Nissan 4.2 td (ex telstra)

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 00:55
ThreadID: 66154 Views:4246 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
Evening all, Has anyone got one of the above vehicles that they use for towing a heavy boat or caravan 2t +. I am looking for a combined work/recreational vehicle and have driven the V8 diesel landcruiser trayback with a heavy trailer attached and it has serious grunt. I know that the Nissan does not have the same amount of torque. Ideally I would like to borrow one of the Nissan's from a dealer to use for a couple of days to see how it goes but that is not going to happen so I need some feedback from any owners.

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 10:29

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 10:29
Hiya

From what ive read about the Nissan 3.0l i'd steer clear from them,People have suggested from previous threads that the 4.2 is a winner as far as towing is concerned..Although the v8 Landcruiser what can you say (maybe you were in heaven for that short time lol)

Goodluck

AnswerID: 350216

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:44

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:44
G'day, Warfer.
I tow a 3T Off road van with a 4.2TD with no problems.
I fitted a 3" Tipan exhaust and the difference is unbelievable, it allows the the turbo to work properly.
Highly recommended.

niss42
AnswerID: 350271

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 10:52

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 10:52

I have spoken to Telstra employees and they love the Nissan 4.2TD. They do some fairly tough driving with them in the top end and find them very reliable.

I also have one and it is great. I tow a camper trailer and on the highway get 15L/100km whilst towing.

I have driven the new 75 Landcruiser with the V8. Heaps of power but the seats were very uncomfortable for me. The seats are designed for people a lot smaller than me.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 350368

Reply By: stumbly - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 00:37

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 00:37
mark, I own a patrol 4.2td and also use the new 4.5 td cruisers at work in the pilbara.
the new cruisers have bucket loads of grunt - but the nissan 4.2td is tried and proven and easy to work on. I used to tow a 2t boat with it no worries but a bit slow up hill.
horses for courses cob - big money for the power, or cheaper and a bit less power but proven longevity (not saying there is a problem with the lc's)

cheers, Keith
AnswerID: 350521

Reply By: mowing - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 23:28

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 23:28
Thanks very much everyone for your reply. Much appreciated.
AnswerID: 351440