number plate readers

Submitted: Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:20
ThreadID: 66224 Views:6502 Replies:19 FollowUps:52
Was chatting with a mate (very high ranking senior public servant of motor registration) a few weeks back and he was saying that its only a matter of time before they bring in number plate readers for cars over some journeys….well what do you know..they are now trialling one between Adelaide and Pt Augusta. If your too quick to get there you’ll get an infringement notice in the post.

They are also bringing them in to read all cars going thru intersections etc etc for just the sake of it…if your car aint registerd you’ll need to explain why its on the road.

My mate was also saying that the various states were not able to agree on number plates..ie a alpha number range applicable to each state. The states all agree that personalised plates will stay…good money spinners. But as for the rest its open slather.

SA has just introduced a 7 digit standard plate. It begins with a “S’ which stands for SA of course…….

and there is (as they cant co-operate with each other) some duplication of plates eg there could be a car in SA, 1 in Vic and one in NSW with the same number.

The number plate readers cant tell which state number plate is actually from they use a shared data base, (so I reckon they send it out to all and wait for the screaming to start).

Now for you smart ones you should be able to work out how to beat these cameras using personalised plates.

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:24

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:24
I drive a Nissan GQ diesel which is about as fast as Axle's Landrover.

Speeding fines or fast travelling won't worry me...lol
AnswerID: 350597

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:36

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:36
my mate also said that at a meeting he attended with a foley the question went like this to sapol

how many more Speed Cameras do you need to raise 'X' millions of $$$$...the state is going to fund it!

and they keep telling us speed cameras aint there for revenue raising ..yeah right!!!

even your nissan can hit 60 cant it...default speed is 50 in the Brough isnt it
FollowupID: 618892

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:49

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:49
I barely crack 40 in town. But SWMBO got a $200 bluey(but no points as it was Smile for the Camera) not so long ago. Now she has a TomTom to warn her when she sprints down the Main Street.

The biggest worry is when leaving a town you find yourself doing 70 or 80 before you come to the 80 sign. Need deep pockets for that one.

Now with the 'Black Hole' in all government finances, they have to finds the money somewhere!

FollowupID: 618898

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:58
Had a wisper one day Willem that there used to be an area each side of a speed zone sign that was safe as long as you were doing no more than the higher of the 2 speeds. Not sure if thats still in affect or not. I honestly believe some of our interstate relations have it right with warning signs, saying 80k zone 100 mtrs ahead or similar.
FollowupID: 618902

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:13

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:13
"But SWMBO got a $200 bluey(but no points as it was Smile for the Camera)"

check the notice Willem. The registered owner will have got a point unless they declare someone else was driving.
FollowupID: 618994

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:22

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:22
Not so, Pat

This did not happen in her case in 2007

If you paid the fine and didn't argue the case then no demerit points for Smile at the camera. But if you argued the point then the driver would get a demerit point for his/her troubles.
FollowupID: 618998

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:39

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:39
Willem,

You are gobbing off again...the only reason you wouldn't lose points is if they stuffed up. !!!

If you plead not guilty at Court and get out of it, the Court has no authority to give you your points back,.... you got it back to front matey :-)

FollowupID: 619012

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:55

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:55
First Forum issues now a bloody Policeman around every corner!!

It appears you are correct to an extent as no demerit points were applied.

In the lead up to the blurb on the back of the ticket it states that if you pay the fine then demerit points 'may' apply.

FollowupID: 619013

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 14:19

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 14:19
not necc so Dunco I dont know when this occured but certainly at the time i left SA no demerrits were issued with camera fines reason I heard all shots were off the rear of the vehicle and didnt show the driver.
then I moved to WA where the shots were taken from the front and demerrit points occured

things may have changed since
FollowupID: 619428

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:18

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:18
for sometime now the registered owner is issued with the expiation notice ...if he/she pays it or if the driver at the time of the offence pays the expiation notice the registered owner actually gets the points.

if they, the registered owner,names someone else, and that person admits to the offence then that person gets the points.
FollowupID: 619436

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:36

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:36

If you have an old one in front of you then read the reverse side of it

It states 'that if you pay the fine then demerit points 'may' apply.'

Hence, no points were lost after the 'incident'

=

FollowupID: 619442

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:00

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:00
Willem old mate, pal never home outnabout tourist
just had to furnish the Insuarnce Co with a driving history report from Motor Reg (transport SA)..light post jumped out and hit me putting a huge dent LC

the report showed two camera infringements each indicating less than 15Km/h exceeding the speed limit ( was actually the same camera on portrush rd) during the period 22/1/2006 and 21/5/2008.

i elected to be prosecuted as it was a company vehicle and that attracted a hefty premium. Any how the report says 1 (one) demerit point for each offence. whats ya fax no i will send a copy..my scanner aint working. Incidently I didnt know but then again i dont think they dont inform you till you hit halfway (6)

cant see it being different for the registered owner driver
FollowupID: 619450

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:32

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:32
Oh go away.......this post is becoming boring.

And on top of that my fax machine has karked it.....

SWMBO's offence happen somewhere in 2007 so its all water under the bridge.

We are not insured to never have to furnish a report to an insurance co

Please believe whatever you want to believe...in the scheme of things its not important

Bye Bye

FollowupID: 619494

Reply By: Gramps - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:40

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:40
MN1,

"as they cant co-operate with each other"

Typical jumped up little wallies protecting their own piece of turf.

AnswerID: 350603

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:02

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:02
yep
FollowupID: 618945

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:48

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:48
Iunderstand they use this technology on the M7 herein NSW.
Your number plate is noted when you drive onto tollway and it is also read when you drive off.
Some of the "boy racers" have been issued with fines and one recently brought this subject up on talkback radio.
Ithink he mentioned a period of 14 minutes? ? from one end of M7 to the end and apparently if you cover the distance in less time a "bluey" is issued.
Does anybody else know about this??
AnswerID: 350605

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:12

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:12
Urban myth if you can believe the previous Roads Minister etc

FollowupID: 618905

Follow Up By: donks1 - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 19:11

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 19:11

Definately an urban myth

I and every truck that uses the M7 would have no licence left.
I've been passed by B-Doubles doing 120k's and never saw them again. Point to point speed fines are not in use...YET. although they have the Tech to do it

Donks1
FollowupID: 618933

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:16

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:16
Not really an Urban myth, I know truck drivers that have done a local delivery then loaded for Brisbane and have been done for excess hours on there log book All because they used the M7 while doing the local drop.

Donks1,
There would be very few B-Doubles capable of doing 120k on a flat road.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 618996

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:39

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:39
Dave,

When somebody can prove that car drivers are being booked in this manner on the M7 then I'll believe it. Roozendahl (spelling?), several times, categorically denied there was any such system for CARS operating on ANY highway/freeway/motorway anywhere in NSW.

I'm not going to enter into the truck driver speed/safety debate.

FollowupID: 619001

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:31

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:31
Yep, Urban Myth.

And they can't use the cameras on the M7 for Law enforcement purposes.

Only the ones in Police cars.

That is gospel.
FollowupID: 619009

Follow Up By: donks1 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:18

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:18
G'day Dave

You obviously dont use the M7 too often

Donks1
FollowupID: 619021

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:13

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:13
Nearly every day....

People are always listening to other peoples comments...and BELIEVING THEM.

Wake up world...have your own minds and don't believe everything you hear.

FollowupID: 619041

Follow Up By: X_PAC6969 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:18

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:18
No so on the M7 in NSW
FollowupID: 619067

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:07

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:07
Welcome to the world of truck drivers, We've had to put up with this c rap for years in NSW. Travel between 2 cameras faster than a set time and you get booked & please explain why your truck is traveling at more than the set speed, If caught too fast they can cancel your truck rego.
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 350609

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:00

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:00
HI Dave

and all in the interest of road SAFETY?

R evenue T akers A ssociation.
FollowupID: 618943

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 21:12

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 21:12
G'Day Mark,
Funny that, There's more Heavy vehicle accidents now than there was, But Government's making money out of it so they better not fix the real problems.
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 618978

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:23

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:23
At the same time they also introduced another plate that has the European look .

In regards with the Overhead Camera's it's only been used to fine truckies if speeding or if they have driven more that the required time, i think it's 4 hours with 15 mins rest stop and at each camera location there is a braodband connection between them and the main base in Norwood I think
AnswerID: 350611

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 20:14

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 20:14
You can tell which minority of longhaul Truckies want to possibly flaunt the law in NSW by their licence plate. It'll be only a matter of time before certain vehicles catch on to try to fool the cameras.

(and no, i won't mention the particular plate that is used for obvious reasons) :-)

FollowupID: 619329

Reply By: timglobal - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:25

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:25
Hey Member Number 1,

ANPR is a different system to average speed cameras, which have been trialled, but are only in limited usage such as Truck-safe. I'm not aware of average speed cameras in SA and the distance from Port Augusta to Adelaide would be an extraordinary effort for the technology. They'd catch no-one, basically. There was an email going around about it being used on the M5 and M7, but it was a hoax.

ANPR isn't that bad a thing. It keeps those who are uninsured, unlicenced and unrego'd largely off the road. The different state database access remains an ongoing issue, but is being overcome.

Here is the state-by state use of ANPR at the mo. Talk is of making it national in teh near future, *including images of driver and passenger*

Australian Use of ANPR
General All Australian toll roads use ANPR to identify vehicles that have not use an eTag or manual payment to pay the toll. The owners of these vehicles are then invoiced either by the toll company or by RTAs on their behalf. All portable ANPR units owned by Police are able to be used in general crime investigations as well as for traffic management.

NSW
210 cameras There is extensive use of ANPR by the Roads and Traffic Authority (RTA) for heavy vehicle monitoring (Safe-T-Cam), Bus and Transit lane management and for specialised uses such as vehicle noise and pollution monitoring. Infringements are issued through the post by a back office facility. Police have a number of portable roadside units which are generally used in conjunction with intercept teams. Infringements are issues on the spot.

ACT
3 cameras ACT Police have portable roadside units which are use in conjunction with intercept teams. These teams often include ACT RTA staff that check vehicle safety. These units are available to the AFP generally.

Victoria
6 cameras Victoria police have several portable roadside ANPR units used in conjunction with intercept teams. Victoria’s Department of Justice has a network of heavy vehicle monitoring stations that use ANPR and VIC Roads uses ANPR to measure travel times on busy roads and advise motorists and set variable speed limits. A point to point speed monitoring network has been set up on the Hume Highway to regulate speed over distance for all vehicles. The Victorian Environmental Protection Authority and the Dept of Fisheries use ANPR to investigate incident and help regulate licensees.

Tasmania
11 cameras The Tasmanian Dept of Infrastructure, Environment and Resources uses ANPR to monitor heavy vehicles and unregistered or uninsured vehicles. Tasmania Police are not currently using ANPR.

South Australia
24 cameras South Australia uses ANPR for Policing (roadside and in vehicle units), heavy vehicle monitoring (Truckscan) in conjunction with the NSW RTA, Traffic flow monitoring and general roads regulation.

Queensland
28 cameras Police Trials, DMR, BUC, Toll Road, Travel safe

Western Australia
10 cameras WA Main Roads and WA Police use portable ANPR throughout the state. A number of fixed sites are used for monitoring busy roads and some key highways.

Northern Territory
O cameras NT Police and roads authorities do not currently use ANPR.

AnswerID: 350614

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:36

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 17:36
I totally agree with it,but they need to up the limit you get caught by,Leaving the Eastlink yesterday to go to Ringwood (Wandin 4x4 show) a motorbike come past at about 160-180k as a guess maybe more,heading for the tunnel...Heard it being wound out before seeing it and yet my cd player was on about 5 (volume) ...When i got a glimpse of it (gone) Did it hav number plates (Doubt it)..

So i guess its designed for people like my previous thread that drives 5-7 kms over the limit over an hour or two period..

AnswerID: 350616

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 19:49

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 19:49
He probably had one of these fast tag
There a great thing should have them for cars
FollowupID: 619118

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 20:02

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 20:02
Hiya Stuk

Ive thought about something like that for years but could not get my head around it,now some smart bugger has lol,are they fairly new ???...Would think the cops would bring out a special $$$$$$ fine for having one of those like the Radar Detector...

FollowupID: 619120

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 09:06

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 09:06
Nar they have been out for years...thing is you dont notice them.
There is also a lcd plate cover that goes black when you cut the power to it.
There not for road use either there for show cars and bikes so you dont see the ugly number plate.....but that goes without saying ;)
FollowupID: 619209

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:02

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:02
If they penalise you for going too fast between two monitored points, why not credit you part of your rego if you go through slower.

Reckon it would show both parties being commited to road safety.......watch out for low flying pigs....lol.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 350624

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:55

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:55
That would be like being rewarded for not robbing a bank!
FollowupID: 619445

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:05

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:05
I regularly come across the camera on a tripod reading plates, followed about 1/2 a K later by a police car diverting selected vehicles into a side street. It is quite amazing how big the pile of number plates is in the back of the paddy wagon and the steady stream of tow trucks picking up unregistered vehicles.
A good thing in my book as having an unregistered and uninsured vehicle in a prang is bad news for both parties.
AnswerID: 350626

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:36

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:36

Theres been one between set up for Pt Augusta-Marla for years.

AnswerID: 350632

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:44

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:44
but the ones in use there and on the se freeway at stirling are used for trucks..so i believe and i thought they were aus wide anyway

the one being trialled is for all vehicles
FollowupID: 619024

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:45

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 18:45
The RTA in NSW has these damn Revenue Raisers for years now , for the trucks .....I know , mongrels ,

Safe-T-Cam

AnswerID: 350634

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:03

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:03
Doug T

.................and more of them every year are being installed,with our taxes.

pity they (RTA) couldnt use those taxes for rest areas for travellers and intertsate drivers to use.

cheers.
FollowupID: 618946

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:16

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:16
Yeh... spot on about the rest area's and Truck bays, What really got under my skin back in 1999 was that I'd loaded scaffold from WACO in Rydalmere, in the logbook I just called the beginning of the trip Sydney ... WRONG you have to use the suburb, I was not in a hurry so left on the saturday morning instead of late friday in the traffic, had a good run up Pennant hills road and got home in Bizzy Sunday morning , basicly 24 hours for a 13 hour trip, 2 weeks later was pulled over at Ballina , they checked the rego number on the pc at the spot and said it was impossible to go Sydney-Wyong in the times thay had and issued a $151.00 fine ...Grrrr , the joys of trucking .

FollowupID: 618950

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:24

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 20:24
Doug t

agreed mate.....all this "safety " bleep i've just had about enough of.

i'm ready to take my 25 odd years of driver knowledge( and no convictions i might add) and find another living.

you cant go to work expecting to cop a fine for some thing frivolous from a university upstart who has jack bleep knowledge of what he's doing.
FollowupID: 618954

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:37

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 23:37
Sure, revenue raising....yeah right !!

Dont speed, and you don't get fined...quite simple to me....

Pay your rego and you won't get fined.

Don't like the transport game, GET OUT OF IT !!!

FollowupID: 619011

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 08:50

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 08:50
DUNCO

it must be soooo good in your perfect little world where you dream!!!

your job must be sooo good, you've never complained about it???

FollowupID: 619029

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:20

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:20
Hey Mark,

I am retired...I have ONE speeding offence on my record...and yes, it was a speed camera. 61km/h in a 50km/h zone...wrote a letter and got a CAUTION due to my excellent driving record.

I travel Australia any chance I get and drive more than your average person.

Oh, and one job I had was Interstate Heavy haulage...for about 5 years...NO FINES whilst doing it !!!!!

FollowupID: 619043

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:42

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:42
Dunco and Mark
Will you pair knock it off, I keep getting damn email notices every time each of you have a bite back ... plus the fact that this website is www and that means world wide , what's the Eskimo's going to think of it eh ..

FollowupID: 619046

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 11:24

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 11:24
No :-)

FollowupID: 619056

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:26

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:26
Why should the general public be providing rest areas for trucks. If the trucking industry requires rest areas it should be paying for them, not expecting me to pay for provision of its infrastructure. It already bludges on the rest for provision of roads with out paying its way.
FollowupID: 619431

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:49

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:49
Oh dear ??? I N C O M I N G !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 619432

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:59

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 15:59
bgreeni
Your right out of touch with that silly comment, As an ex truckie I guess I could say the motorists/Caravanners don't need rest area's either ,
You don't want want tax payers money to provide Par Bays for trucks but all to ready to buy the products they carry and when one goes A up due to fatigue and the products don't arrive ... YES you would be one of first ones to complain ....I won't and can't express my thoughts on a public forum but I reckon you get the idea,

FollowupID: 619433

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 22:55

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 22:55
bgreeni

you are obviously flapping your gums without knowing your correct info 1st.

check on just how much the transport industry pays yearly in taxes on heavy vehicles.......more than you make a year i'm sure!

the RTA dictates to us heavy vehicle drivers when and where to stop,so yes, being the 'owner' of the roads dont you think they have a duty of care to provide these areas if they tell us we need to fulfil our duties as professional drivers?
FollowupID: 619824

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 16:14

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 16:14
I was just trying to make the point that each transport mode should pay its full costs. Despite the large taxes the road transport industry pays, for many years the govt. have backed down on recommendations on full cost recovery from road transport.

See this for examplePress club address

I know that the law is changing requiring more rest periods etc, but the cost of compliance should rest with the industry, not the tax payer. I am sure that most industries have had changes in the WPH & S laws they have to comply with over the years, and have had to finance those changes.

If providing for that compliance increases costs, so be it. This should be passed on to the consumer, and may result in a modal shift. This is the competition we all live with.
FollowupID: 619886

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 17:35

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 17:35
bgreei

so if the transport industry pays for more rest areas.........shouldnt these areas just be for heavy vehicles?

NO cars,caravans,motorhomes or the like to use them?
FollowupID: 619909

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:43

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:43
If they are funded by the transport industry, certainly - or charge other users to use them
FollowupID: 619950

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 20:32

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 20:32
unbelievable!
FollowupID: 619963

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 21:42

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 21:42
What's unbelievable about saying that if somebody provides a facility they should be able to charge others to use it.
FollowupID: 619983

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 21:57

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 21:57
and what cut would the RTA want for using their peice of real estate?

and into this debate would come insurance.......can of worms i'de say?
FollowupID: 619988

Reply By: briann532 - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 21:56

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 21:56

call me cynical, but here in in NSW we desperately need these "safety" systems. (Oh hell I keep typing incorrectly - I meant "revenue" systems.)
How else would our pollies afford $500,000 office renovations, if it wasn't for the average soccer mum and tradie doing 66k's in a 60kph zone.
I mean fair go, these blokes are doing it tough, what with their chauffer driven cars, tolls, fuel and expenses paid. Maybe we should all just get off the road so we don't hold them up for their luncheon.

Just on another issue. Speedos are so inaccurate that it is almost impossible to know your speed without a GPS.
My Fraud Ranger is about 16% out with factory tyres fitted.
(going by 2 GPS units installed)

AnswerID: 350676

Follow Up By: timglobal - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:49

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 22:49
Brian,

You make a good point. On almost every new (GU) Patrol I've driven (and it has been about 30 different ones, all auto) the speedo has shown under, i.e. 90 mph on the speedo (over long straights) has shown 92 on the GPS. Stock Bridgestones. That's very bad and possibly illegal on Nissan's part, but I know and care not how to tell them. If I ever get done, I'll find out ;)

Tim
FollowupID: 619005

Follow Up By: nickoff - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:38

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:38
Tim,

Doesn't matter if you are doing 90 or 92 Mph in your GU, you will still get booked. Since the NT lost their open road speed limits, there is nowhere in Australia that 90 Mph (144Kph) is legal.

Nick.
FollowupID: 619045

Reply By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:45

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 07:45
In Vic you can be booked for 3 kph over the limit.

Motorbike speedos have more latitude for error under ADR than cars, more than 3 kph at highway speeds, and my actual and indicated vary noticeably with just a few mm of rear tyre wear.

Just have to sneeze and you're over the limit.

Yes, as posted, there are point to point speed cameras on the Hume - though those on the Craigieburn bypass only point towards you and for the moment bikes have only a rear plate.
AnswerID: 350713

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:05

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:05
Some of the required cameras are already in place on the Bruce H/way heading nth , Camera at bobjanes at Chermside is linked to the camera just prior to the Pine river bridge , planned rollout is for cameras all the way to Gympie , Good idea ?Bad idea ? Revenue raising or another form of LAW enforcement ?.... 3 road deaths in the last 7 day on that stretch of road.
AnswerID: 350730

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:16

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:16
In N.S.W. there is a loose policy, that if you have been driving for over 12 years without a conviction, you can make representations to the N.S.W. Police, asking that the fine be waived by way of a caution.

This only applies to low speeds, minor prangs (neg. driving) where no person is injured, and a clean sheet for about 12 years..

I've us my 'Get Out of Gaol Free Card', when a speed camera at Kurrajong got me for 11 km over the 60 KPH limit. That was almost 12 years ago.

My advice is this, if you get caught in N.S.W. for a low speed or minor traffic offence, don't pay the money but write a letter to the address where you send the dough. It's on the back of the T.I.N. You may not get a reprieve, but at least it might give you time to rake up the dough.

I know S.A. doesn't accept any excuse, and Vic., sometimes does.

You know there is a solution to worrying about speed & red light cameras, radar cops, and other revenue collecting technology. Pay attention to what you are doing and keep within the sped limit.

S$%t, if you want to go any faster you must be on a death wish, or have plenty of money for the extra fuel you use.

Dick
AnswerID: 350734

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:20

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:20
But the car in SA would start with S Victoria starting with V NSW has a N at the start European plates that is
AnswerID: 350772

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 16:57

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 16:57
not if you have personalised plates

eg...a sa number plate in sa could be "howdy 2" or a older rego number alpha numeric number "rts 123"

so what would stop you having a personalised plate in Vic "howdy 2" or a personalised plate "rts 123"

the prefix doesnt come into it
FollowupID: 619086

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:22

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:22
Police in NSW are using that now amazing how many cars people caught driving un registered cars. a number of stolen cars have been caught as well along with unlicensed drivers
AnswerID: 350774

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 17:41

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 17:41
Of course your right.
I was talking about the 7 digit plate
AnswerID: 350804

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 23:27

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 23:27
These traffic cameras with number plate recognition are being used in the Adelaide Hills currently to track the movements of vehicles belonging to suspected arsonists to assist in the prevention/investigation of bushfires.

As a by-product they also filter out unregistered vehicles. I know of a workmate who paid the rego late on the wife's car and he got a fine after she passed a camera.

All for it. I have nothing to hide!

Muddy
AnswerID: 351076

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 07:11

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 07:11
thats right!
thats how they got the woman from Harrogate isnt it

yep my high profile mate (ex motor reg) said some 12months back they were coming in just for that reason...unregistered ....and something else but cant recall what it was...they were going to get the redlight and speed cameras to do it also...3 way use so to speak
FollowupID: 619385

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 22:06

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 22:06
The Safety cam in Crafers is catching between 15 to 20 cars a day that are unregistered,

The problem they're having is a registered interstate vehicle might have the same number as a vehicle here which unregistered so they have to determine if it's the same vehicle or not.

They have been doing to trucks previously

FollowupID: 619991