The 'new' toy!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:40
ThreadID: 66465 Views:3583 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
With age catching up, and my full on adventurous days almost over- we've opted for a more comfortable way to travel. well, a bit more comfortable than the Troopy.
This thing is 4WD/ Hi and (very) Lo ratios, rear diff locker. Chassis & running gear used as a basis for military vehicles in Europe.
We had a week in the country behind Nowra & Jervis Bay- and it handled the rough stuff really well. Almost climbed up Pigeon House Mtn.
It runs out of breath at about 100kph on the blacktop (only travel about 90 anyway). Comfortable cruising- and very capable off-road.
2.3 l turbo motor. Good ground clearance with more than adequate engine/transmission protection. Rated at 4.5 t GVM.
Good sized double bed, 4-burner cooker- 80l Engel- even a kitchen sink. Heaps of storage internal & external.
Despite it's height, it is very stable when laterally tilted. Most of the stuff up top is light, and it has a very heavy chassis under it,
( Don't tell Colin/TONI- currently fitted with Cooper tyres- no white lettering)
Here's a pic.

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:47

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:47
The lack of white lettering will eventually let you down, you need to fix that.

It looks really good.
AnswerID: 352018

Reply By: timglobal - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:49

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:49
Nice work.

A fine steed which fits your needs perfectly it seems. Looks like it would give most things a run for their money in the rough stuff. And it has the kitchen sink as well ;)
AnswerID: 352019

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:56

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 16:56
Looks the goods Signman.

Congratulations! Where abouts did you get it from if I may ask? Is there an aussie dealer? I would like to see some more info on it.

Matt

AnswerID: 352020

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 19:10

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 19:10
Matt, you're not thinking of abandoning my baby are you?

FollowupID: 620221

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:43

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:43
GB,

Not at all. Thinking for my old man, not me. We are heading off it the cruiser on the 7th June around Aus for a year or two. Cant wait. You upgrading already?

Matt

FollowupID: 620244

Reply By: Rolly - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:02

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:02
I thought that Iveco came only with a 2.8l high pressure common rail turbo diesel.
Have they down graded or is the larger motor still available?
AnswerID: 352021

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 18:41

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 18:41
You are correct- it is a 2.8
FollowupID: 620219

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:02

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:02
Dont tell Colin, HA I see all.

Nice tyres David, if you dont want them you can GIVE them to me.LOL

About time you "Outed" your self mate.

I know you just wanted to get to know the WOMBAT before saying too much.

Will we see it tomorrow night????

Colin.
AnswerID: 352022

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:54

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:54
Catch ya tonite....your shout !!

FollowupID: 620338

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:45

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 17:45
Hi Dave,

It looks new - is it ? Where did you buy it, can you order these with different layouts / engines etc ?

I have never seen one before .

If you know a good signwriter , he could do the white lettering for you. It's worth doing, or you will get a puncture for sure .

Willie.
AnswerID: 352026

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 18:07

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 18:07
Hi Dave,

It looks new - is it ? Where did you buy it, can you order these with different layouts / engines etc ?

I have never seen one before . I just Googled Iveco 4WD and Iveco Aust and came up with bugger all.

If you know a good signwriter , he could do the white lettering for you. It's worth doing, or you will get a puncture for sure .

Willie.
AnswerID: 352029

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:27

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:27
G'day Willie
seems like you are developing a stutter mate, or maybe dementia. LOL

Keep up the good work and ignore Bast4rds like me, Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 620237

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:54

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:54
Basturds .
FollowupID: 620266

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:24

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:24
OP,
I was reading about Paypal on your blog. Scary stuff as just this evening I linked my credit card up to it to buy something on eBay.
As soon as I can, I will remove the credit card link.
Willie.
FollowupID: 620274

Reply By: skulldug - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:58

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 20:58
Signman,

Any inside pics you could post?

Skull
AnswerID: 352061

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:44

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:44
I'll take some over the weekend and post...

FollowupID: 620335

Reply By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:12

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:12
The vehicle is an Iveco turbo daily, 12 units were imported for Brits hire . Brits sent them back to Iveco because they had to much trouble with them, the main problem was with them breaking timing belts and destroying the motor. Iveco claim this was because they were overeved, The low gearing means that if you try to get them to cruise at 100k they will go bang. I had one for testing out different diff ratios to solve the problem but Iveco would not fund the exercise. The vehicle is very good and reliable as long as you dont try to drive it fast. It is better of road than any other van I have driven but the Sprinter leaves it for dead on the road. Eric
AnswerID: 352065

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:49

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:49
Hi Eric..
From my investigations there was actually 20 that came out. 12 or 15 went into the Britz fleet. This one (and a few others) has only been privately owned (not ex fleet). I do agree it's a bit of a slug on the road- 90 to 95 seems a sweet spot without wringing it's neck.
Dunno what your association is/was- but if you have any more info of interest I would be grateful..

FollowupID: 620336

Reply By: PradOz - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:33

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:33
congrats on the new wheels. found this one on ebay which is very interesting - even has a shower and loo off road vehicle - it may even give you some ideas for personalising it - has a great name too!!
AnswerID: 352090

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:12

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:12
That looks like a 'mobile home' ..
Ours is a 'mobile granny flat' ..
Thanks for the link !!

FollowupID: 620330

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:29

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:29
Looks a tad to big to take up the OTL ,, :)
FollowupID: 620333

Reply By: Eric Experience - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 22:01

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 22:01
Signman.
You have done well to get a private one, probably got the original motor. I was pleased to hear you use the term "sweet spot" not many young drivers understand the concept, you should have a good time in this vehicle. I try to explain to people the huge advantage of this type of travelling, but they cant think past there caravans, good luck. Eric
AnswerID: 352229