Caravan Aerial

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 16:56
ThreadID: 66858 Views:4591 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Hi everyone, I have been doing a bit of research on caravan aerials or in this case an aerial I can use for my camper trailer.

Had a look at some of the old threads but not a lot of information.

It seems the digimatch aerial was favoured by many.

I have also had a look at the "happy wanderer" aerial.

Any help would be appreciated.

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:18

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:18
Well I reckon I've tried most of them, but I currently have a Wyngard (I think that's the spelling) Works well has a built in Booster. Picks up telly in most places.

Have a TV Technician mate who reckons the old style ones they had on houses with all the arms poking out are the best. Pain to set up.
AnswerID: 354127

Reply By: peteC - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:42

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:42
Cram, been there done that wasted the money to prove it. Go to Bunnings and get the standard looking uhf/vhf that you might see on the house. Bunnings have one for caravans that is resonibly easy fold up and works perfect. I think they were around $50. Just need a piece of pipe to mount it on.
AnswerID: 354182

Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:22

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:22
Yep - we purchased a Hills of similar price when living in Woomera. Would pick up all the TV transmitted from the local town repeater. When we got our van we figured that other towns may have repeaters for local transmition and we could pick up again. Have the $15 book available from Van supplies mobs which tell us which stations are available for the locality and where the repeaters are and if signal is Vertical or Horizontal (found out some towns have some stations on V and others on H) and we get a good variety that way.
Hardly ever use the TV though! It is our second vice to the car radio/CD player in our basic kit in the van. Usually too tired to sit and watch the square eye, rather watch stars, read or sleep or chat if with others.
Cheers - Mobi
FollowupID: 622365

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:12

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:12
Were not much different mobi, have updated to Ipod's rather then CD's. We only want the TV for when we are in caravan parks and that will usually be only for the kids to watch at night.

FollowupID: 622429

Reply By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:08

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:08
Hi Cram - I picked up an "Audiosonic" VHF/UHF
indoors aerial (20db max gain with 240v booster) from K-Mart for about $50 - it picks up digital, HD and analogue signals and can be aligned horizontal or vertical. It works well in the van if the signal is good, otherwise I have a phased array on a pole to do the job.
T.R.
AnswerID: 354221

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:07

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:07
G'day Cram.
Stick with the Digimax and forget the Happywanderer.
niss42.
AnswerID: 354280