DRAMA ON THE DUNN.

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 12:41
ThreadID: 67042 Views:6137 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Hindsight....a wonderful word which means so little.

I had been watching the weather forecast over the previous week and the Peak Charles area had only one day of rain. What I didnt know, at the time, was that the previous 6-7 weeks had seen the area receive its annual rainfall.

Thursday 5th...Final check of vehicle and provisions ready for departure on Friday morning. Mate, who is the second vehicle, rings me to tell me that he has to work the weekend and cant make it. Discuss the situation with Paula and decide, with all the prep work put in, we go anyway.

Friday 6th...We pull into Ravensthorpe around 3pm, after tanking up and while Paula was at the shop picking up last minute bits and pieces, I was fingering through our maps and double checking the previous days double checking.
We located the track to the rabbit-proof fence, but in doing so, missed the first clue to what lay ahead. We had to negotiate a swollen creek, then a slightly greasey track.

About 43 kms in we found large rockholes and decided to camp the night. Second clue missed, the holes were over flowing, a very pretty sight and I recall thinking this is why we do this.

Saturday 7th...Broke camp about 8 ish and hit the trail. Over the next 40 odd kms we encountered a very thickly over grown track where at times we were down to 2 kph pushing bush aside. Snorkel, mirrors, wipers, spotties, you name it, it copped a hiding.
The track eventually peatered out to a dead end. After walking the area and not finding any sign of a track, we backed up about a km to a side track we had noticed earlier. We ventured down this track a short way before finding another which, according to the compass, had us pointing in the right direction.

We encounted several smallish bogs which were negotiated ok, some had solid bases others soft.
During the course of the day we had dug ourselves out of two bogs before catching sight of our destination - Peak Charles, about 30 kms dead ahead.
Third clue missed, the bogs were gradually getting longer and deeper. Too heavily bushed each side of the track so chicken tracks were non-existent.
About 3 pm we bogged again and took us until 7 pm to dig ourselves out. We decided to camp on the track.

After a hard days digging we decided to have a little party and demolished the whole weekends supply of beer in one hit.

Sunday 8th...Loaded the car and were on our way by 9.30am.
We had only travelled another 12 kms when we came across two huge bogs seperated by a short elevated section of track. Both bogs were being fed by a large swamp to the side. I walked the bogs a couple of times [getting really sick of the shovel by now] and found the base to be reasonably solid, however, the center was about thigh deep so I figured if I keep to the high side we should be ok.
In we went, then that sickening feeling, the car slid into the center of the bog and as they say 'that was that'.

We spent the rest of the day digging, jacking and using the high-lift jack to winch. Progress for the day = 10 inches if that.
Set up camp for the night and spent the evening pondering the situation.

Monday 9th....Day break we were at it again, by 10 am the heat and flies were murder so we reatreated to the tent and a can of raid, stopped the buzzing but man was it hot in there. 4 ish that afternoon saw us back on the tools. Total for the day = 8 inches.

We had broken most of the small trees that we used as anchor points for the highlift and I was becoming concerned as there were only two trees left with in range of all our snatch straps and chains, we still had 4 metres of bog to go.

One thing I did notice was, although we had plenty of provisions and shelter, I found myself gazing up the track for hours hoping to see another car. After a while you start seeing cars. They arnt there of course but hey, if you want to see something badly enough, your mind will let you see it.

Tuesday 10th...Dawn, back on the tools, broke both trees by 9 am and feeling a little despondant, boiled the billy and again pondered the situation. When sheltering from the heat and flies for hours at a time boredom becomes the biggest problem, even having one of those weird quiz books Paula likes didnt help.
You know the type...Whos the current Prime Minister of Australia...Churchill....Rudd.....Obama.
If you answer correctly you will be put in a draw to win a personally signed CD of Ernie Dingo singing Puccini's Nessun Dorma at the Ceduna footy oval....backed by the Somalian National Brass Band....Riveting stuff.

5 pm, the sound of a light plane approaching, music to our ears.
Paula in a flash jumps on the roof of the 4by and starts waving an old red rag which the plane spots straight away, does a couple of low passes before disappearing.
I didnt raise the subject with Paula previously but I didnt think we had much show of getting the car out of the bog.
Any way we hugged each other and danced a spell before cleaning up the campsite and settled in for another night. Using the power of imagination I poured a large glass of warm water and pretending it was an icey cold beer, downed the lot....didnt work this time.

10 pm, we were awoken by a pair of IPFs burning a hole into the back of the tent. Never been so pleased to see anyone in my life.
The guys and girls of the SES were brilliant. By 10.30 the Nissan was out of the bog and packed. We followed them out to Salmond Gums where we stayed the night at the caravan park.

We went looking for adventure and certainly found it.

Our heartfelt thanks go out to the pilot of the plane, dont know your name and didnt see a face but I wont forget the sight of the tree tops being knocked off by your wings.

To the SES, true professionals, 4 cars and teams came to our aid and apparently another 4 prepped and ready to come in from the North if we werent located that night. You guys are awesome.

To Dean, Officer-in-Charge at the Norseman Police Station.
The man co-ordinating the search and rescue operation, the work you did, the hours spent on the job when you had a little bubs to go home to is hugely appreciated.

To Jimbo "Locker" King, and Jason "Bog" Scott, Between you guys had 12 club and town cars ready to come down and help search.

Thanks also to all the EOers for your concern and best wishes.
[Except Bundy]...Ive got this feeling he's gonna give me more grief over easter....lol.

A VERY HUMBLING EXPERIENCE.

A tip or two for travellers, novice or otherwise.

Plenty of food and water.
Always stay with your vehcile.
Leave details of where your going and when your returning with someone you trust.
Stick to your planned route.
Use your bankcard for on road purchases, the police use this info to track your movements and verify your direction of travel. They are not authorised to put up a plane unless the search area is narrowed.
Carry more beer.

Got my Epirb, HF radio next month and a winch has been ordered. Gonna have another crack at the Dunn next summer.

Ours was a successful outcome and we were never in a life threatening situation, however, we did need help to get out of there and I truely appreciate the efforts of those involved with our rescue. As some may attest, it doesnt take much for a situation to turn nasty.

Nature is beautiful but drop your guard for a moment and she'll have you by the 'short n curlies'.

Cheers....Lionel.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 13:01

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 13:01
Good to here you back safely!
AnswerID: 355315

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:38

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:38
Thanks mate, knocked down a jug or three at the local club when we got back.

Always make up for lost time...lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623433

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:11

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:11
Hi Lionel and Paula,
It did cause a big bit of a scare to fellow members here on EO when we were alerted to a member was lost and in possible trouble. Like everybody here, we are glad that it was a safe outcome with no casualties. Another good investment for remote travel we have found is a Laptop, OziExplorer and a GPS. That way you will know exactly where you are and if you have radio contact with anyone, will be able to give them your exact location.

Great that you are able to look back now and say "What If" and hindsight is such a great thing, we have often pondered it situations that make you think.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 355330

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:48

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:48
Stephen, Im a bit of a dinosaur when it comes to that sort of technology.

Laptop = pay a cutie to sit on my knee.
OziExplorer = Burke, Wills, Willem, Equinnox, Mick and others.
GPS = Gone Poking around Swamps.

Guess I'll have to learn though, got some other trips planned.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623436

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:25

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:25
Hi Lionel
Like we have all said, its great that you are back in one piece. As for the modern technology, there is an old saying, "you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink"

It is great fun learning and has always helped me with pre trip planning. We all hope that you have lots of photos of your venture.

All the best and we all look forward to hearing of you next safe and successful trip.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 623446

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:14

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:14
Sound travel advice for others Lionel. I am glad it worked out for you and Paula. I suppose this might slow your ribbing of others down for a while though ay? (I hope not, I actually enjoy the laughs!!)

Welcome home,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 355331

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:57

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 08:57
Hi Trevor, ribbing, nuh not me, well not much.

Every thing in life has a humourous side, well most things in life I suppose.
So long as I'm able to take as much as I give you'll always catch a smile on this dial.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623437

Reply By: oldfart1953 - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:24

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 14:24
Good on you Lionel,
Great story, with a great ending.
We often bag the boys in blue & dads army that run around in yellow pyjamas, BUT they do a fantastic job, it is great to see you acknowledging them here.
Tell me, the plane, was that a guy on a scenic / joy flight or was it the forward scout for the cavalry?
Whole heartedly agree with carrying more beer.

Tony H
Hunter Valley
AnswerID: 355336

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:03

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:03
Thanks Tony,

The plane was put up to search for us.
Was told afterwards 3 spotters were aboard.

Bugger food and water next time, Im gonna carry a bloody brewery.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 623439

Reply By: robertbruce - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 15:14

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 15:14
good recovery Lionel and a convincing argument for a winch, land anchors etc.... ive uped them in priority on my wish list
AnswerID: 355342

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:08

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:08
Yep mate,

A winch was always an expensive toy to me and yet when stuck out there, I would have sold my soul for one.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623440

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 16:13

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 16:13
Nice to see the SES boys etc in there. They don't often get the recognition they deserve.

Great ending and that's the main thing. Let's hope that others take note.
AnswerID: 355345

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:18

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:18
Hey Footy, Always pictured the SES chainsawing fallen trees after a storm.

After hours chatting to them during and after the recovery, listening to their stories and experiences, figured these people to be caring, commited and passionate about helping the community and its individuals.

10/10 to these guys and girls.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623444

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 10:33

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 10:33
Lionel,

This is my 15th year with the SES and the last 12 months or so have been the busiest we have been. Due to the increased activity we have had about another 12 members join this year, most are ones we have assisted at some stage.

SES members also took part in the recent Air search for the Trawler that sank due to TC Hamish.

Good to see you made it hope safely

FollowupID: 623458

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 17:16

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 17:16
Well recounted Lionel. Glad all worked out well in the end. If that had of been me and my wife it would of been the homicide cops coming out as my missus would of murdered me.

AnswerID: 355353

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:25

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:25
Hi Duncan, Got to admit mate, Paula can muck into it as good as the next man.

However, after a couple of days on canned irish stew and instant mashed spud she seemed to be eyeing off one of my legs while salivating.

That was a worry.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623445

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 17:17

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 17:17
Good One Mate, Nice to see it worked out well for you.

AnswerID: 355354

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:27

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:27
Thanks John, after a week or so back and into the daily grind Im sort of missing that bog a little.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623447

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 18:36

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 18:36
Thanks for sharing your adventure with us Lionel. May your hindsight be foresight for others so that they don't fall into a similar trap. I too am surprised that it was so wet in that area.

AnswerID: 355363

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:32

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:32
MH, yep, caught me unaware.

Those bogs were turning into lakes.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623449

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 20:46

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 20:46
Hi Lionel, glad all ended well. You should copy this to "your blog" page, so that it can be kept for 'posterity'! (: . Look forward to hearing of a successful crossing next time.
warm regards,
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 355375

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:30

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:30
Blog mate !!!

Sounds like something that ends up down my T-shirt after a feed of spaggetti blog.....hahaha.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623448

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:41

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:41
been caught the same way

lesson to be learnt While perth (yes this incldes northam) really only gets winter rain cyclones and lows andwill drp alot of rain from about Leonora-esperance-eucla. Thse heat troughs you see that promise hot weather
NUH in the feilds it mean rain dragged down through these troughs from up north.

The goldfilds have as much rain in summer as winter on averadge
AnswerID: 355394

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:51

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:51
gotta say was a bit worried.

I ve tried to get to peak charles viia a back way so know all to well theres tracks around there you have very little hope of having another vehickle come along.

Ive been is a simular situation and after somethought decided it could be a fortnight or longer for another vehicle so decided to walk out with a map GPS and water

I walked for 40km only to find my destination station empty. I walked to the nearby coolgardie nth road but no one went by.

I returned to the station and finding it unlocked used the phone a and got rescued by Eastern goldfields club members coops and ben spoon.

....................................... I now have an HF
AnswerID: 355396

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:03

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:03
Now thats interesting. I went on a day trip once with Coops and Ben Spoon when we passed through Kal a few years back. Still in touch with Coops.

FollowupID: 623438

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:35

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:35
Davoe, either fix that bloody computer of get on the turps after you've played on it....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623450

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:07

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:07
Ah! Lionel

Good report.

Most of us have all been down that lane before and upon arriving home have sworn to get the right equipment. Trouble is it takes years and years to get the stuff you need as $$$ are not always readily available for 'possible' use 'someday' in the future.

I will be over you way next year by the looks of it, so we can go somewhere to get into mischief...lol

AnswerID: 355415

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:44

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 09:44
Gidday Willem.

Yep, my wanna and gonna list far exceeds whats in my pocket.

Never been a fan of buy now pay later, credit can be just as much a liability as a convenience.

You want mischief mate.......know just the place....you first....hahaha.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 623453