1HD-fte

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 13:01
ThreadID: 67064 Views:6731 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
Have an '04 79 series ute with FTE motor. Going up the Pentland hills at Chrissy time it gave a couple of coughs. After pulling up & draining both fuel filters. Allgood until giving it a bootful. Splutter splutter. STOP. mmmm.

Drained 1 tank & bled new fuel through to pump [ just in case ] No go !!

Off to Injection/Turbo specialist who plugged in TOYO diagnostis. No codes up. Afte swapping EDU and couple of other sensors found no fuel from pump. mmmm again.

Pump off & bench tested. All good. Back on and still no go. Sparky called and 5 hours later. CONTACT.

Prognosis. Minute voltage drop at 1 plug connection to pump.
Not entirely happy with result [ me or sparky ] as this vehicle will be going remote often. mmmm

Anyone heard of anything similar ????

Regards Col.

Reply By: Lotzi - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 13:49

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 13:49
G,day g d & d

Does the tojo have a fine gauze filter on the fuel pick up line in the tank??? Gome tojo's do ....... bugger, bin there....

Lotzi
AnswerID: 355445

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 13:50

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 13:50
Some not Gome
FollowupID: 623481

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 14:02

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 14:02
Never heard that sort of story,. it is usually filters or more to the point algai blocking filters that is the cause, even heard of those sensors leaking diesel that trvels up the wires...but a bad connection is as you have found, a PITA...at least this occurred here and not out back...if anything similar happens in the future, you know where to start with the CRC...
I have the previous motor with mechanical injection :))))))
Andrew hdft
FollowupID: 623483

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 15:06

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 15:06
yea but those 1hz are extremely prone to stopping due to wiring problems to the fuel pump solonoid. Sure an easy fix.......... if you know where to look but people who think there fully mechanical 1hz isnt subject to electrical failure can find themselves just as stuck in the middle of nowhere due to electrical failure as a blown computer
FollowupID: 623498

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 15:29

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 15:29
G'day All

We had similar problems as noted above, picked up bad fuel at Normanton (algae), cleaned total system (washed), new filters, tried everything, in the end it was a fine gauze filter on the fuel pick up line in the fuel tank blocked, if all else fails that may be it.
Also the tojo 1hz injector pump does not like running/starved out of fuel, near stuffs them.
But I do agree with you, re mechanical vs electrical, i would prefer mechanical any day, but you have to work with what got.

Lotzi

FollowupID: 623501

Follow Up By: Get down &dirty - Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:13

Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:13
Hi Lotzi,

Fuel bled through easily so blockage unlikely.
It has twin tanks also.

Regards Col
FollowupID: 623680

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:36

Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:36
G'day Col
No probs, as i say it caught us out.
Lotzi
FollowupID: 623687

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 14:00

Sunday, Mar 22, 2009 at 14:00
Hi Col. Sounds like its something to do with the pump cut off solenoid,low voltage could be half cutting the fuel supply, Maybe??

Electrics!!, pain in the rear no matter what it is!.

AnswerID: 355447

Follow Up By: Get down &dirty - Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:23

Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:23
Hi Axle,

Could be right with that. Not sure which connection failed but will endeavor to find out.
Have also got a turbo 1hz 80 that has been everywhere including watercrossings halfway up the windscreen and has never missed a beat. Bugger electrics.

Regards Col.
FollowupID: 623681

Reply By: burnsy - Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 07:45

Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 07:45
Have you confirmed that this is your problem? If so which connection did it turn out to be, Spill control solenoid, engine speed sensor?. Like You I intend to go to remote places & am apprehensive about electronic control systems and am endeavouring to learn as much about the system as I can
Regards Mike.
AnswerID: 355577

Follow Up By: Get down &dirty - Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:31

Monday, Mar 23, 2009 at 15:31
Hi Burnsy,

Will get back to you on conn.

l think it wise also to research the layout and workings of electrical sensors and connections.

Regards Col.
FollowupID: 623686