Price of tyres getting dear (STT anyway)

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:01
ThreadID: 66927 Views:2887 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Went into the tyre dealer today to get a new tyre and have 4 other tyres repaired properly.

Price of a new tyre was $370 fitted. This compares to $328 lastyear.

Any he would repair none of my other 4 tyres as the holes were over the shoulder. Damit!!!

He gave me the number of a guy in Cannington who would repair them I guess at great cost...

So the Ute goes in tomorrow for a complete new set. (Slight discount for 5). I will keep the other 4, probably get this other guy to repair them, and keep my eyes open for 4 second hand steel rims to use as spares, for my next desert adventure, which MIGHT not be until next year. I guess I will have to get one of those ute roofracks so I have somewhere to store them....

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:08

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:08
Yep a mighty tyre there Alan (just stiring the pot ha ha). I found the same thing recenty but got a set of 2nd hand ST's with less than 5K on them at $180 each (fitted). Considering my reputation for destroying tyres, they'll do me. It's ironic that even the cheapy chinese brands are now in the Mid $200's up for $145 or so last year.

AnswerID: 354583

Reply By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:10

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:10
Made some inquiries regarding tyres yesterday for our second vehicle, Suzuk Grand Vitara. BFG's were $320 each and Coopers where $265 that is a reasonable difference.
AnswerID: 354584

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:55

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:55
That's interesting Cram,

Comparing same types of tyres a few years back I found BFG's slightly cheaper than Coopers. Thats the way the market swings I guess...

FollowupID: 622742

Follow Up By: Rex.- Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:17

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:17
Hi Cram, i have a diesel Vitara also. It's got 225/65/ 17inch hwy tyres on it. What size were the Coopers that were $265.00
FollowupID: 622875

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:21

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:21
225/70/16....
FollowupID: 622876

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:55

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 20:55
G'day Alan

Even my bush tyres have gone from $150 to $230 each. Found Two at a dealers the other day and managed to get them for $200 each. Its all related to our weak dollar...or so they say...lol

AnswerID: 354594

Reply By: GerryP - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 22:08

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 22:08
Hi Alan,

Interesting that you say they wouldn't fix your tyres as the holes were over the shoulder.

I was also advised on a few previous occasions (by tyre dealers) that it was illegal. However, after a CSR trip last year, I had 3 small sidewall punctures which I had plugged in two pretty new Mickey Thomsons. Went back to the TyrePower guy I bought them from and he sent them off to the factory and had them professionally vulcanised for $35 each. Hard to even pick the repair from the outside and perfectly legal.

Probably depends on how bad the puncture is, but certainly worked for me.

Certainly worth having them checked out anyway.

Gerry
AnswerID: 354612

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 22:26

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 22:26
Hi Gerry,

He mentioned that it was illegal to fix the tyres using the conventional "mushroom type" repair, as they don't fully seal on the inside of the tyre and he also mentioned his "public liability insurance". I suspect this is more a legal thing, and in some instances these "mushroom type" repairs would work, as I have used them myself in the past.

I guess he may have sent them to this gentleman in Cannington on consignment if I had pushed him, but he didn't sound to keen. The Cannington guy apparently does "Vulcanise" them. $35 sounds good to me though.

FollowupID: 622759

Follow Up By: subby - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 23:24

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 23:24
just put a set of 265/75/16 BFG A/t on yesterday.$320 each fitted balanced and wheel alignment,
got the price on Friday and got the store owner to write it on the back of his card.went back Monday arvo and he was off sick, his wife was in the office and said she couldn't do them for that price as it was below their cost.Showed her the card and she said she would kick his aaaaarse when she went home.Something about last years price and the cost to them had gone up 25%.
only mistake i made was getting the white letters out.

Dean
FollowupID: 622768

Follow Up By: subby - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 23:39

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 23:39
Also just remembered
no 1 daughter staked one of my nearly new cooper a/t about 4 years ago through the side wall in the car park at here work.I replaced it with a new one and got the stake one repaired [vulcanised].I threw it behind the shed because I was not game enough to use it .

Dean
FollowupID: 622770

Reply By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 10:40

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 10:40
I have just been quoted $1250 plus GST to swap the new Grand treks for Coopers AT to a new vehicle I am taking delivery of soon.
AnswerID: 354676

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:33

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:33
we were quoted some exorbitant crap cost for doing the same on a new Patrol as I wanted to swap the highway tyres for AT's . Picked it up, drove it 300km home and swapped them whole 5 for a set of BFG AT's for NOTHING.

FollowupID: 623066