The Big Trip in five sleeps

Submitted: Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 12:28
ThreadID: 67330 Views:2340 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
We are madly cleaning up around the house as we will be away for 5yrs travelling around this big paddock, and and have found tools I didnt know I've lost ,nice 1ltr bottle of scotch(some sunset somewhere will put this to good use) and assorted other items.

So far we have filled 3 Lifeline bins.

I also have a pile of 4wd magazines from the last few years as we have planned and studied for this big adventure.

if anyone living in the innercity Brisbane area would like these for free give us a yell before Wednesday or its off to lifeline too.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 13:59

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 13:59
Good luck with your trip guys, wow 5 years.! The world will be a different place by the time you come back. Have fun....
AnswerID: 357037

Follow Up By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:05

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:05
If we come back... was talking to a couple at xmas who have been on the road for 14yrs and still to see WA and Tassie
FollowupID: 625125

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 19:01

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 19:01
5 Years!! Tassie might have running water and electricity by then, you wont know the place.!! LOL!!! Michael

FollowupID: 625163

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:11

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:11
Gidday!!!'

How exciting for you................ we did all that in November filled a massive skip with heaps of crap (Matt is a "collector"!!!!) we also did countless trips to lifeline - they new me by name in the end.

Yes I agree you could do this trip for 10yrs or so and still not see it all.

We are still in Shepparton VIC however Matt resigned today and we are off to Ballarat and the Grampians before heading to Tassie on the 3rd May. What is your starting point? we left Caboolture (just NTH of Brissy) and headed up Nth first.

Happy Travels - we may met up one day.

Caroline Matt and the girls
AnswerID: 357039

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:47

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:47
Kim and Doug

I still have not received my invitation to a fully paid trip with you.

Perhaps it got lost in the snail mail. LOL

All the best perhaps my wife and I will see you some where around the block.

Best wishes BooBoo

AnswerID: 357046

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:48

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 14:48
I work at West End ph 0438 602533 and would like to have a look through the magazines if we could arrange to meet somewhere at Lunch time . Thanks
ps Have a great trip
AnswerID: 357047

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:15

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:15
Kim and Doug

Take me with you...pleeeeaasseee! I will do anything except cooking!!!!!!

We did 5 years on the wallaby in the latter half of the '90's and when we came to a halt I swore never again will I tow a van etc etc.

BUT!!!!

Now that we are all settled again I sometimes yearn to go on the road again. But SWMBO has her little nest here, all laid out and organised. I have now conned her into 3 months away every winter. Maybe I could extend that to 5 months next year....and so on.

Half yer luck. Go out there and see it all.

Enjoy

AnswerID: 357049

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:54

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:54
Gday Wouldnt we all like to go....
Howdy Willem. I was supposed to talk to you last week about your hand. I hope that all is ok and healing well.
Murray

FollowupID: 625137

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 18:06

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 18:06
G'day Muzz

I should make a full recovery...LOL

FollowupID: 625157

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:57

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 15:57
Gday Kim and Doug
I take a hand full of magazines to the doctor surgery every time i get to many .
I am at the age where they like to find something wrong with you, even if not sick.
Murray

AnswerID: 357055

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 19:03

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 19:03
Kim & Doug, May the next five years be of total enjoyment.

Five sleeps to go!, ...... Bet they will be restless ones!!...lol.

AnswerID: 357089

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 21:10

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 21:10
G'day Kim...and the dawg,

We are gonna miss ya on the forum. Many a tale told I could relate to...

If'n ya get a chance, and are in the lower Flinders area, give me a bell........always a bed and bevvy...

Michael
AnswerID: 357120

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:31

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:31
Five years Kim and Doug - what a fabulous life you will have. Enjoy. I'm hoping for our longest time away ever this winter - if we get to five months it will be a bonus.

Which direction are you heading first up?

Happy and safe travels

AnswerID: 357153