Trigg/Tregg Hitch or Normal Hitch

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 07:55
ThreadID: 66967 Views:6878 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
Hi we have pretty well decided to buy a jayco swan. We are going to get the outback pack. I have the option to put on the trigg/tregg hitch or stay with the standard.

Any thoughts?

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:29

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:29
Tregg, every time. More secure. The poly block also quietens the towing and just that little bit more give takes strain off your transmission. Can be a little trickier to connect as you have to be pretty precise lining the pin and hole up. If the van is really heavy and you are on a bit of a slope or uneven ground, this is a little harder, but you get good at it after a while.
AnswerID: 354828

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:30

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:30
G'day Cram

If it was me making the decision I'd opt for the off road hitch simply as it is great on road with none of the clunking of a standard ball and then, when you want to go off road into the rough stuff it will carry on as if nothing has happened. My Trak Shak CT comes standard with a Trigg hitch and has worked beautifully wherever I have taken the CT.

My 2 cents worth

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 354830

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:02

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:02
Have a look at the Hyland Hitch which is a very good hitch without the line up hassles.

AnswerID: 354843

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:20

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:20
G'day Cram.
I to would recommend the "Hyland Hitch", tried the others and settled for Hyland.
It is a fully articulating Off Road ball coupling rated to 3.5t,
but it requires a 3.5t long neck ball.
FollowupID: 622928

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:54

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:54
This site will give you photos of the different hitches available:

http://www.campertrailers.org/couplings.htm
link below

http://campertrailers.org/couplings.htm
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 354853

Reply By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:05

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:05
Well, I'd stay with Tregg. We've just rolled our camper while on holidays in Tassie. Apparently if it wasn't for the tregg (or similar rotating) the car might have gone over as well.

I'm stuck with no camper as it's a write off. I'll start new post....
AnswerID: 354871

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:27
Matt, I am just about to put my old one on the market.
FollowupID: 622956

Reply By: Member - Mottleman (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:22

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:22
I have a tregg on an outback eagle. Very happy with it.

AnswerID: 354918

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:29

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:29
Another vote for the Hyland.
AnswerID: 354920

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:16

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:16
Yup,
I'm with Sprint, the Hyland.
FollowupID: 623003

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 17:01

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 17:01
And again....... Hyland

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 623015

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:57

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:57
The Hyland without a doubt. Very easy to connect up.

Before you buy the Jayco, have a look at Goldstream. More expensive, but the quality is noticeable.

Kim
AnswerID: 354924

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:51

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:51
Unfortunately Goldstream are out of our price range.
FollowupID: 622997

Reply By: Member - colin J (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:58

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:58
A Highland hitch for me as you get full articulation, with the ease of a standard hook up, so easy.
Regards from Col.
AnswerID: 354925

Reply By: Bushed-Tracker - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:35

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:35
The std ball hitch will start to bind at about 22 deg. So if going off-road a suitable fully rotating hitch is advisable. We have an AT 35 on the Bushtracker - no problems.

Don't forget to reduce speed and tyre pressures on the Jayco when on the corrugations or you may spent a lot more time on maintenance.

B-T
AnswerID: 354929

Reply By: Dion - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:20

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:20
A true, genuine no frills, fair dinkum "OFF-ROAD HITCH", surely we must be talking about a pintle hook and eye. The only other hitch that can match the pintle hook and eye for articulation is the hyland hitch.
Trigs and Treggs don't even come close to the articulation that a pintle hook and eye provides.

Dion.
AnswerID: 355029

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 11:09

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 11:09
Oh!! the constant clanging noise of a Pintle Hook & Eye would drive ya nuts. :-))

FollowupID: 623159

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 06:02

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 06:02
Cram

Treg Hitch.........Every time !

AnswerID: 355261

Follow Up By: A J - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 10:41

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 10:41
Cram - you would be aware of what the tregg is like from your existing camper. You do not feel the camper behind you with the tregg.

I would go the tregg on the jayco or any trailer every time.

A J
FollowupID: 623314