Saturday night and Malcolm Douglas

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:06
ThreadID: 66614 Views:4182 Replies:15 FollowUps:26
His shows are just getting better and better, making pavlova from a pre mix, quick cook rice out of a packet. Just goes to show we all love a bit of new technology.

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:09

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:09
I was'nt terribly wrapt in the baked feral cat though LOL

AnswerID: 352794

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:13

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:13
We have just saw that no DLS here in Qld hahahahaha
FollowupID: 620953

Follow Up By: troopyman - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:00

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:00
Bake as many as you can before they kill all the native wildlife .
FollowupID: 620968

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:12

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:12
So many cats, so few recipies
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

FollowupID: 620974

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 15:54

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 15:54
Fur coats
FollowupID: 621121

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 13:12

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 13:12
Cosy slippers!!! Michael

FollowupID: 621395

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:17

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:17
Facinating Character !, Thats for sure. Must be very content with the experience he has had with the outback, and all the people he has been associated with over the last 30 or so yrs.

AnswerID: 352797

Reply By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:24

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:24
The cynic in me says that after he sits around with the Koori people sharing their tucker & jabbering away, then gets up and leaves that surely one of the Koori ask "anyone know who that fella was"? The reply might be "no idea and I sure can't understand a word he say either. But I can tell you it's not English".

Okay, okay......only joking. He is terrific and I'm glad that feral cat is on someone's menu.
AnswerID: 352800

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:26

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:26
Bugga, I missed it again!
AnswerID: 352802

Follow Up By: PradOz - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:25

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:25
after only seeing the last 10 minutes a few weeks back from continually forgetting to tune in i now pre-tape it. already set tape for next week
FollowupID: 620980

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:31

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:31
End of this series bummer
AnswerID: 352803

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:39

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:39
Bruce,
I also seen him say it was end of series but then the TV channel (prime I think ) showed the preview of next weeks show .
Interesting show so I hope it goes on for a bit longer.

Scrubby
FollowupID: 620958

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:37

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:37
The next series starts next week. Willem wont miss again. Betcha.
AnswerID: 352805

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:57

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:57
I had it on my list of things to do today but a Skype call came up and so it was missed. Thats life.
FollowupID: 620966

Reply By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:39

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:39
Back on Prime next Sat'dy night. What a BBQ aye...Cat, Roo, Goanna...how are the moggy lovers going now???
AnswerID: 352806

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:51

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:51
Thanks for that guys next week again and then as I am watching New Tricks ABC just love these guys to.
FollowupID: 620962

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:27

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:27
Howdy Fred, I am one of the "moggy lovers" but have no problem with that. There is no place for them out there. Have shot my share while out hunting other game. Same goes I am NOT a dog lover but I still don't like seeing them being mistreated.
FollowupID: 621078

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:49

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:49
Gidday Bruce

I’m afraid Douglas doesn’t rattle my mettles as much as some. The show is becoming repetitive, but I will admit it may be educational for the young.

There’s a lot of old fellas throughout the Kimberley and Pilbura who would give him a run for money. Trouble is, they don’t have a camera or sponsorship.

Kim
AnswerID: 352808

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:56

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 20:56
To true Kim to true, I am just glad that some one can show our younger generation that there is some thing else besides computer games. Sorry they would not be watching anyway so its great for us oldies, well me and a couple of other chaps here lol
FollowupID: 620965

Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:04

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:04
Hi Kim,

Maybe repetitive but has organised segments the way most humans work in life. Ie broken into set groups with defined tasks. I'd say he's done a lot of on how the majority of the population think and organise life.

Sure there's always someone better at specific tasks. However if they were better at all they'd be in his place. Don't see it as anyone but if they were better overall they'd be creating the we see. Ie getting sponsors, creating the series, marketing, etc, etc, etc.

But I guess you're just doing what we do best, tall poppies!!

Put him in a group of 1000's of us that believe we know how to survive, through them in the bush and see who comes out 6mths latter.
FollowupID: 620969

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:38

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:38
Gidday Bruce

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not being negative. Your post has rekindled an idea I’ve been playing with for some time. That is to encourage the old bushies to write about their experiences.

How this is done remains a challenge. Many of the old buggars are a closed shop, and won’t open up until a bit of trust is established.

Sure there are a few good books around, but we’re almost loosing word of mouth. Most of these characters are now well into their 70’s.

Kim
FollowupID: 620984

Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:39

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:39
G'day guys, my kids love the computer as much as the next kid, and ours have a time limit, BUT when they know Malcom Douglas is coming on, they yell to me " Dad, Malcom is on, hurry up" , i was brought up camping and i have passed it on, and they reckon anything to do with the great outdoors is fantastic.
More M.D in our family is a must.

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

FollowupID: 621150

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:15

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:15
Hahahah I loved the episode, shades of Russell Coight with his cars changing colour hahahaha

And that pedalling guy - amazing!

He is a contrast eh, pavlova and goanna and Bardi grubs.

AnswerID: 352819

Reply By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:16

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:16
Douglas , Hiddins , Leyland Bros , Steve Erwin , are all fine with back up people , resupplies, sponsors , cameras .. But there are people out there today that do exactly what they are doing just as a way of life and not being paid big dollars for it..
Ron MACKENZIE

AnswerID: 352820

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:45

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:45
Didn't the Leyland Brothers do all their own filming?
FollowupID: 621003

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 00:27

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 00:27
Yes Ron, but we dont see them in our lounge rooms.

Nobody's saying he is the oracle of the bush or anything, but he is one of the few that is bringing it for others to see.

Tall poppies.
FollowupID: 621025

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:43

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:43
You forgot Troy Dan!
FollowupID: 621442

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:26

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:26
I turned on a bit late so can anyone tell me where he was when talking to the cockie with the old tractors please?
M.
AnswerID: 352825

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:40

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 21:40
That bit kinda went over my head (not the tractors, but the actual location), but I think it was somewhere in the WA wheatbelt.....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 620987

Follow Up By: Batboy - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:14

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:14
Bob Hathway at Kalanni WA Wheatbelt
FollowupID: 620994

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:17

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:17
G'day Mal & Di

The "old Cockie" as you call him is from the wheet belt town of Kalannie, which is east of Dalwallinu. Both towns are north east (ish) of Perth WA.

FollowupID: 620995

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:20

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:20
G'day again.

Oops that's Wheat not wheet ~ sorry
FollowupID: 620996

Follow Up By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:55

Saturday, Mar 07, 2009 at 22:55
Thanks for that. I hope to go that way later in the year but not that far west. Will go north from Kalgoorlie.
M.
FollowupID: 621011

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 09:05

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 09:05
I watched him last night instead of the ABC News.

Enjoyed his show, and thank de Lord, he didn't say "Crikey" once.

I like Les. too, but he didn't do a cooking section. Only an eating one.

Dick
AnswerID: 352865

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:05

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:05
Don't forget that for $1100 you can buy his full set of DVD;s

Malcolm Douglas full DVD set available here
FollowupID: 621108

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:24

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:24
I picked up some old Jack Absalom dvds recently - very old school and his finger-wagging mannerisms are amusing. The kids are always in hysterics but you can pick up some good tips from him.
AnswerID: 352917

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 18:57

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 18:57

snap - I got a couple the other day too

I have "in the steps of Charles Sturt" and "The BIrdvsille track'

Great viewing

Notable - using soap to catch Yabbies - his philosophy on tire pressures (almost opposite to todays theory - although tires were different then too)

Whic ones do you have?

FollowupID: 621140

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:16

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:16
got a pack of four mate - $20 from BCF.

Charles Sturt
Kimberley
Birdsville
Strzelecki

I was gonna mention that very thing, about tyre pressures but didn't. Funny how things/opinions change. The Mrs picked up a couple as well - one "Survival" and one Western NSW (Broken Hill etc) which actually goes onto Eyre Peninsula and is called Lilliput. Although they're all a bit old, they are still largely relevant. I have plenty of respect and admiration for the man but you can't help a wry smirk at his tendency to lecture.

We like the one where he's in Tibooburra and there's a party of people coming out of the pub. He waylays them at the door as they're all coming out ( "Jeez I was only here for a beer and a pie or three" ;)) and has a word in their ear about safety in the bush, saying "I never miss an opportunity to give advice to people...............dadada" He meant well, but.....

Very enjoyable though.

We got a couple of Leyland Bros too, just for old times' sake.
FollowupID: 621146

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:42

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:42
Yeah - and he also says to the guy with a can of beer in his hand - "Good to see you are taking your fire extinguisher with you" - classic

I will get into BCF and pick up the set - I enjoy him and its good to see the areas that he went into and compare them to how they look today

FollowupID: 621151

Reply By: Flywest - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 15:20

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 15:20
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 352927

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 17:41

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 17:41
Just proves my point really - you are the root cause of your own complaint and cannot learn from your mistakes - even when they are pointed out to you politely and sncerely!

There are non so blind as those who cannot/will not, see!

AnswerID: 353099