Cleaning Glass

Submitted: Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:15
ThreadID: 67741 Views:2578 Replies:11 FollowUps:7

Anyone have a method or solution to clean the windows of the 4WD so you can see out of them ! ! There is some calcification. The water in the north of Auststralia is not kind to glass. One they are clean how do you keep them that way?

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:26

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:26
We have that problem in Jabiru, We use brown vinegar it works well.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 359085

Follow Up By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:48

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:48
Thanks Steve, I am in Darwin and spend a couple of months each year in Broome...bad water ! !. Do you have to watch the paintwork?
FollowupID: 627098

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 19:48

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 19:48
All our windows are fine here never have a problem. My Vehicle is 19 years old and is clear as. I think it might come down to the quality of the glass and the amount of time between cleaning. I always just use the Glass cleaner in a spray can with some newspaper. Works a treat
FollowupID: 627122

Reply By: yakodi - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:33

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 14:33
Water in a spray bottle, wipe with newspaper. Seems to work pretty well.
AnswerID: 359086

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:18

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:18
C.L.R
AnswerID: 359089

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:55

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:55
The Armorall glass cleaning wipes are good for getting most grime off and also will not damage any tinting film you might have.
AnswerID: 359092

Reply By: Rossc0 - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 16:45

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 16:45
Once it's clean then use RainX on the glass and demineralised water and RainX in the washers.

RainX puts a film on the glass and helps repel dirt, grim, etc. also water beads on it and runs off easier. Helps some when it's raining.

Ross
AnswerID: 359099

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 17:34

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 17:34
Metho & newspaper down here in Melbourne.

AnswerID: 359104

Follow Up By: troopyman - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 19:07

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 19:07
I was a glass cutter for 20 years . Half metho and half water .
FollowupID: 627117

Reply By: Lotzi - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 18:30

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 18:30
Gday All

Having experienced the town waters of Cairns, Alice, Darwin, Jabiru, Broome and all areas in between, this is what I usually do ...

1. Only clean/ veh after sun goes down
2. After washing veh, squeege the glass
3. Use squeegee with rubber blade, sometimes I will wrap towelling around and melted ice/filtered water from esky and then redo glass
4. Use chamois to wipe along bottom of windows

This usually helps to get rid of the milky smear, especially in the drivers windscreen, don't let the glass dry naturally, creates a build up, inside I just use windex and newspaper, on tinted windows I gently use micro fibre clothe and windex without rubbing to hard. Oh, squeegees I pick up from sc etc, they work a ok. Squeege = rubber blade and foam section.

Lotzi
AnswerID: 359114

Follow Up By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 11:36

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 11:36
Hey, what's wrong with Cairns water, I've been drinking it for over 40 years and I'm OK?????
Love the bush

FollowupID: 627183

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 14:01

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 14:01
G'day Damien

Not much wrong with Cairns water, used to wash the Coaches on the wash bay at Portsmith and the side tippers during the sugar season in Hartley Street, but would still get that light milky residue on the glass.

Wish I were still there now, cheers
Lotzi
FollowupID: 627197

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:13

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:13
Dunno about this, just repeating what I heard on radio a couple of weeks ago. Newspaper used to be good to use because inks had a metho base. They don't any longer and the new base will slowly put a thin sticky layer onto glass. can anyone shed further light on this?
AnswerID: 359135

Follow Up By: obee1212 - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:28

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:28
any paper is good cos it drys the glass off quick and leaves no marks. Bit like a chamois. Any meth left in the print would have long evaporated i reckon.

owen
FollowupID: 627136

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:33

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 21:33
Owen, I treally don't know, just repeating what I heard on the home hints bit on ABC radio a few weeks ago. The "expert" claimed that plain paper was fine but that the inks in newsprint had (I think it was "rubber" base , that left a residue on glass that became a problem over time.
FollowupID: 627137

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 22:04

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 22:04
I use JIF creamy liquid, not AJAX, JIF has rounded particles, where-as AJAX has rough ones. use those white scourers not the green ones

all white scourers are non-scratchy, all other colours scratch, whites good for duco too, you can get big disc from cleaning suppliers
AnswerID: 359148

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 12:40

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 12:40
I wash my car when it rains....saves all those suds and bad water :-)

And I have only ever washed my windows with a wet chamois, then dry off with an old cotton t shirt. Spotless !!!
AnswerID: 359186

Reply By: dags666 - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 19:24

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 19:24
i learnt years ago of a pro glass installer de mineralized water and metho in a spray bottle or just grab the water out of the kettle when it cools down ,takes the minerals out of the water. spray on and wipe off with paper leaves no streaks Dags
AnswerID: 359223