Engine Oils!, 0w,5w, 10w,15w, 20w,X 30, 40, 50,60,??

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 20:33
ThreadID: 66176 Views:4306 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Semi synthetic, full sythetic, and its changing as i speak!!

Ask any oil supplier to guarantee the best oil for your whatever motor and it would be without some sort of not so sure answer i bet! . Everybody has their own opinion and usually go on their own experiences, whats best, but i do think its starting to be a sales thing other than the absolute best thing for your particular motor. Just reading different researches this arvo and its a real concern now what additives suit which engines!, it can have diabolical results down the track if not suited,

Just my thoughts, & observation.

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:37

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:37
Yep my sentiments exactly! i have recently gone to Caltex Delo 400 15w/40 for the diesel cruiser, appears to be a good oil, also it is J spec for the jap diesels. for lateish model petrol engines i use repco 10w/40 semi synth ( it is the same as mobil S or S2000 ) with no blending. as it is a few dollars cheaper per 5l pack to buy,but i buy 20ltr drums because our adventra uses 7.5ltrs per service and i service my olds Calais also so it goes quick. it is a very good oil also, the old VP we had on gas ran most of its life on it and at 350k it was still running like a clock and was not rattly at all. so its horses for courses, most oils now days are very good so you cant go to far wrong.
AnswerID: 350319

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:46

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:46
if you are looking for an oil for the rebuilt cruiser i would say the 10w/40 semi synth mobil or repco will be more than sufficient.
FollowupID: 618617

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:56

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:56
Thanks mate!, thats what i'm thinking!..lol.

Stories travel fast on these Forums!!!...LOL.

FollowupID: 618620

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:12

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:12
Paul,
Delo 400 15w/40 is a good oil, I accidentally ran it in my 6.5 chev diesel and it started to use oil, went back to Delo 500 15w/40 and all was good again. As you say horses for courses.

It's like putting a top quality series 3 oil in a 2 stroke Detroit, you will burn heaps.

Axle lots of top quality oils out there just ring the oil producers and they will put you onto the right oil.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 618625

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:54

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:54
***Yep my sentiments exactly! i have recently gone to Caltex Delo 400 15w/40 for the diesel cruiser***

Hiya Paul

Ive been using the Penrite 15w/50 in my Diesel Hilux its hit the 190k now...Used it for about a year without any probs !

FollowupID: 618633

Follow Up By: Rex.- Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:42

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:42
I've been using Penrite HPR diesel 15. 15W_50. in my standard 80 series since I bought it when it had 104000ks on it.
Now it's just over 500000 ks and still doesn't use any oil between services. I change both oil and filter every 5000km.
I've just bought a Suzuki Vitara diesel and hopefully there will be a Penrite oil that will be suitable for that.
cheers.
Rex
FollowupID: 618683

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 14:29

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 14:29
***Now it's just over 500000 ks and still doesn't use any oil between services. I change both oil and filter every 5000km. ***

Hiya Rexie

Yep i find the same with the Hilux and change every 5k too..

FollowupID: 618870

Reply By: howesy - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:17

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:17
I saw a test studies done on synthetic and semi synthetic oils for petrol engines and they did all sorts of things like excessive heat to see the breakdown point and a heap of other wear type tests. If I remeber rightly the brand Purple that most high performance guys like came up trumps but is as dear as poison but what was very close was Penrite full synthetic and their semi synthetic wasnt too bad either and is a good price. Surprisingly Mobil One was just above average in the full sythetic range. They showed pics of all the test pieces for different brands was quite interesting.
AnswerID: 350328

Reply By: SteveD - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:07

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:07
I manage/ maintain a fleet of 60 diesel engine in powerstations in remote locations, engines average 1000hp, fleet is a mix of Caterpillar, Cummins, Detroit and a couple of MTU's, all are on Caltex Delo 400, 15w40 ( probably because they won the contract to supply). However oil performs well with no problems with engines
AnswerID: 350380

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:18

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:18
I give all the hype a miss. Just do what the manufacturer tells you.

I go by Toyota's recommendations - basically any diesel engine oil is fine. I use the cheapest 20litre diesel oil that is the right viscosity and API rating. Lately that has been Fuchs, and before that it was Gulf Western. But I've only done 140,000k so far.

If I had a different vehicle, I might have to use different oil. eg Jackaroo diesels need a 5W30, ZD30s need a 10W40 etc etc and the later common rail motors often need light oils.
AnswerID: 350390

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:46

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:46
thats why i have gone to the Delo 400, alot cheaper than HPR 15 and by all accounts as good, even cold start oil pressure is quite a bit quicker on the delo than the HPR.
FollowupID: 618761