Sat Phone or HF Radio

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 21:27
ThreadID: 66648 Views:3967 Replies:13 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Evening all,

Chatting to a mate today who is retiring in 2 years and he's weighing up the pros and cons of these 2 options. It's something I have little knowledge in and all I've picked up along the way is:

HF: can talk to fellow travellers (without big $$$ per minute fee), if in need of trouble there's someone on the other end to get things rolling.

Satphone: as long as you see sky you'll get reception, if in trouble you need to know which numbers to call to get rescue/help (can't you call 000?).

Both expensive to purchase (unless hiring), phones high cost to use, HF licence fee's but talk is free.

He has asked for my advice but it's one area I'm not confident in. Can any one give some advice from experience on what option he should be looking at?

Thanks everyone,

Mark.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 21:43

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 21:43
This query pops up regularly here - see the page here on Eoz re Outback Communications - there is also one at www.vks737.on.net ..... the Satphones link .... makes comparisons too.... should be informative....(HF for me).
AnswerID: 352977

Reply By: SteveD - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 21:47

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 21:47
Gidday Mark