Mitsubishi Pulls out of the Dakar

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:22
ThreadID: 66331 Views:1979 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Just reading the latest Overlander and it states that Mitsubishi is withdrawing from Cross Country Rallying, starting with the Dakar. In its 26 starts in the Dakar, they won 12 times, including seven consecutive victories. Mitsubishi sites the global economy as the reason for its withdrawal. There is also some questions as to whether VW will continue with its support with Cross Country rallies, seeing that it has won both the Championship and the Dakar, which was their ultimate goal.

What else are we going to blame the economy on?

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:35

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:35
The latest scaffolding collapses!
AnswerID: 351254

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 07:49

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 07:49
Hi AJB
Yes, but where will it end.

FollowupID: 619552

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 09:46

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 09:46
I reckon they spat it because they were blown away by a couple of 67' Kombi's.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 351281

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:00

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:00
Hi Geoff
How are things going, good I hope. Next years event will be quit different by the sounds of things. A good bit of competition is good for everybody, and I hope that this is not going to be the type of thing that we can expect from future entrants.

I would have thought that for its reputation, that someone will pursue the Mitsubishi Team, perhaps under a private sponsorship.

Another thing that Overlander also state is

"While it is easy for MMC to blame the economy, we would have told them that when you throw away 25 years of racing success to replace a 4WD with a suburban hatchback, things can only go bad"

This may get a few more thinking.

FollowupID: 619605

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:43

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:43
G'day Stephen, I enjoy Dakar immensely & its sad to see Mitsi
pull out of something they have influenced significantly. One
is hardly surprised by Overlander not praising them up, you need
to be branded something else to get their biased blessing. I assume
they refer to that Outlander thing, & may well be right, but that
hardly applies to Pajero, that appears to be maybe under rated,
but still destined to doom now that Mitsi are not building cars
here anymore. Its probably imported like most but people fear
lack of service & parts. I will have to follow the fortunes of
Isuzu...not a bad effort with the Dmax....oldbaz
FollowupID: 619632

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 15:27

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 15:27
Is this right, Dakar not in Dakar next year for security reasons.
The only good excuse for any withdraws. Diff subject but what the hell, why doesn't the gov ask for the hand out back from the likes of bonds and build another business. There is plenty of willing people out there to run it. BUA companies that go over seas.

AnswerID: 351344

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:13

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:13
The Dakar was not run in Africa This year for security reasons. It was run in South America.
FollowupID: 619630

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 20:04

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 20:04
Hi Old Girl,
Like John said above, it is still called the Dakar, but will now be driven in South America. In 2008, the event was cancelled due to Terrorist Threats. For the safety of all those concerned, the North African Continent was deem too dangerous and this year, 2009 marked the first time that the Dakar was held away from its original areas in Africa and now the foundations are set for all future events to be held in South America.

As for Mitsubishi pulling out, it is not an Australian thing, but the Japanese Headquarters. I had a great passion for those Mitsubishi boys, as watching it for years, you get to know the drivers first hand. Like I said above, I hope that some private company takes the Mitsubishi team up.

FollowupID: 619660

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:26

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:26
Stephen read what i wrote. Im not stupid.
FollowupID: 619764

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:16

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:16
Hi Old Girl
I have not referred that you are stupid. When referring about the Dakar, this is the type of race that is not followed by everybody and some people could not care less about it. You would be surprised of the number of people that I have spoken to that do know know what the Dakar is or where it is run.

Your quote "Dakar not in Dakar next year for security reasons" to me sounds like you were not aware that the 2008 event was cancelled for those very reasons and this year the event was held in South America.

I am not having a go at you, just letting others that may not be aware of what is happening to this event.

FollowupID: 619841

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:35

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 16:35
I bet Isuzu does not pull out next year.....

Bruce Garland and Harry Suzuki...Isuzu D-Max 11th over all 1st diesel ute great for Australia and great for the new Isuzu D-Max now being sold in Australia. Now to win Lotto and then have three Isuzu's parked in the garage LOL

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 351363

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 08:02

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 08:02
Hi Bruce,
Yes it was great to see the Australian Team doing so well. It is a real pity that the smaller entrants do not get the publicity as the big international entrants. We will all be following the Isuzu Team if they race again next year.

Come on Aussie.

FollowupID: 619713