dual battery/solar panel wiring query?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 23:34
ThreadID: 66383 Views:8253 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
hi there, i have been charging my dual battery system off my vehicle's altinator using the ABR FLYER for awhile now which has been ok, but i have just purchased an 80w bp solar panel and increased my battery bank to two 115amp hour batteries. the question i have is- if i wire the solar panel through the 10amp regulator to the two batteries and also leave the altinator charging them as well, will this cause me any problems with the solar panel. if anyone can answer this for me it would be greatly apprecitated,

Reply By: Grossy - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:12

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:12
G'day mate, There will be absolutely no problem with the system you are talking about.The only thing to make sure of is that you have a regulator between your panel and the batteries, other than that go ahead. I have been selling & dealing with these types of systems for the past 12 years, just to put your mind at ease.

AnswerID: 351577

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:13

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:13
Hi long4513,

As long as you have two sets of cables running to the battery, no problems.
I.e. one set from the vehicle and the other from the panel via the solar regulator.
Mine is set up that way.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 351578

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:17

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:17
Grossy

You beat me by about a minute.

If I hadn't got if I had't gone and poured that glass of RED......

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 619830

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:19

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:19
Grossy it is affecting me already! I haven't touched it yet.

Think you know what I mean tho.

T
The rig

FollowupID: 619831

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:30

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:30
This thread may help!

Dual Battery - Solar Setups

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 351594

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:42

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:42
Hi long4513

No problem to do this but please feel free to email be directly as I would like to know how you will link the 2nd battery to the FLYER pack and where it is mounted etc.

Derek from ABR
AnswerID: 351612

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:49

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 09:49
It is a perfect and foolproof system providing you follow the simple rules and gudelines remembering that each charging system is independent of the other...........

ABR controller manages the alternator charging system...

Solar regulator manages that charge input.

Subject to your solar controller type and level of "intelligence" (by that I mean the solar controllers intelligence not yours) !) you may need to run the alternator charge through a shunt

I have run that set up for years

Derek's reply to you is worth following up as he has good knowledge and is always helpful and spot on with his advice....I use his system for the dual battery / isolater set up

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 351615

Reply By: long4513 - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 14:51

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 14:51
hey lads thanks for your reply's helped me out heaps

cheers long4513
AnswerID: 351666