ULP jumps through the roof.

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:58
ThreadID: 66172 Views:3113 Replies:12 FollowUps:20
Yesterday morning I watched The Today program and there was a story about the huge price jump in Unleaded petrol.
Most servo's now sell ULP at about 5 cents a liter less than diesel. My local shop/servo is selling ULP for $122.9 compared to diesel at $124.9.
The NRMA's President Ms Wendy Machin waffled on about why ULP had jumped so much. Sorry I don't have a link for those that missed it. Anyway, she was really struggling for answers, and she did not sound convincing at all. One comment she made that got up my nose was, "Motorists really did have a good Christmas didn't hey with petrol prices"
One thing that came to mind, was all those that were questioning the ownership of a diesel vehicle because at that time there was 30 cents a liter difference.
Hmm, how quickly things change.

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:13

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:13
Jon,

Coming home through Gayndah yesterday the price of Diesel was 112.9cpl and unleaded was around 115.9cpl. First time I've seen it below for quite a while....

Today here in Maryborough Qld, one of the servos had ULP cheaper than Diesel but Diesel was around 125cpl.

Can't seem to fathom the justification of such vast differences in the price, especially between country and city. Usually it is the other way around with the country being more expensive. Not knocking it though as the people out there need a bit of a break.

AnswerID: 350292

Reply By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:19

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:19
Up the road in Picnic Point (Sydney) just now - at two servos, ULP and Diesel BOTH $1.219. Will be interesting to see if Diesel follows petrol up again or stays lower for a while.
AnswerID: 350295

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:21

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:21
Not the issue down here in Vic it was $1.18.9 (Diesel) and $1.34.9 for Unleaded early this week...

AnswerID: 350296

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:33

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:33
Is there an explanation for this price difference that actually makes sense to us layman.?
I know people who have spoken about a 20 cent price jump (ULP) between going to work and going back home again as they go past servo's in Sydney.
Must of been a pretty easy couple of months for the Price commissioner and motoring organizations. ^O^

FollowupID: 618590

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:46

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:46
Is there an explanation for this price difference that actually makes sense to us layman.?

Hiya Hairs

Ive always questioned why cars cannot run on Compressed air efficiently...Low and be hold i was watch telly a few weeks back and a company in Britain is looking into it and they reckon they'll put little econovans as well as cars out late next year.

Oh that's if the thieving Oil Companies don't buy them out first...

FollowupID: 618591

Follow Up By: marcus - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:12

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:12
Such a price increase is very hard to take when the price per barrel is around $37.Someone is making heaps out of us and the two big profiteers would have to be the oil companies and the Govt.
FollowupID: 618597

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:17

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:17
Wash you mouth out,
They wouldn't do that, would they? (insert sarcasm )

Another idea was the Rotary engine thingy. Saw it on the New Inventor about 15 or more years ago.
And that's as far as it got.

Some where I read that oil companies are storing their oil in super tankers, just waiting for higher prices to come again.

What cracks me up is the Greenie/Tree huggers crapping on about electric cars. Well Hello! where do you get you power from to charge your batteries?
That's right Coal fired power stations that already struggle to keep up with demand.
Hmm that's a great idea, not

FollowupID: 618598

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:32

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:32
Hairs & Fysh Are you sure about this "Another idea was the Rotary engine thingy. Saw it on the New Inventor about 15 or more years ago". As you know I am sure, Mazda have had Rotary for years, I drove one back in the 80s and they are very fuel hungry. Maybee you might mean another type of engine? Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 618680

Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:25

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:25
Tony I think they are refering to the Orbital engine (Ralph Sarich (spelling)) not the rotary
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

FollowupID: 618754

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:30

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:30
I put up a post about this a couple of weeks ago, the thought was that because the oil companies where not selling enough diesel they would increase the price of ulp.
But how come Caltex has run at a 58% lose in the last 6 months, or what ever, these basta'''d could not lie straight in bed. This I believe is why the price is still high even thought the barrel price is very low. Cooking the books I call it.

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 350307

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:46

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:46
And that's why Dubai looks like this.
FollowupID: 618600

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:49

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:49
hahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 618602

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:53

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:53
Isuzumu!!Caltex works on 1 cent a litre nett profit per litre, it wouldnt take much to go backwards !! Michael

FollowupID: 618603

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:19

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:19
You must have a lot of shares in Caltex if you believe that Michael hahahaha, and I thought it was the retailers that only made 1 cent per litre. Just worked out who to blame the Gov probably making $1.00 a litre, but really they are making a least 30 to 40 cents to much also.
Back when oil was around $40 a barrel, probably the early 90's fuel was around 40 to 50 cents a litre. Now ask Mr Caltex what they have done with all their profits if it was not so serious I would sh't myself laughing.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 618607

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:05

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:05
top post Hairs.

Below 40/barrel now as opposed to 140 last year

Is fuel 30% of what it was then? If it was, we'd be paying 60c p/liter

I really wish they'd come up with an alternative before they finally feather their nests.
FollowupID: 618622

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:31

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:31
Now ask Mr Caltex what they have done with all their profits if it was not so serious I would sh't myself laughing.

G'day Bruce,

Mate, That's probably not a good idea. Annie might then string you up by your ears on the clothes line and hose you off. And you wouldn't want sore ears would ya........

They are a pack of mongrels that's for sure, and probably storing their cash on the same tanker they are probably storing their oil on....

FollowupID: 618630

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:58

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:58
isuzumu, I did say fuel, they make money out of many other products from crude oil. I have a nephew in Caltex, that what he tells me, If you can give me a first hand profit margin from caltex fuel, hang it on me.. Michael

FollowupID: 618634

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:53

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:53
Hi Jon.
Last weekend in Brissy diesel was 109c a lt.Tweed price now 113.9,unleaded 124.9.
Vince
AnswerID: 350311

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:58

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:58
Hi Vince,
That's the thing we down get, the price is all over the place. Not just by a couple of cents, it can be by 20 cents or more, from across the road to within a couple of hours.
Worse than a Yo Yo.

FollowupID: 618604

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:28

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:28
yep, dunno about today but last check on Friday diesel was $1.08 at cheapest place and ULP $1.25 at most expensive place. At those figures if it continues trends it won't be long until I urge the wife to take out the diesel hilux and leave home the petrol yota echo.
FollowupID: 618640

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 06:33

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 06:33
The government should allow more cars into the country like

THESE

There's a good range of 2008/2009 models on the market in Japan and Europe. that's all people should need just to go to work in the City or large country Cities.

AnswerID: 350340

Follow Up By: Ray - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 08:56

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 08:56
I remember those "bubble cars" just after WWII. They were cheap to run but very unstable on icy roads and there was also the fear of being run over by a truck. If I remember correctly there was the Messersmit, the Hienkel and the Trojan and all could be driven on a motor cycle license.
FollowupID: 618659

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:51

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:51
The govt Doug? I am sure that they'd sell like hot cakes - maybe even handle the same :0)

FollowupID: 618664

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:57

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:57
ALL POWER TO THE CONSUMER

If consumers only realised that it is they who have 'the power'.

For example, if the price is high, don't fill your tank, just put in $20 worth or enough to last you until the next discount cycle.

ALWAYS buy/refill when the prices are at their lowest - during the discount cycle.

If enough consumers decided to boycott an oil company and not buy any fuel from them for a week, the prices would suddenly drop and would continue to stay lower whilst conumers took such actions.

ALWAYS support the service station that consistently offers the lowest prices. (It's mind blowing to see the number of motorists that will purchase fuel at a servo when the neighbouring one has a lower price).

If you feel guilty about not supporting the independent, then ask yourself why? Perhaps it's because their prices are always higher after all aren't you always seeking out the lowest price in order to minimise the running costs of your vehicle.

The oil companies are playing games with motorists in the way they constantly play around with pricing. Play them at their game and ONLY purchase fuels when at the lowest of the discount cycle. Anything else and you deserve to be ripped off by them. Happy motoring.
AnswerID: 350365

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:27

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:27
ha - couldn't agree more mate. That's exactly what I do. If I suddenly find I need to fill up when prices are high, it's just a $20 top-up
FollowupID: 618677

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:31

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:31
on the supermarket/coupons issue: a funny thing has happened locally. A new Franklins opened and we stopped shopping at Coles as Franklins were clearly cheaper. This gave us more freedom to choose fuel supplier and we often but not always found the ones who didn't have a coupon scheme were 4/6c cheaper anyway. But then Franklins decided they'd got a foot in the door of the local grocery market and put their prices up, whilst Coles put their's down due to the competition. Ah well, back to Coles and coupons.

:))
AnswerID: 350373

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:50

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:50
In the above post/reply I mentioned Micro cars , so I have been dabbling about here with my photo collection and put up for you to have a peek at.

20 Micro Cars

AnswerID: 350376

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:47

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:47
Yes Doug these are the way to go. We all complain about fuel and running costs but still drive big cars with one person in it to work. Little cars are cheaper to buy cheaper to rego cheaper on tyres because there lighter easy to park less time going to the fuel station.......are... can't have that not good business. Cars today are made of, at a guess, 70% of oil based product. compare your little cars to my 100 series.... umm can't have that not good business. Car parking buildings can be smaller less pot holes on the road to be maintained....are, hang on that's less GST, CAN'T HAVE THAT BAD ECONOMICS.
FollowupID: 618698

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:46

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:46
Noel
G'day from the Mt Bundy ASIO, Potholes.....you hide the little ones in them, and the park stations get twice as many in.

FollowupID: 618711

Reply By: gbdid - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:42

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:42
Its got nothing to do with the price of oil , its to do with the price of petrol and diesel in Singapore and for a couple of weeks the price of petrol there has gone up and now back down. I did read somewhere that the refiners ( asian refiners I presume) were taking the opportunity to increase their refinery margiins. Anyway if you look at this site all is explaiined by the graph.
Both petrol and diesel will be cheaper soon.
I thiink!
NRMA should have known what is going on. I would love to make a comment about the NRMA since the changes in the voting for positions on the executive, but will resist the temptation.
Here is the link.
http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/marketwatch.htm
AnswerID: 350388

Reply By: robertbruce - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:36

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:36
Dubai must be dubious about global warming to build like they have...
AnswerID: 350393

Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 20:21

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 20:21
Bought ULP for $1.08 CPL this morning at Safeway servo in Kangaroo Flat.(Bendigo)
AnswerID: 350483