What was the first vehicle you attempted to drive?..lol

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:31
ThreadID: 67234 Views:6780 Replies:44 FollowUps:56
Mine was a Hillman minx, on a rough as guts track around a orange orchard!, SWMBO reckons it still shows to.day by my standard of driving!!!...lol.

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:34

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:34
AXLE

my 1st wheels was a 1964 EH wagon.
column shift
191 red motor
and some fun times in it,cheers.
AnswerID: 356402

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:39

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:39
Hi Mark , It must have been easy learning in a late model car!

Hahahahaha!.

FollowupID: 624431

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:43

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:43
Axle

just showing my vintage thats all........hahahaha
FollowupID: 624434

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:40

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:40
Hi Mark

I also had a 64 model EH Holden Station Wagon, it was Charcoal Grey, and it had a 179 motor, the Cook and I got married and took it on our honeymoon, it had dark blue curtains in the back, come to think about it, the car looked like a Hearse, no wonder I was a stiff in it a few times lol lol.
FollowupID: 624463

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:48

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:48
The EH had either a 149 with 3 speed manual, or in the Premier version a 179 with auto.

Holden did put out a 179 manual (3 speed) version known as the "S4" to run in the Armstrong 500, later to become the Bathurst 500, then Bathurst 1000.

FollowupID: 624495

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:00

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:00
Dazza!!!, Don't get this moderated at this stage for chits sake ...........lol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 624497

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:13

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:13
Jim
your right about the S4 but the 179 was also available with a 3 speed manual in any other model. You could get this combo in the Premier as a special order.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 624503

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:09

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:09
Mark,

Now you've got me thinking.

Was it a "hotted up' EH (very common)? There was a motor referred to as the 192. Holden never built a 192 but it was a common modification (bored out 179 I think).

FollowupID: 624541

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:47

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:47
Jim

exactly what is was.the extra horsepower was definatly noticable.

maybe thats how the 202 red was born by holden?

wish i still had it parked in the shed,cheers.
FollowupID: 624545

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:27

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:27
192 was a bored out 186 not a 179.

Dennis

FollowupID: 624571

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:47

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:47
Yep Dennis I was thinking the same thing ,and for the record my 1st car to drive was my dads 1971 XY GS ford sedan ...gee I wish we still owned that car .

Regards John.
FollowupID: 624626

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 19:01

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 19:01
Yep 192 was the 186 bored out , was as far as the block could go be bored out without dramas , , 1st solo drive was in a Prefect ,1st own car a HB Torana bought 1970, 1st m/cycle a 2nd hand 1962 BMW 500 / Earles fork front end. Memories ,,,,,,,,
FollowupID: 624678

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 18:19

Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 18:19
Jim late EH s could be had with the 179 manual, fitted with extractors they where awsome in their day.
The 202 was a stroked 186, never worked as well.
FollowupID: 624828

Reply By: Cruiser .- Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:39

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:39
Axle,

My first car I drove was a Ford Prefect, the one with the angled rear window, or was it a Ford Anglia.

First car was a brand new Renault R10 in 1968 and cost $2062 registered on the road.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 356407

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:45

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:45
Cruiser . My AR...S is still sore from the ol mans boot, from attempting to back his prefect out of the shed one day when he wasn't home ..lol.

FollowupID: 624436

Follow Up By: Rolly - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:45

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:45
'Twas an Anglia, Cruiser.
FollowupID: 624533

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:45

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:45
Mine was a green 1952 vanguard beatle back with chrome fuel cap lockable and with matching green spats....Image Could Not Be Found without spats and......with the spats

Hhahahahahahaha...An old fergy motor that was unbreakable...My Grandfather bought in England and shipped it out on the Orchades,

Image Could Not Be Found my Dad bought it off him and I bought it from my Dad for 60 quid in about 1964-5....

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 356408

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:53

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:53
BEAUTIFUL!!!, Except for the rear end,!?

Good overdrive in some of those models

Moss growing on the wheels was never a issue.

Hahaha.

FollowupID: 624438

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:01

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:01
We sailed back to England from Perth via the Eastern route in November 1968.
And came back on 1-4-1969 aboard the Orchades.

Ist car I drove was dads Falcon wagon when I was about 14. Ist car I had in 1975 was a HG Kingswood Sedan which cost $1000.

FollowupID: 624440

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:50

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:50
crazydog,,,,,did the old vanguards come in red?????
I cant seem to find one on the net.......
my brother ownes one [ red ]
FollowupID: 624469

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:17

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:17
I found this pic on the net but I believe that the vehicle was available in many colours depending on which country you purchaed them in. The early models (beatles) were available in basic British colours but the Amarican versions..well that is a different matter. Later models were available in a multitude of "dress" as can be found if you google "Standard Vanguard"

Grrr!!!Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 624481

Follow Up By: Rolly - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 01:09

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 01:09
My Parents bought the next model, second hand. Also green.
It still had the same beetle back but a larger rear window and a different 'mouth'.
Top speed was just over 70 mph.
Harry Ferguson used the same motor to power his famous TEA20 trctor only very slightly modified for agricultural use.
The Triumph series of Sports and touring cars also used what was essentially the same motor.
They had an enviable reputation for longevity and reliability.
FollowupID: 624534

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:49

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:49
G'day Axel,
71 XY Fairmont station wagon, 250, Auto
First manual was a 71 Toyota Crown, with the semi auto 4 speed. Wasn't that different to drive?

AnswerID: 356410

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:03

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:03
Jon, ...So Toyo or Ford?

Axle.
FollowupID: 624442

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:03

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:03
Good onya,
Gez, I don't know mate. it's a tuff one, I'll answer that like this.

I love my Fords,They're Big, Loud and had grunt. There was all ways something to change, Lower it a bit further, a bigger set of wheels, a sweeter sounding exhaust., a bigger set of jets and power valve in the Holley. Alwats some to try and go harder/faster, more horse power.

The Tojo's I've owned are vehicles that you buy and forget about them, If that makes sense? They get you from A to B, without fuss. I do like my 80 :) It's become the same as my V8's where many years ago. Addictive is a better word to use ;)
Axel, I've owned many different cars, and each one served a purpose at the time. We still have a 86 VL 3LT Turbo and it owes us nothing now after 16 odd years. A great car.

They each have good points and bad.
And I did enjoy the V8's on the weekend. :)))

FollowupID: 624478

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:54

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:54
1st car I drove was a 1959 Ford Prefect (Prefect had 4 doors Anglia has 2 doors)
1st Car I owned was a Hillman Minx 4 speed column shift... Put a rod through the side of the block... that was before i learnt about OIL !!!

AnswerID: 356412

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 19:58
Thought i might have had another Bro somewhere!!...LOL.

FollowupID: 624439

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:26

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:26
Axle,
This brings back some memories, 1st car driven Dads 1955 Standard 10 Cadet, for those too young to remember they were the little bro of the Standard Vanguard. 1st car owned FJ HOLDEN!!!
A couple of mates and I picked up a Hillman Minx circa 1952?? I think for about $5, got it going and used it as a bush hack until the gearbox died. We then moved on to a beetle back Vanguard followed by a later Vanguard Spacemaster. How I wish I still had them.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 624507

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:03

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:03
Hi Axle,

Mine was a 53' model Dodge Fargo 1/2 ton truck, Dad had it as a meat delivery wagon for his butcher shops.

It was about the size of todays 3 tonners!

Mighty side valve 6, 3 on the tree, 6volt electrics and all.

Foot pedal to activate the starter motor.

Made in Canada and converted to right hand drive in Australia.

Pretty much theft proof as Dad and I were the only buggers that could start it!

I was telling my daughters about it one day when they asked what I learnt to drive in. The oldest uttered the immortal words, "why would anyone make a car like that?"

She thinks her mothers V6 Camry is archaic, bloody hell that girl has a lot to learn!

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 356413

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:21

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:21
Hahahahaha!..Geoff, Makes you laugh thinking about the little tricks to fire up some of the old jalopys that the ol blokes took in their stride...lol My aunt had a straight eight buick for 33yrs never let her down , was to scared to!!!...lol.

FollowupID: 624449

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:34

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:34
Axle,

You've just brought back some memories, straight 8 Buick!

Mum's old uncle had one of those for years!

It'd just about climb a power pole in top gear!

I miss those days when there was an art to coaxing a vehicle into life. If you didn't treat it right it just wouldn't play!

Crash boxes and all taught you to actually drive, if you couldn't double shuffle the whole show came to a pretty ugly hault!

Actually that old truck taught me to drive my Datsun 1600 when I got it. The 1600's had a weakness on the synchro's in second gear.

You either spent a lot of hours replacing the synchro's (my mates answer) or you double shuffled down through the box (my answer)

FollowupID: 624458

Reply By: BV - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:15

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:15
Mine was a 1952 FIAT 1400 - had to look up the specs:

* 1.4 ltr engine, 44 hp (33 kW) with 4400 rpm. [1]
* It had a maximum speed of 120 km/h (75 mph).
* Unloaded weight of 1120 kg (2469 lb).
* Hand brake handle under instrument panel,
* Retaining loops for front seat passengers at the roof and at the backrests,
* Armrests in the doors

I know it did a lot better than 75mph as I managed to wind it up to 100mph on Mona vale Rd one night!! As I recall it had no synchro on first and great suspension.

BruceV

AnswerID: 356414

Follow Up By: BV - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:18

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:18
Oh and it had a pull starter on the dash. When the engine got hot you could take the key out of the ignition and it happily kept running!!

BruecV
FollowupID: 624446

Follow Up By: BV - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:25

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:25
Oh and it had a pull starter on the dash. When the engine got hot you could take the key out of the ignition and it happily kept running!!

BruceV
FollowupID: 624452

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:26

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:26
BV! would be a different story now on Mona vale rd,!!

Especially in that Bugger...lol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 624454

Reply By: GerryP - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:15

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:15
Hi Axle,

Dad's Austin A30, British Racing Green 1957 model. Eventually talked the ol' boy into giving it to me as my first car. Can't remember how many times I rebuilt the motor after trying to keep up with all my mates in their FJ's though!

Still remember those 'sticking out' indicators that used to pop out of the centre side pillars.

Gerry
AnswerID: 356415

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:19

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:19
Massey Ferguson 28 tractor ;-)

First car was Dad's Morris 1100.
AnswerID: 356418

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:18
Hey John,
It wouldn't of been good to go to the 'Drive in' on a date. LOL

FollowupID: 624484

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:28

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:28
Mate, I was only 8 yrs old.. Not much drive in action happening then ;-(
FollowupID: 624487

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:20

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:20

Axle's question was (*What was the first vehicle you attempted to drive lol *) I was 9 years old and decided to wash my Dads pride and joy, it was an Austin A70, he was at work, the car was in the garage and I had seen him reverse out of the garage plenty of times, so I got the keys out of the kitchen where he use to leave them, I got in the car, started it up, found reverse gear, left the drivers side door open a bit to see where I was going, and proceded to move the car, next thing I heard was Metal grinding on the fibro wall of the garage, and then bang I hit the garage door corner stud, I took that out and kept on going into the yard, I stalled the car in gear, I stopped and jumped out, WELL I WAS IN THE SHYTE, I not only wrecked the garage wall but also bent up the car door, the worse thing was, my dad had just had the car resprayed two months earlier,
when my mother came home from the shops, she saw the damage and screamed at me, YOUR FATHERS GOING TO GIVE YOU A HIDING WHEN HE GETS HOME,so here I am sitting on the front steps waiting for him to come home, riding his Push Bike,because he didn't want to get his pride and joy damaged at work. lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 356420

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:30

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:30
PS. My own first car was a 1959 Holden FC Station Wagon, before that I had a couple of Motor Bikes.
FollowupID: 624457

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:35

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:35
Dazza! finish the story, The look on his face? and what did he say??...hahahgahahaha.

FollowupID: 624459

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:47
Yep finish the story, you're still alive either the old fella' forgave you or somewhere in the back of the wardrobe is an Olympic marathon medal run in 100 metre time!

FollowupID: 624467

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:47
Axle your to young to hear those words mate, put it this way, my sister was their Favourite Child for a few weeks, and I was the instant Black Sheep of the family, for a while lol lol,
FollowupID: 624468

Reply By: 3F62 - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:22

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:22
Morris 1100 S......with a 1275 motor.......
AnswerID: 356421

Reply By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:22

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:22
My first was a 36 Chev four door sedan that my Uncle sold me. It had a 3 speed crash box with a floor change but most of the time it would go anywhere in third gear so you didn't have to change gear much. The worst thing were the backward opening(suicide) rear doors. My little brother opened one at about 30mph once and it flew back and crunched the rear guard. Bob.
AnswerID: 356422

Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:26

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:26
Dads 1960 FB ute, had a red motor in it but grey box and diff. the three on the tree was the biggest challenge,bit hard trying to push the clutch pedal down and push the lever up when i could barely see over the wheel!!!
AnswerID: 356425

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:41

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:41
Paul!,, you had to peer through the wheel with those old Holdens, it was guess work where you were going!!

FollowupID: 624465

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:37

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:37
My first atempt was in an old Dodge ute of some sort.collum shift...i got in the front...tutor in the back{older brother}
'PUSH THE CLUTCH IN' HE SAID..PUT IT IN FIRST...GRIND GRIND
NOW LET THE CLUTCH OUT!!!!
I did and when i looked back he was hanging off the clothes line
that he was leaning on.....
I went around the block four times with the biggest grin on my face, and all i could hear was my brother yelling..'
'Put ya foot on the brake ya f^&*ing d^*khead'!!!!
Long time ago.......
ps. good post...
AnswerID: 356431

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:58

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 20:58
HAhahahahahahahahaha!. Can imagine all that Darrell !

Axle.
FollowupID: 624473

Reply By: Simon C - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:01

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:01
I was reading through these and my first drive was in a modern FJ55 around the Cherry orchads in Young - NSW. Now I let my young fella (10 year old) have a bit of a spin in the 100 seriers turbo diesel on Straddie. Auto, Power steering, Air Conditioning, Constant 4WD, All the fancy bits and pieces.....he dosen't know what he has really missed. Crash Boxes, Colum Shift, Clutch pedals you could hardly push to the floor....He would not believe me if I told him.
AnswerID: 356440

Reply By: lizard - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:05

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:05
Ford Prefect "Sports Saloon ".
AnswerID: 356441

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:09

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:09
Mine was a LHD Willy's Jeep in the late 50's
AnswerID: 356442

Reply By: kend88 - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:12
I am not as old as this will make me sound, but my parents first car was a 1928 Whippet, crank handle start and then under the bonnet to change the mix of petrol and kero after it started. I had my first few drives of it when I was about 12. Couldn't believe the improvement a few years later when they moved up to a 36 Dodge, then a 56 Zephyr both of which I did a fair bit of driving in before I reached the legal age. Advantage of living in the bush
My first car was a 47 FX Holden.
KenD
Bris
AnswerID: 356443

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:15
My first drive was a 1948Ford Prefect, my first car was a 1939 Standard with cable brakes.
Murray

AnswerID: 356444

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:12

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:12
Hi Muzbry,

My first drive was also a 48 Prefect.

All the mod cons, vacuum wipers - O,K till you hit a hill and they stopped working, ease off the pedal, two quick wipes and plant the foot again - not that it achieved much in the "go".

Oh! Don't forget that nifty holland blind on the back parcel shelf - reach up above the drivers door, grab that little knob on the end of the cord and pull the blind up the eliminate the headlight glare from behind.

First one I actually owned was a 1938 Morris.

Two door soft top, wooden frame on the chassis. Boy was that a sad car, or something in the frame. Hit a good bump and the forward opening doors would spring and the wind slammed them back against the rear guard. Two feet on the brake pedal and they would slam shut again. Got that sucker up to flat chat speed on the old Pacific Highway somewhere near Doyalson. There was an almighty clap noise and I had clear sky above me, looked in the rear vision mirror and the soft top was laying on the road. By the time I got the car stopped it would have been too far to drive back for it so I kept going.

Paid Seventeen pounds ten shillings for it with 9 months rego. Replaced one tyre which cost me six pounds ten shillings (almost my weeks wage), I didn't know about retreads in those days and the garage bloke didn't ell me. Drove it out Forbes and when the rego expired I had no money so took the plates off, got one pound deposit back from the Motor Registry Office then sold the car to the local Mobil Agent for twenty quid.

FollowupID: 624502

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:15
Hmmm, this is going to reveal my vintage.

First drive: My Dad's 1938 Standard Flying 8 tourer. (Learning for my driver's licence on my 16th birthday)

First car owned: 1927 Austin 7 tourer. Ah, what youthful adventures in that!)

Neither bought from new of course!

AnswerID: 356445

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:18
Gday Allan
The Standard was like mine i guess.
Murray

FollowupID: 624483

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:52

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:52
Gday Murray
Pretty much like yours I should think.

I p'raps should have added:
First 4wd: 1950 Landrover at Woomera (Turned me off Landrovers for life!)

FollowupID: 624496

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:16

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:16
Morris Minor. My dad, who's 85, has still got it!
AnswerID: 356446

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:31

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:31
Good on him!!!

I wish i had kept a few of the vehicles iv'e owned over the years..lol.

FollowupID: 624488

Reply By: Ianw - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:17

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:17
Learned to drive at age 10 in Austin A40 ute.
My first car was a new Monaro GTS HT purchased in Jan 1970 for $3198 on the road and insured !Saved my wages for a year and a half to buy it. Wish I still had it.
AnswerID: 356447

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:24

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:24
Ian, did it have the 327 in it?

FollowupID: 624485

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:44
Jon,

An HT would have had the 350.

The 327 was in the HK (1968), my old man owned one of just 250 ever built.

At $3198 I'm guessing it was a 186S.

Sorry, but I am something of a lost soul from those muscle car days.

FollowupID: 624492

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:03

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:03
Spot on Jim. Wanted the 350 but I would have had to save for another year!! Hell, I was only 18. Just as well I didnt get the 350 or I would not be here today. Went everywhere at max speed back then. (105 - 110 MPH) Lost a few mates with the muscle cars.

FollowupID: 624523

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 05:31

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 05:31
Cheers Jim,
Sorry I'm not into the HG-K-T's
A good mate has a Factory blue HK 327 Monaro GTS.
Hmmm a very tidy car indeed.

FollowupID: 624539

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 05:52

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 05:52
Jon,

Is it a fair dinkhum original 327 GTS? They're as rare as rocking horse poo.

Many Monaros have had a 327 put in them and mocked up. The genuine ones had a 25 gallon petrol tank for Bathurst, the fakes generally have the 16 or 17 gallon tank from the lesser models.

FollowupID: 624540

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:54

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:54
Morning Jim,
Yeah she is, Original Bathurst edition.
He's owned her for about 17 odd years now.
He took her to a Concourse show in Perth last year, a Shannon's rep asked how much he had her insured for, My mate told him $80K,
The rep said that they needed to talk and change that. It's now insured for well over that now, He also had an offer to sell it and he turned down $380K, telling the want to be buyer some things aren't for sale.

Not that I'm a Holden Man, Jim. But each time I've been it, the heart beats a little faster and I'm just a little jealous of him. :)

A Bloody Nice car.

FollowupID: 624546

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 22:08

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 22:08
Aparently the HT GTS 350 is the rarest and most collectable Monaro these days. not too many around. I also had an HG GTS 253 V8 purchased secondhand in 1978 but it was a bit of a rust bucket and the engine used more oil than fuel, so I didnt keep it long. Bit hard to fit 4 kids in it too.

FollowupID: 624723

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:23

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:23
My first "drive" was in a mates 26(circa) Whippet buckboard.
Wasn't terribly successful! Probably about 12 years old.
AnswerID: 356448

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:27

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:27
Mine was a 1958 Ford Zephyr Ute Mk. 2. My old man bought off the Vic. Govt. second hand, he owned it for about four years and when he went to work in PNG, sold it to me for 80 quid.

It lasted for two and a bit years. Good motor, rotten gearbox and suspension and you could hear the rust. Though I drove it to Townsville up the Crystal Highway and came back down through the inland, it was a heap.

There is a sedan version of one of these still on the road in Broken Hill.

Seeya Dick
AnswerID: 356450

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:59

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 21:59
Gidday Axle

Can’t rightly remember the correct order now, but it was one of the following three:

1937 Nash
1954 Vanguard
1924? Essex truck

It’s interesting how people perceive thing nowadays. The current hairy chest fellas carry on about new technology and say cars can’t be fixed in the bush. Let me give another view on what it was like back in the 50’s.

As a young fella there were only a few times we cranked the car up, went somewhere and arrived back home without incident. The pommy cars were the worst, but the yank vehicles gave us some curry also.

Back in those days, carburettor and electrical problems were generally the main source of problems. If I had a dollar today for every mile we had to walk to either get home, or get a bit of help I’d be a rich man today.

In retrospect which would I prefer? Give me new reliable modern technology anytime.

Kim
AnswerID: 356457

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:12

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:12
Kim that is spot on!!, electronics are reliable!, it appears more so with the petrol motor other than diesel.

Chears Axle.
FollowupID: 624501

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:43

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:43
Oi Axle!!

Here I am trying to type one handed as I had a minor operation to a hand today :-)

First drive 1949 Chrysler in 1951 aged 8

First car 1958 Anglia 100E in 1964

103 cars later.........................................................

AnswerID: 356466

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:56

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:56
Willem, "103 cars later..."! Crikey, how do you keep track?

I find cars like girls....... I remember the first, and of course the current one, but all the ones in between....?!
But then there weren't 103 of them! Least that's what I tell my wife.

FollowupID: 624512

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:35

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:35
Hi Willem, Hope the hands ok!, Jeez you could have started a museum!..lol.

better go and do a bit or i will sit here all day.lol.

FollowupID: 624555

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:45

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 22:45
Well Hi Axle, I have had the best read that I've had in a long while. Good thread.

My first drive was a '37 model chev, black 4 door, stick on the floor. I was 6 yrs old and was 'helping' Dad seeding, he had finished the paddock and had to move machinery, truck and car to a paddock a few miles away so he asked me if I thought I could drive the car behind the tractor and combine, well of course I can Dad,I've watch you do it all the time, Dad cranks up the motor with crank handle tells me to wait until he takes off and follow, Ah yes I remember it well, follow I tried, put the clutch in, obeyed Dad by not putting too much pressure on the excelerator but because I was looking through the steering wheel I didn't see the stone jump up in front of the wheel, no herbs I stalled, Dad came back and cranked her up again and told me to go a little harder than I had, he took off and so did I and haven't stopped since.

That old chevvy was a fantastic car, it was as solid as a rock, the roos and emus that we hit with that and not a dent. wish we still had it.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 356467

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 23:19

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 23:19
First solo drive was a tractor on a relatives property at about age 8.

Learnt to drive in Dad's AP Valiant station wagon at age 12.

First car was my grandmothers Austin Lancer (free), followed by a 1725cc Hillman Minx($850).

Current cars are TD5 Disco (bush), and Porsche Carrera 4 Cabriolet (work).

AnswerID: 356476

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 23:48

Thursday, Mar 26, 2009 at 23:48
An FC holden in maroon and white. I had to sit up straight to see over the dash and on the edge of the seat to reach the peddles.

AnswerID: 356482

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:12

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:12
My first drive was a very old Ford pick up on my uncles farm in 1972 aged 8, the next was a 80 cc motor bike in 1975, and in 1976 was my first drive in a 4WD, Dads 1974 L/Cruiser short wheel base.

Since then I have had 37 cars/ 4wds ,8 motor bikes including the 3 bikes and 3 cruisers in the front yard and the 2 OKA's.

My 6.5 year old got his first motor bike for Xmas.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 356488

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:30

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:30
What a lot of history we have put together.

My first drive was the old man's '52 Ford consul at 16.
First car of many owned and driven--1927 Austin 7 with the ass-about gearbox and no brakes to speak of. Interesting diff setup in them too, if you were not careful when reassembling it you could finish up with 3 reverse and 1 forward. (the diff assy could go in either way).

I reckon on having driven at least 1 vehicle from every decade and every major maker since then (1920's) except the current one (2000-2010).My current drivers are '99 Disco TD5 and '81 L/Rover Series 3 trayback.

Disco.
AnswerID: 356490

Reply By: Rolly - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:58

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 00:58
An almost new 1955 Ford Popular panel van delivering meat around the narrow, undulating roads of SW Wales which were either bounded by 2 metre high stone and earth walls or totally unfenced and open to meandering livestock and wild ponies.
1172cc side valve motor, 3 speed gearbox with synchro on 2nd and top gears only. Cross ply tyres of dubious adhesion and brakes that overheated and faded unless treated with the utmost respect.
Not 'popular' with my vegetarian girlfriend 8-D: It always smelt of uncooked meat.
It smelt better than the fish sellers van though!
I got my driving licence at my first attempt a couple of years later ;)

AnswerID: 356493

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:41

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 06:41
My first 'drive' was in my grandfather's FJ Holden ute on his farm.Used to nick it occasionally and go tanking around the property till it ran out of juice.

It was registered, and when I got my licence he showed up unannounced at home one day and threw me the keys!!!!!!!
Wish I still had it, now I could afford to restore it.

Also used his BSA 500 thumper that lived in the barn for burning around the paddocks when I got bored of the car.Nearly broke my leg first time I tried to start it.

I was 14 when this hooliganism started.
AnswerID: 356506

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:29

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 08:29
Axle, First car I drove was about late 60's early 70's VW Beach buggy. It was an island car and literally had to have the doors tied to the roof to keep them closed as the door pillars were so full of rust and not able to hold the door in it's proper place.

BUT!!! I learnt to drive in my XU1 look alike LJ Torana. Man that thing used to hum and stick like glue into a corner. How I am still here I do not know hehehe.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 356525

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 13:46

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 13:46
Trev

isnt that beach buggy what sir Kev drives now?
FollowupID: 624606

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:19

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:19
Mark, I am sure they would have about the same level of power and sofistication but the Buggy would definately have more class!!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 624618

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 10:36

Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 10:36
Trev

i was thinking the same thing.
only difference is that the one he is currently driving has a tray on it.
FollowupID: 624784

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:08

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:08
First drive - old LandRover LWB Series 1 (or 2) I was about 10 and had to drive it because Dad might have got too hissed when we were fishing the gutters up to Double Island Point and couldn't bear the thought of his precious baby (the landrover) getting caught in the change of tide if he was passed out!
He used to drink those long white cans of Carlton and they'd have a 'blessing' of each gutter, each fish, eash mate, anything! Dad even put swinging gimbals (gimbels?) on each side of the dash so he wouldn't spill the can. When I wasn't driving (which was as much as I could) I was sitting on the bonnet on the bl...y uncomfortable spare wheel being the spotter. He only ever stopped suddenly and rolled me off into the water a few times - my fault, he said, he told me to hang on (he liked to drop me in the 'bubbler' if he could.)
First car - Morris 1100 (went anywhere and everywhere in Queensland, youngest driver was whichever kid I was governess for could see through the wheel whilst we pushed it through the sandy creek crossings (around Quilpie/Eromanga) and next car
(brother pushed the rod through the side of that one when he flogged it one time - he didn't know about oil either)- next car was a British racing green XU1 - probably worst suspension on any car I have ever ridden in. My Dad took that car out of the garage every day to go to the post office - never took his own.
I fixed the suspension and it was better but the cops liked fining me for speeding in it - even when I wasn't.
Went on honeymoon in grey 64 EH ute - then upgraded to a 65 Wagon - then VW Passat wagon (loved that car) - then Toyota Camry wagon (loved it even more) - LC60 series - got married again but Toyota 80's ute this time - LC100 series (still got it) and the V8 Toy ute and I'm still fishing (going tomorrow actually) - got a big mob of yabbies for bait (ate 50 of them last night for supper).
Nice memories - haven't had a post like this for a couple of years.
TFTM.
AnswerID: 356528

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:50

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:50
Hello Ruth

You are bringing back memories re: fishing up at Double Island in the old days, we did similar things with our kids, we used them as spotters, on the truck, we used to stay at Teewah Village in the old Mullet Mansion.
FollowupID: 624579

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:26

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:26
Daza, it was before Teewah was a village even! Our camp was about 9 miles south of the 'bubbler' - permanent camp, army tent with real beds and a kero fridge. Everything else - the outdoor entertainment area was built courtesy of the ocean - a really large cable table, oregon pine railings and beams over, glass float balls, and other things that floated past.
I did stay at Teewah Village once in a shack belonging to some friends - my youngest son was 5 weeks old and people were shocked that I would go camping with him so young - but it was easy then. That reminds me - we had a VW Country buggy - no roof, no seatbelts, baby basket on the back bench, dog, kids, fishing gear., wind in your hair. Magic! Totally magic!
I still love catching whiting most of all, I still use an Alvey reel (even for yellow belly) and what could be better than standing in freezing cold water hauling in the whiting.
Oh yeah, standing on the banks of the Diamantina hauling in BIG yellow belly like I'm going to do tomorrow (with the rest of the yabbies we didn't eat lat night).
FollowupID: 624619

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:17

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:17
My first drive was in my dad's 1951 Vauxhall when I was around 10, as a family we would go to the Flinders Ranges and he would let me drive on the tracks. We didn't know then that they were 4WD tracks and you needed a big lift and double diff locks (LOL). And yes I did bog it occasionally. This is where I learnt all about reading tracks and throttle control. I got my own boys driving as soon as they could reach the pedals too.
AnswerID: 356529

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:42

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:42
My first drive was Dad's old 'A' model Ford Truck on our farm at Caliph in the SA Mallee, I remember driving old Dodge and Chev Buckboards out rabbit trapping. Remember driving Dad's Fordson 'Power Major' and Nuffield tractors ploughing, and his A40 and FJ utes.
My first car was a Mark 1 Consul.
First 4WD was a Toyota Landcruiser at Glenstrae Station in '69.

Great thread.

Dennis

AnswerID: 356537

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:51

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:51
Look what you started now Axle.....my first drive was a 1975 g60 3 speed floor shift...woohoo...dad smuggled me into it (county council truck) and we did some 4wding whilst supposedly clearing under the power lines. He has alot to answer for my dad :)
I later had an EH as a first car, with a 192...(186 bored 060 thou) but a 179 HP block was supposedly a better platform for one due to better iron in the block.
AnswerID: 356541

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:53

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 09:53
Looks like I am equal oldest with a 36 Studebaker Commander.

When I was about 10 AFAIR my dad asked me to drive it into the garage , which was under our queenslander in Brissy with a dunny at the end, and about a 3 foot rise up from the front yard.

I overcooked a bit up the ramp and moved the dunny wall about a foot.

He also used to get me to sit on the mudguard and pour petrol into the carby as he ran it down the hill next to the house to start it.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 356542

Reply By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 12:13

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 12:13
I'm reminded by my father that it was a late 50's chev with some kind of extensions on the pedals organised by the boys on the neighbouring cattle station (Willowra) about six at the time.
Vaguely remember running into some thing!
Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 356563

Reply By: beelzebug - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:38

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 15:38
Dad's 1954 Zephyr Six. I used to sit in it in the garage and make engine noises while changing gear. I think I was 9 at the time.
During 2nd year at high school I convinced my mate I could drive and drove his Standard 10 through the side wall of his dad's shed.
Oops.
His dad never did say anything for the whole trip he drove me home!
AnswerID: 356594

Reply By: benq - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 18:23

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 18:23
mine was a 1961 dauphine gordini very light and very fast at this time LOL
AnswerID: 356619

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 15:02

Saturday, Mar 28, 2009 at 15:02
A-a-a-h-h!

The aerobatics Renault.

Renowned for its ability to do flick/barrel rolls at only the lightest touch of the brakes whilst cornering at speed.

FollowupID: 624811

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 20:27

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 20:27
first attempt to drive solo was in a 50's something mercedes benz 130D 1/2 ton ute that the old man bought in kings x one night after the wool sales.
i didnt understand the concept of glow plugs as an 8yo but finally got it started before flattening the battery.
dad quickly moved me to the series 1 land rover which was great as i could stand up and steer while looking thru the open air vents under the windscreen.i was also restricted to low range.
first car owned was a 56 morris minor known as "mandy" as she was painted orange.
howard

Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 356647

Reply By: Member - Iceman (VIC) - Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 21:29

Friday, Mar 27, 2009 at 21:29
Hi Axle,

My first car I drove was a 1955 Super Standard 10. Had great compression for a 4 cylinder which really only ran of about 2. From memory it had a 4 speed manual great acceleration - not. But overall was great fun. Had a good dose of rust and my mate put his feet through the floor arlar Fred Flintstone and was a talking point. It was also good for Petrol starvation as the fuel line went over the rocket cover and vaporize on long trips thus causing you to kangaroo jump down the road. Still here though to tell the tale. It was a lot of fun to drive.
AnswerID: 356658