Some people have no respect or brains, please tread lightly!
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:01
Geoff (Newcastle, NSW)
These photo's were lifted from another
forum where they'd been posted by David from P7 Offroad. (David tells me he isn't the photographer, just a relay like myself. They are posted here with his knowledge and consent)
The subject is very relevant to this
forum too, looking after areas we have access to and ensuring the mentally challenged stay at home.
This mental midget has driven up
Eli Creek on Fraser Island.
That means he has driven over some sort of sensitive vegetation and around or over the board walks to get past the first bridge!
Apparently the relevant authorities are involved and are treating it as a one off act of stupidity complete with the throwing of a very large book.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Corio - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:08
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:08
Bloody moron.Lets hope some
water has entered the mechanicals somewhere and made it an expensive exercise.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:26
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:26
That appears to be a common and
well founded sentiment, the idea of some lasting mechanical reminders as
well as the legal ones.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:35
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:35
Well I assume the car is still there because it is drowned, lots of photos with no car moving.
Question is why would you want to do it in the first place? Actually ther is no answer for that but what others have called the driver.
Reply By: BenDiD - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:13
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:13
I hope he does his license and gets banned from national parks.
Geoff - thanks for naming (at least publishing his photo) and shaming this fool.
Can you imagine if a major network news had footage of this? -It would give every so called greenie and other 4WD haters endless ammunition.
What he has done isn't even challenging - if he wanted to test his 4WD skills he should have gone to Lancruiser Mountain
Park.
Lairs like this bloke make me so angry. I am a frequent visitor to Fraser Is and if I had been floating down
Eli Creek with my daughter as he drove up it would not have been pretty.
Reply By: Falco80 - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:17
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:17
What a tool! I hope the perpetrator is caught and gets a roasting.
It's no wonder that us 4wdrivers all get tarred with the same brush and are seen as nature-destroying bogans to the general public, after seeing this.
Someone should take his keys away....
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:18
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:18
Apparently the rangers attended this incident and legal action is pending. Hope they throw the book at the pr!ck!!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:21
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:21
give him a job carting away palms i reckon!!!!!
cheers :-))
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:22
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:22
Hi Mr Bitchi,
That's the mail I have too, the rangers are in it up to their ears and are taking a very, very dim view of the dimwit.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:54
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 14:54
Hi Geoff,
These are the type of pictures that give us responsible wheel drivers a very bad reputation. One can only ask, what type of RICHARD CRANIAM would even think of doing something so stupid and irresponsible as this. Like all of the above, I hope the Government Authorities throw the book at him and I hope that they confiscate his vehicle.
We do not need people out there like this that ruin it for the rest of us.
Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:01
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:01
I remember some clowns on motor cycles hooning around
Lake Poeppel, breaking up the surface. Having a great time until the cop from
Birdsville came along with a Qld National Parks lady.
They were hunted back to
Birdsville, as was their backup troopy. The lady told us before she left that you can be legally barred from Qld. National Parks, a restriction which she enacted.
As they were from S.A. they had to go home the long way, plus with a fistful of tickets both each, complements of police & parks.
Al old saying, "You can't educate mugs".
Good stuff!
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:01
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:01
you said you are not the photographer then you are most likely not authorised to post these photos. Never heard of copyright laws ??
A link to the photos would be more appropriate and the original photographer most likely did not have a model release either. If I would be the guy in the picture (unlikely though) I would make some money of you to pay the fines.
good luck
gmd
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:09
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:09
Whatever,
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:13
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:13
Model releases are only needed if the pictures are advertising a product, that is available for sale, containing a male / female model.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:41
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:41
GMD
Geoff has done what any responsible person has done, and that is share with the greater community what stupid people do to stuff it up for everybody. I think you should go back under the stone where you have been hiding, as comments like yours are more offensive than the pictures!!
Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:51
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:51
GMD.
Show me the copyright laws????????? for these photo's,or a site link to the copyright Laws,...........I bet he is one of a few, who only goes out on a weekend, to spoil it for the rest of us, What Geoff and Stephen L has said, i will agree with, and we must be very carefull not to upset N/Parks,as they might one day,close all the parks to 4/w/drives, and then make us get Permits for us to enter them. so then they know, who has been in their.
Cheers for now...Willian H...Bunbury..WA.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 17:22
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 17:22
Under Australian law, you can't stop someone taking photos of you if you're in a public place (provided the photos are not lewd, obscene etc) and then publishing them.
There is no expectation of privacy in a public place.
Follow Up By: Pajpower - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:44
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:44
GMD.........nah not worth it
Have a nice day
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:19
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:19
hahahah good troll gmd, are you claiming the copyright? In which case you would be the one on the pics?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:32
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:32
"hahahah good troll gmd, are you claiming the copyright? In which case you would be the one on the pics?"
That was pretty much my thoughts.
I wonder what he's going to do with my mortgage?
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:38
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:38
I smell a rat here! No
sign of GMD for 6 hrs, I reckon he's the one that took the pics, AND is a mate of the tool that drove the ute. for what other reason would one get so uptight about copyright laws huh??!!. mmmmmm. The bloke who drove the ute is a prime tool, any of his mates there with him need a big "L" on their foreheads too.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:00
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:00
In this situation Copyright is irrelivent. The thread has been turned into a news item and copyright does not apply to either product, people or property.
This is the news I got from the thread
"That means he has driven over some sort of sensitive vegetation and around or over the board walks to get past the first bridge!
Apparently the relevant authorities are involved and are treating it as a one off act of stupidity complete with the throwing of a very large book."
In my opinion it constitutes as a news story so copyright has not been infringed.
I was once a pro photog and yes I have had one of my pics used in a news story without my permission......
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:36
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:36
Uncle,
"Model releases are only needed if the pictures are advertising a product, that is available for sale, containing a male / female model."
A model/property release should be obtained prior to any image being published. Unless it is a news story. Magazines get away with it by captioning the pics with things like
"Uncle driving his 4WD in the bush"
It is now a news story.
Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 00:09
Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 00:09
HI geoff.
alook's like he entered into the
creek in the last pick.
Cheers for now.....William H...Bunbury ...WA.
Reply By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:58
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 15:58
To be honest when I first saw this (on here), I thought someone was having a lend. I honestly thought it would turn out to be a photo-
shop special effect or something like that.
However I see there's plenty of info to support that it's authentic.
What can I say about this or these twats that hasn't already been said other than ' You can lead a hore to culture but you can't make them think'!
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:17
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:17
We have been going to Fraser Island and Teewah Beach /
Rainbow Beach for over 30 years, and it amazes me how these locations have
been damaged by not only Morons in those photos, but various types of vandals that set foot in the area, Tourist Buses that don't give a stuff about any body, (some campers) that are not educated enough to have the right even to go on to these
places let alone
camp there with there filthy habits, people who wash with soap ect in
Eli Creek, Day Trippers that leave Tons of Rubbish plus Nappies strewn around the place, I could go on & on about the mindless idiots that spoil the place for others, all I can say is that we have seen these
places in the good times, our Grand Children and their kids will only be able to see it in Books and on Screens ect, I reckon the
places should be closed off for at least 12 months to Rejuvenate, otherwise we will lose it for ever if the Greenies have their way.
Daza
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:31
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:31
Bloody lovely prestine waterway ,Technically he hasnt gone past the point.. (
Sign on the
bridge)..I do not know the area,did he pass other signage and warnings to get where he is ????
Is it a
swimming hole ????
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:39
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:39
Hi Warfer
There are Signs all over the place, but apparently that IDIOT needs one Nailed to his Forehead.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:39
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:39
I assumed he did not jump or dive into the water! He did find it deeper than it looked! :-0. Other than that the
sign does not say no driving! So that
sign is not relevant. Cheers Tony :-)
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:43
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:43
There are Signs down towards the Mouth of
Eli Creek, where you can park ect, people can swim and float down towards
the beach,
its very popular.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:45
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:45
We also have to assume that they do not want people past that point & just not cars driving up a river :-).
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:52
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 16:52
Hi Warfer,
Eli Creek is on the east coast of
Fraser Island and is a beautiful, pristine creek that runs at I believe about 4,000,000 litres per hour of crystal clear drinking quality water.
It is a popular swimming
spot for families with
young children, especially the lower section were it tends to be shallower and fans out a little as it crosses the beach on its way to the sea.
There are always children swimming in it and floating down it from this bridge on air beds etc.
It's also part of the world
heritage listed
Fraser Island National Park.
The whole thing is just stupidity of the highest order.
He also needed to get past this bridge, how that was achieved is anyones guess! Note: The differing sand levels under that bridge and the families playing in the creek.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:24
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:24
Yeah he has obviously made his own track somewhere,lets hope he cops whats coming to him and not a measly on the
spot fine (make an example towards 4x4 stupidity).
Thanks Geoff for the picks although the second pic of the boy in the bottom right looks like he's lost his Duds ....
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:32
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 18:32
"Thanks Geoff for the picks although the second pic of the boy in the bottom right looks like he's lost his Duds .... "
Mate, you've got better eye's than I have if that is the case!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:21
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:21
Look again Geoff, that kids showing more cheek than Kevin Rudd!
But youre right, I thought that too how dya get around that bridges?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:40
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:40
Geez fella's I think you might be right, either that or it's one serious wedgie!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:50
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:50
They are very very very old photos of
Eli Creek
Kev
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 23:03
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 23:03
Hi Kev,
It's also been a while since I've been to
Fraser Island.
Do some of your more recent pictures tell a different tale?
| Geoff,
Reply By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 17:38
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 17:38
G'day Geoff,
Well, like most who have posted here, words fail me. Who in their right mind would even consider driving up Eli Ck? As someone who has floated down it in the past, the thought of a vehicle in there beggars belief.
I hope the rangers and Qld's finest make sure he can't do it again (at least with that vehicle). Maybe while coming up the beach, he should have turned right at the Eli Ck parking lot instead of left? :-)
With d1ckhe@ds like that around, no wonder the Great Unwashed (lead by our friend Scrubby Harold) think we're all a mob of environmental vandals.
Still shaking my head,
Reply By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:04
Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:04
I am infuriated. All i can hope is that the car is detained and destroyed under the excellent "hoon" laws in Qld.
There are native
fish species on the verge of extinction there. Not to mention the potential danger he posed to kids that enter the water and float down, aaargh, i gotta stop now and do something constructive.