:58
I came across to east in late september - it had been graded and was generally in good condition. The worst is the QLD side, with bulldust holes that arrive very quickly - adjust driving speed to suit. They grade the road each side of Hart's Range for the sports weekend, and then again just after (that's what they've done the last 2 years anyway), and then continue on out to the border.
AnswerID: 350829