The change over to the metric system took place a good while ago!

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:34
ThreadID: 66508 Views:3177 Replies:8 FollowUps:21
So why are we fitting tyres that have a size stamped on them in mm for width, onto a rim thats measured in inches, and the thing is held to the hub with a bloody metric nut??.

Reply By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:37

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:37
One of the true mysteries of the modern world.... :)

As my old Italian Grandfather, who was a boiler maker, used to say....in Italy I learn't metric, I arrived in Australia and they had imperial and now they want me to learn metric again....go figure....lol
AnswerID: 352215

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:48

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:48
G'day Axle,

Another point to ponder is that no one talks about their 6.096 metre van, it's always a 20 foot van, aand a similar thing with boats... my 12 foot tinnie ...... never my 3.6576 metre tinnie. Oh, and why for the most part do we talk tyre pressure in PSI not kPa?
It was also my understanding that all rulers made after the change over, were supposed to have only metric measurements on them?
Maybe a 15.24 mm sub isn't quite as appertising as the good old "six inch sub"?

Wayne.

AnswerID: 352218

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:51
I always laugh about that stuff too....I was born in 1965 and don't know either system that well...I consider myself a hybrid....lol

FollowupID: 620430

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:51
A 15mm sub would not be very filling either .
FollowupID: 620431

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:58

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:58
Who ever talks up their size in mm....it's always inches!!! lol

Sorry it was there for the taking
FollowupID: 620433

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:09

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:09
Oh for an edit button and the point is taken .... LOL

should've been a 15.24 cm

Wayne.
(busily scanning reply for errors.... LOL)
FollowupID: 620434

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:18

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:18
The list could go on, When you think about it, Wayne..lol

Weights ..ton is widely used over tonne(think i got that right)

Why did i open my mouth!!, all to hard!..lol.

Funniest thing i've heard, was a old bird in a fruit shop asking for a Km of grapes!!...lol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 620435

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:28

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:28
I'll put my 2 Bobs worth in ..or is it 20c worth
A lot still use MPG instead of Lts to the Hundred.

FollowupID: 620463

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 12:13

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 12:13
If we were following the SI system to the letter it would be 152.4 mm or 0.1524 metres.

The only animals that measure in cm are women and school teachers!

The tonne or ton debate is easy to fog as they are almost exactly the same,

1,000 kg's = 2,204.6 lbs

2,240 lbs = 1,016 kg's

The best bit of being over 40 is the ability to converse in any method,

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 620521

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 15:39

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 15:39
A little headsup bout the metric system in Australia.

For a start there are no centimeters.

Not in the Australian metric system we legislated - they don't exist!

A standard building industry door frame is 2040 x 820 mm

A sheet of melamne for your cupboards is 2420 x1810 mm

See - no centimeters - thats part of the European metric system not ours - all house plans in meters and millimeters - no centimeters.

So - wy do our kids school rulers have centimeters marked on them & why are schoopl kids taught centimeters, just another example of where our school system is failing us - some poor kids gonne get an apprenticeship and not be any use to his emplyer until they slap the school indoctinated beliefe in centimeters outta the kid so he can talk the same language as his tradesman employer.

OK now thats out the way - Tyres in inches coz the bulk of the worlds production is for the US which is still imperial measures.

Sadly i was born in 1959 and taught imperial at school then taught metric after the intro of decimal currency in 1996 & the intro of metric system in whatever year it was.

Being fluent in both is a blessing except that generations born before metrics can't speak it and generations born after can't speak imperial and evenn those who speak metric mostly don't understand it hence the misconception that we have centimeters in our metric system.

How many centimeters of rain does the weatherman report?

Thats right - zero - he reports in milimeters UNLESS theres more than 1000mm in a 24 hour period when he reports in meters!

Ring your local sawmill/lumber yard etc and ask for timber (or most any other building material) in centimeters!

Why is a door 2040 x 820?

Why aren't sheets of wall cladding etc in meter wide strips - why are sheets of corrugated roofing iron in widths of 1100 mm etc, NOT even spacings of 1 meter?

Well the answers in the OLD imperial building system with standard spacings for ceiling joists, floor joists, wall studs etc - in fractions of feet, such as wall studs at 2ft 6 inch centers! (762mm).

IF you bought sheets in say 1 meter widths - youd have to cut 238mm OFF the sheet to be able to join it over the wall stud and that would be very wastefull.

So - MOST of the industries, from Plans drawers (architects) builders and materials manufacturers, when they went metric stuck with the old imperial measurements and specifications for building widths spacings setbacks etc etc and manufactured sheets in sizes that would fit the old imperial spacings, and just labelled in millimeters, in odd sizings like 2040 x 820 (6ft 8 inches x 2ft 8inches)

Same as doors nowdays made to the same meaurements to fit those door jambs/frames.

Our metric system makes no sense at all and should be scrapped!.

Not that imperials any better!

An English imperial gallon is 4.54 liters, while a US gallon is 3.78 liters!

Ever wondered, why European (English) cars get more miles to a gallon that US Cars of similar design / displacement?

Yep english gallons are bigger than US Gallons.

Our Aussie/English 44 Gallon drum, is a 5 gallon drum in the USA!

Theres a zillion examples of where thewhole metric system is totally screwed.

We need to go back to basics.

A good question is why havent we metricated time yet?

Why have a time system in units of 60 hours minutes seconds...and a distance system in kilometers - it doesnt make any sense!

60 miless an hours is a mile a minute!

100 kms an hour is how many kilometers a minute?

See?

It's stupid to have systems that arent easey to manipulate like the old imperial system was.!

Metrics suck and ony helps to keep the world confused...

Imperial was based on things we could see - the old cubit being the length of a persons arm from fingertip to elbow and inch being the length of the second joint on your index finger, a foot litterally the length of your foot and so on.

A pint being the amount a day a good wetnurse could supply an infant!

(Theres a couple pints day rack!) ;o) LOL

Ohh what the heck - no one understands any more - we are all soooo screwed!

IF you REALLY REALY REALLY HONESTLY 100% wanted to know..........you'd study other cutlures time measurement systems - like the anchient Maya / &later, Azteks, whose calendric system had 2 measurements of time, one a 260 day SACRED YEAR related to sunspots activity & the other a 365 day VAGUE YEAR, related to the earths orbit about the sun.

The use of the 260 dayTzolkin year is very ancient, seeming to go back to at least the time of the olmecs.

Their calendar measures 1,366,560 days (5256 years of 260 days).

Maya used cycles of:-

144,000 days (1000 times a dozen dozen just as the bible taks about the 144000 who will be saved in the first tribulation of revelations).

7200 days

360 days

20 days

Duration.

They also had a fascination with the number 9

144,000 x 9 = 1,296,000

+

7200 x 9 = 64,800

+

360 x 9 = 3240

+

260 x 9 = 2340

+

20 x 9 = 180

now

1,296,000 + 64,800 + 3,240 + 2,340 + 180 = 1,366,560 days or the Maya great year!

The Maya had a belief in time cycles based on 52 years (52 cards in a deck of cards!) called Aztec centuries.

First Sun - Duration 676 years (52 x 13).
Second Sun - Duration 364 years (52 x 7)
Third Sun - Duration 312 years (52 x 6)
Fourth Sun - Duration 676 years (52 x 13)

In essence the Mayan system of 2 time measurements (Sacred and Vague years) measured the two primary influences affecting the earth.

Its somethng we as modern man have forgeooten and one of the reasons we constantly believe in false rumours like global warming - we have forgptten about the Sacred year measure that remates sunspots activity upon the earth on all of our weather and ocean systems and all our natural cycles.

The other 360 day year cycle accurately measures the phenomenon we understand in equinoctial precession - the precession of the equinoxes for our 26,000 something great year, and addresses the wanderings of our OWN magnetic poles over lengthy periods.

The Maya measured BOTH effects and as a reslt had a far better understanding than us of natural cycles and events.

At the end of the day metrication is only an attempt to take man further away from his natural roots such tha he doesn't even come to understand the fundamental relationships of TIME - and the effects of the Suns pulsating magnetic poles (it has 4) upon the earth and thus the effect of equinoctial precession upon our own magnetic poles.

The Maya could for example predict WHEN our own earth would suffer magnetic pole reversal as a result of the effect of the suns magnetic poles pulsation.

Earths Magnetic Pole reversal is a gologically proven fact - we KNOW it has happened inthe past we just don't know WHEN or WHY.

The Maya did - AND they had a system for predicting WHEN it would occur!

For those interested - the Mayan Calendar predicts the next Earth Magnetic Pole Reversal (Age of the Fifth sun)! as due in our gerogian calendar year 2012, on December 21 or 23rd -= depending who you believe!

Many people are expecting the "end of the world", "end of time" , or biblical "Time of the End", at the now well publicised date of December 21 (or 23) 2012, there are heaps of prophecy websites out there prediciting the worst.

If you think about Magnetic pole reversal on earth, it will indeed be a "end of time as we know it" and the beginning of a new age just as it has before at each of the ages of the new sun!

Not so difficult really - but then agan a LOT of people would rather believe the doomsdayers than do a little study of their own!

Those who try to analyse these natural cycles in metrics ahavent got a hopebecause they won't see the patterns of numbers occurring - with which we are familiar.

We can all see 52 cards in deck of cards, but who can see the reciprocal of the Fine structure constant Alpha (1/137th) in the great year, who can spot a goldem mean ration (as described by a fibonnachi sequence) in the sunspots activity cycle?

We ARE being deliberately decieved with our metric system in order to keep us DUMB to the comming changes - that other advaced civilisations were able to measure andunderstand.

The clues are all there for us - but how many of is understand and can see clearly?

FollowupID: 620535

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:01

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:01
Flywest,
YOU may think it sad that you were born in 1959, I have no problems with being born then at all ...... LOL

Otherwise some interestion information to ponder.

Wayne.

FollowupID: 620549

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:05

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:05
PS.
Doug,
you are correct that alot of people still use MPG over the l/100km.

...... and I would rather be dealing with someone is happy to put their "two bobs worth" in ................

Wayne.
FollowupID: 620551

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:02

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:02
Yeah Wayne - re 1959 - its sad alright - it makes me 50 in April - something I'm NOT looking forward too!

Ohh and the 44 english imperial gallon drum is a 55 US Gallons drum....I hate the inability to edit posts after the fact - I make so many phat phingers typos even I have a hard time reading & understanding my own posts!

It makes me appear even less intelligent, than I really am!

I took great delight in posting my MPG figures for the US Made F250 truck, on US diesel truck websites - they wanted to know how I got so many miles per gallon more than them....

I used to pull their legs and say ot was the correolis effect (water swirling down the plug hole counter clockwise in the southern hemisphere) which made OUR F trucks so much more fuel efficient.

Eventually someone twigged I was using the English imperial gallon measurement for my fuel and duping them!

It was fun while it lasted.......yet one more web forum I'm banned form! (Go figure). LOL

FollowupID: 620563

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, Mar 06, 2009 at 02:35

Friday, Mar 06, 2009 at 02:35
Interesting read Flywest - and I am another one from the vintage of 1959, turning the big 50 in June
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 620655

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:58

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 20:58
Why is every aircraft altimeter marked in feet

Why are electronic components laid out on a 0.1 inch grid ?

Why are all road distances in England still marked in Miles, not kilometres ?
AnswerID: 352220

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:36

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:36
Wasn't there an international agreement that any reference to aircraft altitude would be in feet?
FollowupID: 620464

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:42

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:42
Mike,

By international agreement aviators and mariners still use the imperial system of measurement for height, speed, distance, etc. It would be an enormous task to change (think of all the instrumentation, radar systems, charts, etc involved). I suspect that the US not changing to the metric system influences this as well.

Road distances in England? It is still an ongoing debate in Britain which has resulted in a very slow conversion to metric with strong resistance in some quarters. Couldn't be anything to do with the fact that it is a French system, could it?

FollowupID: 620491

Follow Up By: Alan H - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 11:13

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 11:13
My understanding of it in the UK is that the cost of changing over to kilometers far outweighs any benefits from doing it.
They have gone metric with money and how you can buy vegetables by weight etc., but why should there be a headlong rush to convert that which doesn't effect anyone else just for the sake of it?
The US of A still measures in imperial or their version of it, so just because our peanut pollies fell overboard to waste our money, does that mean everyone else should also do it? They probably feel the same way as the UK, it's just not worth the hassle.
Happy metric motoring.
Alan.
FollowupID: 620513

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:46

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 21:46
I worked in the computer stationery industry.

10 Characters to the inch - 6 lines to the inch.

Page size was metric!

Figure that one out.

AnswerID: 352227

Reply By: Splits - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 22:41

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 22:41
I will always remember the old customer who walked into a steel fabrication place that I was working for many years ago to buy a piece of angle iron. He wanted it cut to 1 metre 6 1/2 inches long!

AnswerID: 352236

Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:38

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 23:38
As a teacher I haven't taught the imperial measurements for years. Small kids still know about inches and feet though!
AnswerID: 352243

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 00:05

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 00:05
The US was apparently the last country in the world to change to metric and absolutely nothing there is in metric. Then again their gallon is different to imperial anyway.

It is certainly a better method of measuring everything once you get used to it.

My dad was a bit of a character and always asked for half inch metric when asking for 12mm threaded rod.

FollowupID: 620466

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:06

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:06
Angler,
I used to think that too.... but recently I joined up as a member of a US-based forum ("Diesel Page".... it deals with Chev V8 diesels for the most part). There are a lot of members from Canada too.

They all seem to mix-up their metrics and imperials....even the yanks. So, I think it's slowly starting to take hold, even in the states......
FollowupID: 620482

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:20

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:20
you buy threaded rod in both metric and imperial
FollowupID: 620484

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:30

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:30
Angler,

The US hasn't changed to the metric system, and I wouldn't hold your breath waiting for it. There was a push and a trial some 10 or 15 years ago but it was soundly rejected and I don't think anyone would want to try and get elected on that platform.

Pity, working in multiples of 10 really is a much simpler system.

FollowupID: 620487

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 07:32

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 07:32
Had one apprentice that was sent for an 8" shifter and came back with a 200mm shifter so he was sent back to get the right tool.
The same guy was doing some measuring and when asked how long it was? He said "One metre a bit and a little bit"
AnswerID: 352258

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:21

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:21
you cruel bugga...hahaha
FollowupID: 620485

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:33

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:33
refrigeration copper tube only comes in imperial....ie 1/4 inch, 5/16, 3/8, 1/2, 5/8, 3/4, 7/8 etc etc..(OD sizes)

They used to catalogue it as metric but but have now stopped for some reason..... it was not a true metric size eg 6mm anyway.... 6mm was in fact 1/4inch or 0.250" or 6.35 mm....the european 6mm was 6mm exactly!

AnswerID: 352265

Follow Up By: Ray - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:48

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 08:48
There are a lot of things that are so called metric but are in fact imperial but given metric numbers. Line pipe for instance is given a metric size but the flanges are imperial
FollowupID: 620494