vehicle shower

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:36
ThreadID: 67642 Views:2804 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
does anyone have and used the vehicle showers with the heater exchange under bonnet

do they work well?
or have anyother sugguestion for a 4x4 shower setup?

cheers crackr

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:41

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:41
Yes I have one and it works very very well
AnswerID: 358592

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:01

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:01
Hi Troll, did you buy or make your setup as I have been told that they are fairly simple to make ??

Regards John.
FollowupID: 626653

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:14

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:14
Hey John,

I have a Twine under my bonnet and the missus love it
FollowupID: 626656

Reply By: crackr - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:45

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:45
thanks any ideas with the brand?

AnswerID: 358593

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:15

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:15
Have a look here

TWINE
FollowupID: 626657

Reply By: dj Patrol - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:54

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 14:54
We use a $20 12volt shower kit just heat ya water and put in a bucket is enough for a good shower.From any camp shop or disposals store.
AnswerID: 358595

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 16:09

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 16:09
Ours cost about $20 from BCF, and as patrol said, heat some water, put into a bucket mixed with some cold and hava shower. I purchased 5 mtrs of twinflex cable from bunnings, a couple of dog clips, and am then able to set up the shower well away from vehicle and or CT. Works a treat, don't have to run the vehicle.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 626662

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:00

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:00
Hi crackr
Yes, we have a Twine unit and it is fantastic but needs a minor plumbing improvement to negate the chance of scalding. In fact this applies to all heat exchanger heaters heated by the engine coolant. if you decide to get one the MM me and I will show you what to do.
AnswerID: 358596

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:03

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:03
Sorry Just ignor what I asked,you beat me by 60 seconds LOL!
FollowupID: 626654

Reply By: crackr - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:54

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 15:54

thanks for all your help i've heard glind is good too?
i will to take you up when i buy one and fiddle a bit to help change the temp

thanks again crackr
AnswerID: 358605

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 18:31

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 18:31
Home made is ok if you are proficient in silver soldering and design. if not, best to buy one. I think Twine is too big and agricultural, Glind is also big but more efficient and the Helton is about 30% shorter and by what most guys on this site who have one, say they are ok.. Buy the hot water unit, not the shower unit if you have a diesel. I made my own, 600mm long shell and tube design, with 50 parallel copper tubes and sits on the bash plate inside the bull bar.. Hope this helps, Michael
AnswerID: 358634

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 18:38

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 18:38
FollowupID: 626692

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 09:54

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 09:54
G'day Michael,

Not sure why you've recommended the hot water unit, rather than the shower unit? Could you please explain your thoughts....

I have a Helton shiower unit. This was a replacement for the Twine unit I had on my previous rig. The Chev motor takes up a bit more space than the 4.2 did , so I needed the versatility of the Helton. What I reckon sets the Helton apart from the Twine and the Glind, is the fact that you can specift where you have the inlets/outlets. In my case, all 4 are on the same end. This enables me to locate the exchanger in a position that would have been impossible with the Twine. Add to this, the fact that the unit is only about 3/4 the length of the Twine and still heats the water up just as quickly, and I believe it is the best option.

I just bought the heat exchanger from Helton and sourced the Shurflo from Whitworths. I've located the pump in behind the wing of the bullbar and have 2 standard "O" ring hose fittings on the bullbar.

FollowupID: 626781

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 18:33

Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 18:33
Howdy Bill, Ya must have stumped him. Another vote for Helton here.

Krakka
FollowupID: 627294

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 23:43

Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 23:43
Gday Bill, I had another post here ,,, somewhere,(its missing) that mentioned that another reason the helton may be better is that it has all the fittings are on one end , so you can slip it into a corner, as you say,, I mentioned the hot water unit because of the fact that most diesel engines run cooler. Helton owners have mentioned on this site that the shower model model are not hot enough with a diesel engine.. I also mentioned,,, (somewhere here) that it was only 200mm long instead of 300mm.. Michael
FollowupID: 627321

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 23:57

Sunday, Apr 12, 2009 at 23:57
Roachie! My other post was in post #67692, i thought i was losing it there for a while!! I mentioned there and agree, Helton are compact. I also mentioned above about being shorter, it makes a difference in a modern vehicle with limited space.. regards Michael
FollowupID: 627323

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Apr 13, 2009 at 00:03

Monday, Apr 13, 2009 at 00:03
Heres the cut and paste.......Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) posted:
Ian,
Pirhana unit is similar to Glind but it only has 4 bolts around the outside not six like the Glind.. This may have changed .. It looks to me to be the old Glind tooling from long ago but i could be wrong. Glind is still Glind and Pirhana is another company.. The Helton is worth looking at at 200mm long and you can have all the fittings on one end if you like.. you can mount it in a corner somewhere, The Twine is 300mm long and fittings on both ends which makes it huge and hard to fit in most modern vehicles. Michael.
FollowupID: 627325

Reply By: obee1212 - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 19:10

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 19:10
a bucket and a piece of plastic to stand on.

Owen
AnswerID: 358644

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 19:54

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 19:54
I have a Glind shower set up and love it,it works really well.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 358660

Reply By: madcow - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 08:31

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 08:31
Have a look here from some ideas on setups under the bonnet.

http://www.mcs.net.au/~grungle/shower.html

We have a twine and the idea is the best camping thing we have purchased!
AnswerID: 358748

Reply By: troopy 2005 - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 19:39

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 19:39
just buy the heat exchanger and source everthing else yourself ,shureflo pump from whitworths ,hose and hose clamps and any shower head .not a neccesity but great fun.
AnswerID: 359225