Reviving an old Engel

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 15:57
ThreadID: 66526 Views:2631 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
About 3 years ago our 1985 15litre plastic Engel fridge stopped working on 12volt in the back of the little car. So we went to the camping shop in te regional town and bought a 40lt Waeco.

The Engel got stuck in the corner of the shed and I used it as a beer fridge on 240volt when the occasions arose.

SWMBO has been telling me about all the food we have to cart with us on our adventure into the deserts this year and storage space has become an issue. So I grabbed the old Engel from its place in the shed, drew the cobwebs away and started fiddling with the 12volt cord. Managed to find another head of the cig socket bit, replaced a rusted looking fuse, fiddled with the wires and away it went. Now there must be a bad connection somewhere as the plug only works at a certain angle(that plug broke years ago and I took the wiring out the top of the back of the fridge) so I found the right angle and taped it with 100mph tape. It works well and still freezes. Then I taped some rubber to the bottom of the fridge as one of the feet has broken off and got it sitting level.

So with a bit of mucking around in the storage compartment with the jig saw and the drill, the old Engel sits proudly next to the 32lt Engel and Two-zone. Hopefully the 70 litres of fridge space will be enough for our desert sojourn of 30 days!

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:01

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:01
I'd replace the Cigarette lighter plugs with something a bit more practical.

I've been using a 2 pin Britax plug and socket and it never gives any trouble. Others use the anderson style of plugs which are very robust and fault free.

AnswerID: 352341

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:22

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:22
Hi Willem

So you have 70 litres of fridge space for your Beer, what are you going to put the Tucker in ,lol lol.

Daza
FollowupID: 620542

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:11

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 16:11
Yup- ciggie lighters are for lighting ciggies..
Suggest you use a purpose built socket/plug such as the Britax or Merit for a more positive connection..
I think it's the Britax one that has the screw in plug- for a really good connection..

AnswerID: 352343

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:12

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:12
Yeah well. I have thought of hard-wiring it to my fusebox under the bonnet. Might still do that. Got a few months left before travel to get into mischief...lol

FollowupID: 620553

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:21

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:21
Gday, willem,We use an 18l waeco as a dedicated freezer in the back of the cruiser,it is amazing how much you can pack in. Jan puts meat into serves in freezer bags before packing.On our last trip,10 weeks,she also cryovacced some as well,it lasted the full trip.On the wiring problem,why don`t you have a look on ABRs web site under breakers and fuses, some good,safe, gear there.
I think it`s best to hard-wire any permanent 12v gear into fused a j-box in the storage area, then you only have one pair of heavy cables to your aux batt., up front.Hope this is helpful .

Best regards Keith C
AnswerID: 352353

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:54

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 17:54
Hi Keith

I have a new fusebox under the bonnet (the subject of a long thread on this forum a while back). Still one fuse available in the box :-)

Judith bought a Cryovac machine recently to facilitate long term camping. Almost a bit late in the day for this but previously they were too expensive.

So yes, I will probably hard wire it. At the moment the cig socket ios attached to a 240volt wire(another long discussion here) that runs from the fusebox to the rear of the wagon. Only positive and negative wires are used. I use the socket for lighting and pumping for 12v appliances.

FollowupID: 620562

Reply By: PandJ - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:22

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:22
Hi Willem,

Maybe you should dig into the piggy bank and get a new cord complete for the old burner !
I prefer the Merit type plug, but just changed ours back to cig lighter type in our new camper cause the Engel uses them.

Cheers P&J
AnswerID: 352362

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:28

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:28
Gidday Willem

I don’t know if this means much, but I’ve gone to marine grade sockets. Everything else I’ve tried has carked it after a bit of time (even with heavy cable).

PS I reckon if you put much more into that car your going need tracks. What's it weigh now, 9 tonnes?

Kim
AnswerID: 352363

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:49

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:49
Kim

I seldom have electrical problems. Must be my bush mechanix style

Ye old Nissan is still under GVM fully laden!!!

Weight is in the trailer...:-)

FollowupID: 620569

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:56

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 18:56
Willem, At first glance i though you said reving an old engine!!!,

Thinking straight away, don't tell me ol reliable has got him worried....lol.

All you have to do with the fridge is to get SWMBO to hold that taped up cord at the right angle for 30days!....hahahaha.

AnswerID: 352370

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 19:16

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 19:16
Hahahahahaha...yerrr. Might get the dog to lie on that part of the fridge :-)

FollowupID: 620578

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 20:31

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 20:31
I dont actually believe you may use that fuse box for what it was originally intended for lol
AnswerID: 352386

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 21:15
Really? Better get back to my supplier then..........lol
FollowupID: 620622