The REAL value of a Porta Dunny

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:11
ThreadID: 66954 Views:3913 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Further to my post yesterday about the lack of showers at the gathering I am attending.

Keep in mind there are about 3000 people here and the toilet block has only 3 cubicles for the blokes.

I wandered up for a twinkle at 7 this morning and there was queue of blokes waiting to do the "sit". As one exited another one entered. The air was thick, you could have cut it with a knife.

I quickly piddled, washed my hands and scarpered. Happy in the knowledge that my Porta Dunny and Tent allowed me the peace of a little privacy and fresh air.

23 years on and I still reckon it was the best $100 I ever spent.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:32

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:32
I went to a 4x4 weekend a few years ago near Dubbo and the same, the toilets, although were plentiful, were disgusting!! So about 2 years ago i did the "look around", and bought a big Fiamma, italian made portable toilet. They definately are a good investment and necessary in some instances... Michael
AnswerID: 354774

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:51

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:51
Remember Warraweena a couple of years ago Michael? My missus was VERY pregnant, so to keep the peace (with her LOL) I went and bought her a porta-potti. Never come across a contraption like it so I was a little confused at how it all worked. To cut a long story short, we had a couple of days of no 1's and one of my son's no 2's but I had not put the cap on the bottom tank and had this cap covering the hand pump on the top tank. We drove out of Warraweena and stopped for lunch 4 hours down the road and guess what my reaction was when I openned the van door to find "liquid" sloshing through the van? At first I thought it was a busted water hose or something leaking from the fridge but only about a minute of whiffing the liquid and I was horrified to open the cupboard where I had put the porta-potti. Yep it was a beautiful mix of untreated effluent all through the van.

Moral: make sure the bottom tank of the potti is "secure" and cannot leave you wishing you had never bought one.

Hehehehehe, I am only just starting to laugh about this episode now.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 622880

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:17

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:17
Hi Trevor, Yes i remember!! It was after that trip i bought mine.. Sometimes not necessary but take it and make the decision to use it or not when you get there.. If you leave it behind,,, no doubt you wished you had taken it along.. I empty mine in the long drop, seal it up and finally when i get home, clean and sanitise it, they clean very well with no residue. Funny when i took it on the first weekend, it took some grappling with the concept before anyone wanted to use it.. great bit of gear. Regards Michael
FollowupID: 622885

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:41

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:41
hell yeh , i agree -- even if i camp at a site where there is a long drop - i still use my toilet -- as i know who has been sitting on it ---- and just empty it in the long drop every other day ....

Boc
AnswerID: 354776

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:35

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:35
Yep I like the Caravan Dunny, the Cook doesn't have to do the Midnight walk over to the amenities in the rain and I might use it when I have had a few drinks, don't want to wander all over the C/Park in my Jammies in the middle of the night lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 354831

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:46

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:46
For those who camp without caravans nor camper trailers, what is the best way to carry a portaloo in your vehicle ?

AnswerID: 354838

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:38

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:38
You mean ON your vehicle.... No way is it ever IN... LOL ;-)
FollowupID: 622935

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:55

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:55
I would suggest to put it in a Heavy Duty Garbage Bag with a draw string,and make sure it has been emptied before transporting.
FollowupID: 622941

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:04

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:04
We carried ours in the back of the wagon from Brisbane to Haddons Corner, Birdsville, Poepples Corner, Innaminka, Camerons Corner, and back through Bourke, with no spillage, odours or any other problems.
It was kept in a padded and zipped carry bag with no problems at all.
Ours is a Fiamma brand crapper.
FollowupID: 622944

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:45
Mr P.

As long as the slide is shut it will seal quite well and you shouldn't have a problem.

FollowupID: 623070

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:01

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:01
G'day Jim,

Your at a gathering with 3,000 other people :-O

I recently purchased the thetford 365 porta potti at a Ray's sale for I think $146 and its just great.

I also used the Odour-B-Gone tablets for the first time on a recent camp and was pleasantly surprised that these tablets actually work. No odours at all. The tablets last for about 3 - 4 days which is about when you need to empty the container anyways.

Another thing I've just finished is my hot water shower system. Mate, you gotta see this set up. I'll take some pictures soon and let you see it. Put it together for a lot less $$ than a Coleman Hot Water Unit.

AnswerID: 354855

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:44
I've had a Thetford for years, and it goes with us, despite having one in the van.

A friend who I travel with went to Ray's, and purchased one of those fold up lavvy's that you attach a plastic bag to, in lieu of a porta potty.

We were on Fraser Island and he took a walk off into the bush with this appliance. A short time later he came back with some fairly severe lacerations to his nether region, a distorted folding loo. He's not a big bloke, but it collapsed with him on it.

Porta Loos don't collapse. I reckon, a good investment.

Dick
AnswerID: 354868