nissan patrol RB30

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 22:44
ThreadID: 6626 Views:3877 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
I would like to put a bigger motor in my 1992 nissan patrol. It currently has an RB30 motor in it .I am asking for any advice on what engine can be fitted with a minimum of stress.

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 22:59

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 22:59
Whatever you put in there is going to cost a bundle unless you can do some yourself , the whole driveline is different to the bigger motors in thesame truck. (300zx 5 speed and lower ratio diffs to suit small revier motors.) Have you considered a turbo rb30 from a dunnydore? Im partial to the v6 commodore motor aswell as t700 auto because they make good torque and run crank triggered ignition (run in water well) Can get a whole dunnydore from pickles auctions for under a grand, but then its fit it and engineer time. Insurance wont like you either.
The second option is to look at the wrecks of Patrols at pickles and buy a big motor one for 3 or 4k.
Andrewwheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 28131

Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 11:09

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 11:09
you'd need new diff ratios, gearbox and clutch for a bigger motor. I've also got an RB30 and looked into many options but have decided to keep it till it dies as Insurance for modified vechicles is getting ridiculous.

I tow a campomatic (bout a ton) and mine copes well except on hills where it's back to 3rd gear. I've got snorkel, K&N air filter, extractors and 2" exhaust.

Mine used to run pretty ordinary till a mechanic fixed my vacuum advance. I now also run it on premium and have it tuned to suit. I carry a couple of bottles of octane booster in case I have to buy unleaded in the bush.

At 275,000 km and running better than when I got it at 135,000 I reckon it's not a bad motor - best ecomomy is about 16 litres per 100km when towing the trailer through flat country.
AnswerID: 28169

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 18:04

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 18:04
The others have said it.

The other option is since yours is a VL Commodore/Skyline motor, go with the NISMO gear, you can get them things to fly with lots of $$.. Which will still be 1/2 what it costs for new drive train, and engine. There was one in a mag that had full Nismo shiat, and Turbo intercooler etc, and was putting out VERY impressive neddies.

Not a good choice sadly to work...
AnswerID: 28202

Reply By: kezza - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 19:43

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 19:43
Nothing wrong with the RB30 you just need to rev it. (They Love 4,000 rpm and will do it all day and not die prematurely)

Get Extractors, a big exhaust and use lower gears than you normaly would on a 4WD and instead of spending heaps of $$ on bigger motor spend the money on better quality fuel.

Use premium and a good octane booster and drive it like you hate it. (Ignore the noise........ - No - turn the stereo up and play good driving music)

You will leave most other 4bys looking silly anywhwere but uphill on the open road and towing on the open road.

Honestly - I am not joking. A very misunderstood motor - and usually a bargain to buy because nobody knows what they will do.

Kes
AnswerID: 28224

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 20:13

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 20:13
go the mighty rb30.
they will rev at 6000rpm all day—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 19538

Follow Up By: Mick - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:04

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:04
But Kezza - anything can go on the flat open road ... it's uphill and towing that sorts out the performers and THAT'S where it's lacking!!
FollowupID: 19554

Follow Up By: kezza - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:06

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:06
Mick
I heard a guy on the forum saying that a mate could only get 80kph out of a RB30 towing a trailer into a headwind in top gear - "foot was glued like lead to the floor - thats all there is - and there aint no more" !!!

If he had have dropped it back to 3rd - he'd comfortably do 100 kph and use less fuel and not stress the donk - Ya just gotta be a "driver".

I know its not perfect but they are so cheap and economical at times (not to mention a wolf in sheeps clothing in the mud and sand and steep hills - just dont lose the revs).

kes
FollowupID: 19636

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:18

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:18
not sure about the 4.2 but rb30 have a problem with the secondaries in the carby not working easy fix heaps more go.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 19640

Reply By: taff - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:20

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:20
thanks for all the advice,sounds like i just need to drive it a bit harder after i have a bit of work done on it.
Taff
AnswerID: 28374