mounting solar panels on roof of ute

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:35
ThreadID: 66384 Views:9871 Replies:8 FollowUps:7

I have a 79 series Landcrusier Ute with a Carry me camper on the back. I've just brought two 90 watt sun power solar panels with the intent that I would mount them on the roof of the ute. I had planned to have them fold shut (glass side together) while travelling and then be able to open them when stopped and be able to remove them if I need to chase the sun. The idea in have the glass sides together was to prevent stone damage. This all sounded good until I unpacked the panel and found that the instructions state "Modules should not be mounted such that the glass faces downward ", due to water possible entering the vapour breather. Both panels joined together measure 1060mm x 1040mm. how prone are these panels to stone damage etc and does anyone have ideas on how to mount these on the roof but still be able to remove them when set up for extended periods?

Reply By: Whitepony - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:50

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:50
Can't help with the removable mounting but do know of two contractorsI work with, that have had them permanently on there 79 series roof for several years of constant off road use and swear by the setups.

One frequently tows the ute behind a grader without suffering damage to the panels.

Ben
AnswerID: 351580

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:19

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:19

I have two 80 watt panels on the roof rack of my 78 series Troopy and to date have had no problems with damage. They are frequently mounted on Caravan roofs and apparently survive OK there.

Dick

AnswerID: 351583

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:24

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:24
Saw a bloke with a Hilux at Sandfire , he had them mounted on the bonnet , now I wish I had got a photo of that setup.

AnswerID: 351584

Follow Up By: balko - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:38

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:38
Hey Doug I think meet the same two young guys in capeyork and later in Darwin. A older style hilux with the panel bolted through the bonnet two hunting dogs and a boat on the roof i loved its name,,Dose of crabs,If its the same two blokes they drove across the Jardine in August. The Joys of being young and single again i can only dream now. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 619838

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:48

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 02:48
Hello Chris,
Sounds odd about the water possibly breaching the vapour breather, but I know nothing of that, so can't comment. More power to the manufacturer to point it out. (Mate, to read the "User Handbook" of my Lady's Mazda, I may as well strap on a gelly belt before I go fishing....ahem.)
Mate we have a 123W panel mounted on our baby Rodeo spacecab. Sorry I can't chuck you an image, but it's simple as
all getout.
Essentially, I ran two Al box-section bearers (underslung)from a roof rack to the top frame on the tray. The rest of the housing is Al, except for ss spacers to minimise vibrations. One side is hinged so the panel can be slipped out.
I did worry that body twist might bleep the panel, but it has survived all but a roll-over, (and I lack enthusiasm for that particular experiment).
Chris, stone damage should not be a consideration.
If you could use more encouragement, feel free.
Jeff.
AnswerID: 351585

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:14

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 07:14
Chris. Mount them to your car you should have no problems.

I have had this on my slide off camper for a couple of years. Mounted it over the roof to deflect wind over the roof top tent. I intend to put the second on top of the roof top tent and make it the movable one. The one for the wind deflector I can hinge to face backwards. Best of luck. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 351591

Follow Up By: dusty rover - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:17

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:17
Thanks, great set up. I'm looking to have mine on the roof of the ute not attached to the camper. Do you have any ideas, could your set up suit the ute roof
FollowupID: 619917

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:37

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:37
Yes I think this design will be easily modified. I had to make sure when I remove the camper out bush that the solar stayed with it, as one of the batteries is attached to the camper. If you want I can send some closeup photos for you to do a design. Or if you wish send me a photo of your rig and where you want them (with the panel size) and I will draft you a design. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 619923

Follow Up By: dusty rover - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:10

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:10
If you could send some photos that would be great

thanks
FollowupID: 619938

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:39

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:39
A couple of photos below. I used light gal rhs and made a surround for the panel. I used light aluminum angle to mount it in the frame. I used aluminum sheet to make the spoiler (Old road sign from the dump). The top frame hinges on the bottom with piano hinge to fold bask. You would have to make the mount to suit your rear bar, mine is made to rest on top whan I put the camper on and then I just clip it up. Hope it helps to give you an idea or teo. Cheers Tony

FollowupID: 619949

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 10:41

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 10:41
G'day dusty.
Check out post No 66248.
I secured the panels using Whitco window locks, if you use these
make sure they are keyed alike or you will have yo use a separate key for each lock.

niss42
AnswerID: 351628

Follow Up By: dusty rover - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:21

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 18:21
Excellent idea, I will defiantly be using his style of lock. I now just need to workout how to set them up on the roof. Any ideas?

FollowupID: 619919

Reply By: CLC50 (QLD ) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 13:20

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 13:20
Hi Dusty
I have my solar Panels under my Rino Racks & they slide out over my Bonnet see my Profile for Pictures
AnswerID: 351650

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:38

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 19:38
Now that's lateral thinking. Even acts as a sun shade for the front window.

How did you make the slider mechanism, any close ups or more details? What materials did you use?

Very "cool".

FollowupID: 619948

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 17:43

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 17:43
Have a cover made up for them while travelling?
AnswerID: 351710