Current Conditions around the Kimberley

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 08:00
ThreadID: 67212 Views:2362 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I notice it is still raining up that way. And realise the unpredictablilty of the weather up there. We are locked into leaving on Anzac day and are extremely hpefull the roads along the gibb river road area will open by the time we get up there. Has anyone who is up that way have a possible idea when the wet will finish and how long after the roads may possibly open?

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 09:00

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 09:00
G'day Madcow,

It is one of those difficult questions as no one can really say what the weather will do by the end of April. History suggests that the cyclone season should have finished but that does not mean the end of the rain. It would seem a little early because it has certainly been a good wet season.

Hopefully someone can give you better advice.

AnswerID: 356264

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 09:44

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 09:44
There are heaps of sites on which you can check weather and roads. Here's a couple to get you started:

Roads

Weather
AnswerID: 356273

Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:43

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:43
Present river heights in the Kimberley indicate travel is not a concern at present. Current bom weather models show chance of exceeding median rainfall for the Kimberley between April and June as my bet is you will be OK.
AnswerID: 356297

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:44
hmmm editing went awry.

Current bom models show chance of exceeding median rainfall for April to June as being less than 50%. So as a throw a coin in the air, I have to say, my bet is you will be OK
FollowupID: 624280

Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:40

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:40
Hope so, if not it happens we'll just have to go fishing anyway. Plane was to head up via the Tanami to the bungles the back to the duncan road and head north from there.
FollowupID: 624332

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:51

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 10:51
Jo athttp://drysdaleriver.com.au/ could be near the phone - she might have an indication for you ..... but it is very 'early days' still.
AnswerID: 356299

Reply By: madcow - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 12:40

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 12:40
Thanks for the links and opinions, Whilst we have not travelled that way before we have done extensive remote travel (Simpson and the Cape to name a few) and are experienced and setup for this. We are not too bad but the other couple are limited in time hence the question. I'm not back at work until October. We have plans to wander down the west coast and trying to stop at the out of the way places where possible. And to catch somehting bigger than a trout would be a bonus.

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 356311

Reply By: madcow - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 12:47

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 12:47
The Wenlock River back in 2000 before the bridge was built

AnswerID: 356315

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 13:07

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 13:07
A great shot, and I miss those days, but the Wenlock is a long way from the Kimberley :-)
FollowupID: 624309

Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:44

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:44
Yeh we were drifting downstream and could feel the car scratching at the bottom when crossing. It was amazing to watch on video. A friend took this shot of us crossing. We watched a few get stuck and amazingl;y they did not have recovery gear very accessible in case. you can see the strap running across the bonnet and sitting on the dash. It needed a wash anyway.
FollowupID: 624334

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:12

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 18:12
Get outta here!

There's a bridge on the Wenlock?

Who put that there and when?

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 624399

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 13:57

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 13:57
I would say that you should be right, provided that we dont get too many more big storms between now and then. Stations have been mustering already so the country is definitely drying out in places. Actually the cattle trucks are moving cattle already as there is a ship due anyday now so thats not a bad sign. The Gibb is really your only concern, but im sure it will be fine by then. Maybe a little rough and eroded but the crossings should be passable by then, provided the rain eases off now. Still getting showers in the North East Kimberley, and still showers around down the South West Kimberley, but it is amonth away before you leave so anything is possible. My bet is you will be ok. Roads should be good enough to open now i reckon.
AnswerID: 356329

Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:41

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 14:41
Ta for that we'll keep an eye out on the conditions as we get closer and decie then what way to go up there.
FollowupID: 624333