Plenty & Donohue Hwy’s & Kennedy Developmental Road

In June/July this year my wife and I are considering travelling from Perth to Caloundra in Queensland.

Instead of travelling across the Nullarbor on the bitumen I am considering travelling across the Great Central Road to Alice Springs and then across to Caloundra.

I have used the NRMA route planner and from Alice Springs it is suggesting that I go via the Plenty & Donohue Hwy’s and the Kennedy Developmental Road.

I have no knowledge of this route and I am seeking some input from anyone who has knowledge of the area. Is this a viable alternative to the Nullarbor route?

I will be driving a Prado diesel in good condition, have a little knowledge of outback driving but no mechanical knowledge. Sleeping in tent.

Are these roads sealed, good condition etc? I don’t mind gravel but not too keen on bulldust, holes etc.

Is there anything of interest on this route and are camping sites available? Are permits required?

Happy for any input, thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Gramps - Tuesday, Apr 14, 2009 at 22:48

Tuesday, Apr 14, 2009 at 22:48
"I don’t mind gravel but not too keen on bulldust, holes etc. "

You won't like the Plenty & Donohue Hwy’s then.

AnswerID: 359603

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Apr 14, 2009 at 23:12

Tuesday, Apr 14, 2009 at 23:12
Rowdy, click on the word permits where it is underlined in your post and you will be able to find all you need right here on ExplorOz.

Check out this website

http://www.outbackway.org.au/

How do you feel about thousand of kilometres of corrugations?

Motherhen
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 359611

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2009 at 02:38

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2009 at 02:38
I know what route Id take and the Nullabour isn't the one!