Motor Bikes

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:15
ThreadID: 66323 Views:2840 Replies:11 FollowUps:23
I have seen a few posts on here about motor bikes so i thought i would ask the question here. This will be my first bike and with the introduction of LAMS i have a few more to choose from.
I am looking at a road/dirt bike that i can also do some long trips on.
New, second hand not too shaw should have about 10k to spend (bike and safety gear).
I guess the first questions i have are, what brand, what has a good range of after market gismoes, maintenance costs with brands, and which brands types have a good history of reliability.

Cheers......Steve

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:24

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:24
Whats LAMS?
AnswerID: 351188

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:33

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:33
Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme (Vic Roads)

I think this bloke took a wrong turn somewhere LOL.
FollowupID: 619456

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:49

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:49
Hairy, learners can now ride some thing bigger than a 250, all to do with power to weight ratio, i put a link in that lists current bikes.

Fred know where im going mate, two wheels, can get a bike in a lot more places than you can get a big 4x4.
FollowupID: 619461

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:59

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:59
If youve never had much expierience on any thing bigger than a 250, you dont need any bigger.
The only way to know your ability is to go over it and the bigger the bike the more it hurts!
And before any one starts on me....yes Im sticking to scooters!!!

FollowupID: 619464

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:06

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:06
I understand where ya coming from mate, but i was also under the impression that a 250 isn't comfortable to ride on long distances.
FollowupID: 619467

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:24

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:24
Hairy,

Are you still using the donut/whoopee cushion LOL

FollowupID: 619493

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:17

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:17
Gday Grumps...sorry! Gramps,
Thanks for asking..LOL
No, actually Ive progressed to a compfy office chair!

Hahahaha
FollowupID: 619502

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:27

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:27
Steve,
A $hiit load more comfortable than broken bonz??
No offence Bonz...

FollowupID: 619507

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 11:32

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 11:32
We have a 350 here XR Honda

FollowupID: 620860

Reply By: Pajpower - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:50

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:50
any of the BIG singles....IE XR 400 or XR 600 Hondas are good. Or TT 600 Yamaha or DR Suzuki ect.....stay with a single cylinder road/trail and mate you can't go wrong. Simple motors easy to get parts and any bike mechanic can fix it. Or anybody handy with a spanner
AnswerID: 351192

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:26

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:26
Thanks Paj, will get some info on these, simple and easy to work on is a must, while doing the cape last year saw a few bikes having problems.
A Swis bloke that i was traveling with was amazed with how quick these guys could fix there bike and go he was saying that his BMW is a pric to work on.

Cheers...steve
FollowupID: 619471

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:21

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:21
I have a XR400R, I have only had it a month, I took it for a 60km round trip the other day and when I got home it took about 3 hours for the blood to circulate through my backside.LOL

I only got it because we got the kid a bike for Xmas, the wife asked were hers was, so we found her a KDX 200 for her and on the same day I found the XR, it was bought for fun not for the long rides thank god.

Its a great bike, but for a long ride, take a cushion.

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 619504

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:03

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:03
Hi Steve

Do your checks and everytime you will come up with the Lams approved Drz400.

I have a 2008 model ($8000 on the road) , and took it across Simpson last year , it even did Dalhousie to Oddnadatta think 170km on one tank.

Have several other bikes , some better in dirt but all round you will find that bike the overall best solution under $10,000

Comes with road legal knobbies even.

AnswerID: 351194

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:23

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:23
Watched the Leyland Bros dvd last weekend of their 1966 west to east crossing...their motorbike didn't seem to have any problems acting as a forward scout especially across the Simpson, and in the mud and water at Ayers Rock.anyone know what it was? Loved it, just great.
FollowupID: 619470

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:56

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:56
Thanks Robin,

Been looking at that bike and the Dr650se. The 650 seems a little more simple in the engine department and i like that.

Was yours a 400e or 400s model? Also did you make any personal changes?

Cheers.........Steven.

FollowupID: 619476

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:15
Hi Steven

We picked up and babysat two Drz650's across the dessert , they are very heavy and it was a tricky ride for them but there much better road tourers.

Drz400e is mine and I made quite a few changes to the brand new bike including lowering it correctly , trimming the seat height to, replacing speedo complex with GPS , dropped gearing a little put the baffles back in the exhaust , added a steering stabilizer for sand work etc.

FollowupID: 619501

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:20

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:20
May I suggest that it would be a good idea to do some shorter trips, where a sub 250cc will be OK, before setting out on a big adventure on a larger bike with minimal experience?

As some others have stated, you can't say you can ride a bike till you've come off a few times, and the bigger they are..... Believe me, I've come of little ones and big ones and the big ones generally hurt more, and cost considerably more to fix up again. And it's far easier to control a smaller bike in the soft stuff.

Learn to walk before you run.
AnswerID: 351196

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:12
Thanks Bitchi, No big trip planned just yet just started working again after a year and a half off.
I have been told by a few people that a 250 can sometimes be tiring to ride over longer distances say 2-3 hrs in the seat.
Can you recommend a 250 that i should consider.
FollowupID: 619487

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:36

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:36

AnswerID: 351200

Follow Up By: Jarse - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:52

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:52
A far superior motorbicycle, flywest. In every way.

Q: Why do they call Harleys "Cattle Dogs"?

A: Because they love to go out for a run in the morning, but they always come home in the back of the ute!
FollowupID: 619475

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:14

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:14
Hahahaha......
At least the Harleys still get out!

FollowupID: 619499

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:46

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:46
Hi Steve,
I've got to agree with Robin, the DRZ400 ticks all your boxes especially the LAMS and price ones.

Just don't wind the right fist to far to fast until you have a good grasp of how to stop and turn it.

They aren't exactly my cup of tea but I'm not looking for LAMS approved or longer distance touring either.

Whatever you do, research a heap before you spend the dollars.

Pack the heart up, use the brain and you won't go far wrong.

Are you in NSW or Victoria?

You may be better off with something under 300cc if NSW as you'll save a mountain on Green Slips.

My 610 Husky costs over $400 per year registered as a Solo (no pillion) as opposed to my 5 seater Troopy costing under $300 for Green Slips.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 351202

Reply By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:32

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:32
What's wrong with these Hondas...?...seem to handle the Simpson OK...cheap, economical, comfortable. . :-)Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 351216

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:45
Site Link
FollowupID: 619496

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:15
"seem to handle the Simpson OK"

Umm, hate to spoil your story Fred but. . . . . . no they didn't, they ended up going around.

Pezza
FollowupID: 619500

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:35

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:35
ROTFLMAO............
Sounds like a good recomendation Fred....LOL
FollowupID: 619509

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:49

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:49
They must have followed the KTM tracks then !!!! LOL
FollowupID: 619512

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:45

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:45
No wonder ive had a few parcels go missing/undelivered !

FollowupID: 619609

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:48

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:48
Hi Steve
I would also agree with the others that recommended the DRza400. They are not overly agressive in the power delivery and are probably one of the best for reliability. You should also be able to pick up a new run-out model for the sort of money you have, maybe not with all the safety gear but close.
There are a few of us doing a cape tour in September, the bikes supplied are DRZ400, which will be a bit of change from my YZF450.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

AnswerID: 351222

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:20

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:20
Chris,

From a Husky owner to a YZF owner I can offer this bit of training advice, pinch some kids pogo stick and get a handle on that.

Once you are comfortable on the stick the DRZ will be a piece of cake.

I've ridden half a dozen or so owned by a few mates and I didn't like the front end on any of them. Including the one's that had seen several hundred dollars spent on the forks!!

I enjoyed the one YZF450 I've ridden even if it did scare the carp out of me initially!

Please note, this is tongue in cheek. Anyone that owns a YZF450 is beyond the target audience of a DRZ400 which is a darn fine bike when used within their designed applicaion. (God the interwebs is full of princesses)

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 619503

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:53

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:53
Hi Geoff
Yes, I know what you are on about as I have ridden a few DRZ400's, mate loves em, but i found them more like riding a lounge chair and handled about the same. I still race moto-x and enduros but in the vets class, picked up a trophy not long ago which says vintage class, very sad.
But as you said, the DRZ is a great bike for what it was designed for.

Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

FollowupID: 619513

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:42
Hi Stephen,

Not taking anything at all away from the good folk here at ExplorOz, and indeed as you prepare for your travels on your bike, you will find stacks of useful info here!

But for a forum that is more motorcycle orientated, try Net Rider

Stacks of useful info there as well....... I am a member there as well, I ride a Honda 1300 Cruiser though, not a dirt bike so won't get involved in the "which bike" thing.....

AnswerID: 351235

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:19

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:19

Agree with a lot of the comments above in regards to the DRZ 400, the Honda XR400 and the Yamaha TTR's are also good entry level bikes capable of some touring.

AnswerID: 351287

Reply By: Roddesh - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:49

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:49
Hey Steve,

If you are going to use it on the road I'll put a vote in for electric start in whatever you choose. IMO kick start is fine if you're riding mainly in the bush but on road it gets old fast...

Rod
AnswerID: 351296