Patrol V Cruiser

Submitted: Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 18:08
ThreadID: 6665 Views:1793 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
The age old question. Which is the better? I'll give you a bit of background in what our intentions are.In a couple of years we would like to travel/workabout Aust. We will be towing upto a 20' van. Prefer to have a cab/chassis with canopy so that we can offload the van and go bush. Is there any comparisons available on the turbo diesels? (Patrol/cruiser).
Any info. would be handy.

Reply By: Dunedigger - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 18:30

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 18:30
I've had two patrols and now a 79 series.

The extra power of the latest 79 is awsome. I don't know how there can be so much difference when the engines on paper seem identical.

About 20% better econmomy as well.

I just don't expect the gearbox to last. That seems to be a toyota probllem from what I am hearing.

The 79 is not as well appointed ( it's not appointed ! ! !0 but it has great dash for storing EVERYTHING ! Drivers visability is A1 especialy when towing a wider van

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 28330

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 18:58

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 18:58
gday greg try here.
http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au/.nci/NCICompareDet.asp
you can compare any car to any car.
if that dosnt work just try.
http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au.
and there is a comparison ling down on the left hand side.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 28337

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 19:25

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 19:25
How long is a piece of string?
AnswerID: 28342

Follow Up By: 4by - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:39

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:39
Truckster,
Ahh i love this question...
Answer:
Twice half it's length :^)
FollowupID: 19627

Follow Up By: 4by - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:41

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:41
Truckster,
Ahh i love this question...
Answer:
Twice half its length :^)
FollowupID: 19630

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:38

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:38
But what is the original length?
FollowupID: 19651

Follow Up By: Member - Shawn - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 07:33

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 07:33
Sorry mate can't resist
At work it comes in 500m or 1,000m rolls
Thats pretty damn lomgKeep your powder dry
FollowupID: 19662

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:22

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:22
To compare Cruisers and Patrols you have to remember that the Cruiser is about a generation ahead of the Patrol. Therefore comparisons are a bit unfair as you're not comparing apples with apples. For example where a Cruiser has constant 4wd you're still out in the mud locking hubs in the Patrol. Their latest series ads show them even spinning their back wheels while trying to tow another Patrol backwards!!! What an image for a 4wd!! And the power of their most powerful yet Patrol is just a touch higher than the mid sized Toyota Prado. Not really any comparison I guess.
AnswerID: 28352

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:37

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:37
Another fashion victim?Regds

FollowupID: 19626

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:40

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:40
Oh yea Cruisers are way ahead of the rest with IFS.... LOL!!!!
FollowupID: 19629

Follow Up By: kezza - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:52

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:52
Sure - Yer out in the mud locking in hubs in the patrol cause that great limited slip diff got you further in the MUD in 2wd than most other 4bys get in 4wd -
kezza
FollowupID: 19634

Follow Up By: Luke - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:00

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:00
bahaha :-)

....you might be out in the mud locking front hubs fool, but I'd just let the auto locking front hubs lock for me whilst I stayed in the cabin :-)

once I got through the mud I might consider getting out to manually lock them if I knew I had lots more slippery stuff ahead of me :-)

...rather have the versatility of p/time 4WD any day :-)
FollowupID: 19635

Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:22

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:22
Can you explain the extra versality of part time 4WD please Luke ... and why the abuse? I simply stated the facts on a comparison - you just can't compare them because they're not the same .... they don't cost the same either. I know that and I guess that's the problem that some people have when they see people with things they can't afford they get nasty and call them fools.
FollowupID: 19649

Follow Up By: kezza - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:48

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:48
Yawn!..........................scratch.. scratch..scratch!!!
FollowupID: 19654

Follow Up By: Luke - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 01:34

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 01:34
Surely you can see how your description of the Patrol in your post could generate some negativity Mick?

...apologies for the hastiness of my reply.

Luke.
FollowupID: 19658

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 08:46

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 08:46
Hey Mick, this forum does not tolerate factual inaccuracies and sweeping generalisations well, that could be why you got flamed.Regds

FollowupID: 19667

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 11:02

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 11:02
Mick, not all cruisers have constant 4wd, my 105 series wagon has manual hubs.
FollowupID: 19677

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 20:30

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 20:30
Well I've looked carefully and can't see anyone disagreeing with what I've said! My description of their ads is spot on as is my description of the vehicle. It is NOT a criticism, just a statement of fact. They're cheaper and less popular and a generation behind. Remember the Patrol in the early 1980s? It was a copy of the Toyota FJ55 which finished in 1979 after a run of about 15 years. In those days they were several generations behind - still not a criticism just a fact! I think there are a few very sensitive Patrol owners around.
FollowupID: 19732

Follow Up By: haze - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 20:39

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 20:39
The funny thing about that ad. was that whilst the smoke/steam whatever was pouring off the back wheels there was nearly a foot of slack in the tow rope!
FollowupID: 19733

Follow Up By: kezza - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:26

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:26
I think everybodys just ignoring you Mick - !!
FollowupID: 19754

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:30

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:30
Do you REALLY think so? 13th follow up or haven't you noticed? Perhaps I've said it all correctly.
FollowupID: 19755

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:49

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 22:49
or perhaps its all crap and others know it but dont need to feed the Troll?
FollowupID: 19759

Follow Up By: kezza - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 23:01

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 23:01
Gees Mick If you've got it Right. - then there's a lot of mugs driving around in inferior vehicles, and loving it, - simple as that. (such simple souls)

In fact theres a Big Multi National Company you should have a yarn to as well - tell them to lift their act because they are selling heaps of antiquated vehicles.
And you better have a word to Landcruiser Mountain Park - Tell them to Replace their Nissan Patrol recovery vehicle with something that won't embarrass them.

Oh and as for the ads - Mate! Im always telling my kids - "Dont beleive anything you see On TV" - especially the Ads.

But as for this lot - dont waste yer time they have been worked over by experts but they still retain their opinions of what they drive - quite a bit of excellent experience on this forum too I might add. But dont let that detract from your post.

The great thing about this forum is that opinions are welcome - you are welcome to yours and we've heard it. Reason nobody disagrees with you is that its been done about 50,000 times before and nobody bothers to argue much anymore -

Kes

FollowupID: 19761

Follow Up By: kezza - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2003 at 20:52

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2003 at 20:52
Mick???

Maybe he didnt get it right!
FollowupID: 19833

Reply By: Member - Bill- Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:57

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 20:57
Greg,

One of the 4by mags had a ute test recently (4wd mthly), someone will know. Patrol gives you a choice of coil (generation ahead) or leaves (old tech like Toyota)n the back which could make a difference with you having variable loads.Regds

AnswerID: 28358

Reply By: Phil R - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:01

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:01
UH OH, HERE WE GO AGAIN !!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 28359

Follow Up By: kezza - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:09

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:09
Oh but isnt it funny............LOL
FollowupID: 19637

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:16

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 21:16
dosnt this site have a filter to stop swear words from being shown.
might be time to upgrade it so nissan&toyota dont come together in the same post......... lol.......—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 19638

Reply By: Williewags- Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:36
Up in Central Australia the locals say:

"Hey boss, dat Nissan a big mob betta dan Toyota"

"Why?"

"Toyota dey only last 6 months................Nissan dey lasta bit longa"

From the horses mouth...don't quote me:-)

Happy hunting

Willie
Gunbarrel Highway.

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 28375

Reply By: kezza - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:57

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 22:57
It doesnt answer Poor old Gregs original Question
But.......................................................

One Mans Nightmare........

Is Another Mans Wet Dream!

?
AnswerID: 28378

Reply By: Tony - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 07:20

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 07:20
When it all boils down there is not to much difference between them, it's what ever turns you on.

And if you are spending most of your time pulling a van go for the one that does it easier - Toyota.
AnswerID: 28391

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 09:30

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 09:30
Hi Greg
I went through an identical problem 2 years ago. Retiring, getting rid of the kids (not travelling with the old man, now we are all grown up) and wanting to travel Oz. We decided on the GU patrol for several reasons

1. The amount of room and comfort in the Cab was better than the Toyota
2. The choice of rear coil or leaf
3. About $12000 cheaper, Nissan gave a reduction of $8500 with ABN Toyota Nil.
4 Airconditioning was an expensive option with Toyota, Nissan free
5 Toyota had more power, but hey we're not in that much of a hurry

We have been happy with the choice having travelled 45000 in 18 months and no problems except a fuel transfer pump which was replaced under warrantee, different design

Hope that helps. Both vehicles are excellent, it is up to you
Raywanderin' in retirement. victor 2010
AnswerID: 28397

Reply By: kezza - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 10:37

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 10:37
I think on this forum you get 2 polarised views - in many cases the toyota is favoured in others the nissan.
For towing both excellent, - for creature comforts each to his own.
When one debates offroad ability - its a minefield and opinions will flame up.
One has to laugh.

What I often smile about is that "Landcruiser Mountain Park" uses a Nissan Patrol as its recovery vehicle!

Work that out or debate that fact.

Kez

AnswerID: 28401

Reply By: peck - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 17:54

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2003 at 17:54
I've had both. Troopie for 10 years and Patrol cab/chassis for 3 so far. The Nissan breaks a lot sooner and more seriously than the Toyota. Windscreen pillars cracked at 200,000 km in Troopie but chassis cracked in Nissan at 65,000 km (plus gearbox plus locking hub etc.). The Nissan may offer a few more comforts but is nowhere as tough. For my next vehicle I'm definitely going back to Toyota.
AnswerID: 28455

Reply By: Member - Bill- Wednesday, Aug 20, 2003 at 17:47

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2003 at 17:47
Greg,

I just picked up a copy of the September "Overlander". Great article comparing most cab/chassis 4WD's - essential reading for you. Mick would also be interested in the letter of the month and the one next to it that the bloke wrote about him.Regds

AnswerID: 28545